Market Trends and Sales…

OK.  Probably I am the only one that finds this stuff interesting, but over on GalleyCat I saw an article that does a bit of a breakdown on how the publishing market has been geared so far this year between adult and young adult fiction.  I knew that young adult was on the rise, the “in thing” right now, but I have to say that the numbers surprised me.  Young adult fiction is on the rise across the board – hardcover, trade, mass market and e-books, with sales revenue shooting up by nearly 30 percent, with total sales of over $424 million dollars (young adult e-book sales were up over 222% from last year).

On the adult side of things, it looks like more are going the way of digital books than I had thought.  Both hardcover and mass market sales numbers were down, with mass market dropping 20 percent from 2011.  However, both audio and e-books took big jumps in numbers.

I have to admit, I was more than a little surprised to see the very rapid decline in mass market paperback sales in the course of just one year.  Things are changing even faster than I had thought.  As someone who still loves a “real” book, these numbers are a little scary.  Why go through the bother of printing a paper book when demand has swung so much in favor of digital?  They are less work, less time to get them available to the public, and in more and more demand.  And yet still I hold on to my “real” books with everything I’ve got…

14 thoughts on “Market Trends and Sales…

  1. I tend to agree, I love reading a “real” book, the covers are so much more alive and more vibrant than they could ever be on a digital format.
    I have started to buy a few Kindle books, purely for the fact that I am running out of room and am saving what room I have for my favourite authors…

    This trent is very worrying, not to mention a little frightenting, but is it here to stay or just a current trend…only time will tell.

    Thank you for sharing this information, it’s interesting to see.

    • Hey Emma…I agree with all you said. I have gotten a few books to read on the computer, but only because they were from a series I follow and I couldn’t get them any other way.

  2. I hope we never lose the “real” books! You know I’m just like you when it comes to the real thing vs. digital. Yes, I do read some (mostly indie authors), but I do not plan to ever go fully digital. I hope we’re not forced to do that :(

  3. Interesting info. Hopefully those young adult readers will continue to support the book market as their interests shift to include adult books. Future PNR buyers in the making. I was so sad to see borders close. Even beyond print books, I love going to an actual bookstore and browsing books, not just ordering off amazon. I’m slowly picking up digital books though. Sad sigh.

    • It is a bonus, for sure, if the growing teen market could expand to the adult titles, as well. The recent spate of movie adaptations can’t be hurting the trend, either. I loved nothing more than wandering a bookstore…a great way to spend a few hours. Of course, I don’t have one local, but I still go every chance I get.

  4. On the adult table, what’s the difference between paperback and mass market paperback? Paperback on the adult table is up over 11% from last year.

    • I was wondering that, myself. At first, I thought paperback meant trade paperback, but I think the numbers are just too high for that.

  5. That is interesting–and certainly explains why so many of our favorite adult PNR authors are dipping their toes into the YA space. There’s a good market for them now. And later those same young readers will probably try their established adult series, bringing even more sales.

    Personally I have made the switch to ebooks and I’ve *finally* adjusted. It took me a while to come around. I also like looking at covers of ‘real’ books, but the convenience factor of ebooks while on-the-go is plus for me. And they solve my storage space problems–my bookshelves are full!

    • Do you still buy physical books for your favorite series, or have you completely made the switch? I do know that cleaning day (when I vaccuum all of my books individually) is almost enough to make me want to make the jump, but it doesn’t last long.

  6. I buy ebooks BUT they will never replace my real books; the ones I can touch, look at and just enjoy knowing that they are mine. I don’t even mind dusting them and as of last count I’ve got about 2600 just in my bedroom. I have alot of bookshelves. So no, I will never completely switch to ebooks not as long as they keep printing paper editions.

    • 2600! I thought cleaning my 600 was a giant pain in the ass, but you really have your work cut out for you. But you are right, there is nothing like being able to put your hands on a “real” book.

Leave a Reply

