Pick of the Week…

There are a couple of really great books (er, or I think they are probably really great books.  Here’s hoping.) coming out today, but I had no problem choosing my pick of the week.  The busy, busy Jennifer L. Armentrout‘s Deity, the third of her five Covenant books, was a clear winner for me.  They are great young adult that doesn’t read like YA at all.  And I think it is the first series in history that has a love triangle that works for me, since there is no way at this point in the series I could even begin to pick between Seth and Aiden.

Synopsis…

History is on repeat, and things didn’t go so well the last time.

Alexandria isn’t sure she’s going to make it to her eighteenth birthday–to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she’s a goner… and so is Aiden.

If that’s not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time “training”–which really is just Seth’s code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time–she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome.

But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she’s caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed… and destroyed.

Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate…

The Covenant series page is HERE.

And, if you are interested, this is the official trailer for Deity.  There isn’t really much to it, mostly a bunch of singing, but I love trailers so I thought what the hell.


 

What is your pick of the week?  Are you diving into the last book of Jessica Andersen‘s Final Prophecy series, or the new Allie Beckstrom?  I know I can’t wait to get my hands on Lord’s Fall from Thea Harrison, either, so it is looking like a good week for reading (and not doing much else).

10 thoughts on “Pick of the Week…

  1. I can’t wait to read this one! Unfortunately I’m still waiting for The Book Depository to give me a shipping notice. It still says “awaiting publication” . I guess this one won’t be arriving until next week :(

    • Me, too. Hopefully it will give me a chance to get “caught up”…well, whatever the never-ever going to be caught up version of that is, anyways.

      • Yes, it’s not like we don’t have enough to read while we wait. haha! I will have ICED to read (friend is loaning me her copy) in the next couple of days and Lord’s Fall when it arrives in the mail :-)

      • I was determined to get the Fever series caught up before Iced, but because I decided to do a character guide for it as I went it really slowed me down. It is bugging me, because I want to dive into Iced, but I know that it will spoil the rest of the first books.

      • How many books did you get to read? I think it wouldn’t be the same for people if they haven’t finished the Fever series first. Well, that’s my guess anyways. Doesn’t it start after the last book left off? I really hope you get to read the rest of the series soon. They are great. I did feel the last book was a little too long, but still enjoyed it :-)

      • I only made it through the first book, so far. I was really surprised by how much I liked it, considering some of the things I had heard about Mac being immature and such. Love me some Barrons so far, though.

        On Tue, Nov 6, 2012 at 2:23 PM, Wicked Scribes

  2. I have the Thea Harrison book lords fall, eeeee. Very happy. I may be extremely sleep deprived tomorrow at work. Iced is on hold for this weekend’s reading pleasure and I just finished the new Darynda Jones book. I’m feeling book-bloated and spoiled from all these great books coming out at the same time.

    • Eh, sleep is way over rated (like I don’t pass out every chance I get). It seems like you have a week where you can’t seem to get time enough to hit all of good books, and then other weeks where you are digging trying to find something to read. Either/or.

Leave a Reply

