Guest Review – Deliver Me From Temptation

Douglas C. Meeks must have become a mind reader.  For some reason, I remembered that I hadn’t ordered the second book in Tes Hilaire‘s Paladin Warriors series, Deliver Me From Temptation.  I read the first one and enjoyed it, so I immediately ordered this one.  Then today, Doug sent over his review.  Mind reader, I tell you.  Anyways, Doug has kindly gave another great review of a great series.

What Doug said…

Deliver Me From Temptation (Paladin Warriors #2) 
by
Tes Hilaire

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
For details/info on this series go here:
Tes Hilaire Paladin novels

The first novel in this series is
Deliver Me From Darkness (5 Star reading also)

Summary:
Logan Calhoun is the last full-blooded Paladin, the future leader of a race of immortal warrior angels. The heavy responsibility of continuing the Paladin line falls to him, and the last thing he should do is get involved with a human.

Then fate throws Jessica Waters, a homicide detective who doesn’t believe in fate or divine intervention, into his path. Her devotion lies in her Glock and a good set of handcuffs. Like Logan, she’s a warrior for her people, and she awakens within him something he’d never thought he’d feel. But she’s also as human as they come and the last Paladin to mate a full human female went insane when she died ………

Review:
Logan is the heir apparent to lead the Paladins in the future and the very thought of being mated to a human was not only something to be avoided at all costs but an insult to his heritage …… and all that was etched in stone until he met Jessica.

This second novel in the Paladin Warriors series picks up flawlessly from the first book and as good as Deliver Me From Darkness (Paladin Warriors #1) was this book is just as good or in some ways possibly even better. This installment is a bit more character driven and while quite a bit of action takes place it is not the epic battle type action we saw in book 1 but more of a battle fought in the minds of the main couple and to a lesser extent through their friends.

Let me say that I think I enjoyed the romance angle of this one a bit more than the first book although they has some similarities (impossible love/romance) but the action is downplayed in favor of a bit more intrigue and a bit of a thriller. My problem with this book has nothing to do with the main plot as much as the fact that the author draws us into a couple of subplots that go nowhere and that left me frustrated a bit. I am guessing that we will see most if not all of them resolved in a future book but it leaves the reader with too many questions in my opinion.

The author taunts us with snippets of what I assume will be future storylines and then just leaves us nowhere, if I had any really serious complaints with this book it would have to be it needed at least another chapter to smooth over a few of what would have been very entertaining interaction with both of their friends and associates. Let me take a moment to acknowledge I am selfish as a reader, I don’t like being left in the dark on hardly anything until the author decides to write another book when they have already drawn me into a story.

Rating:
I will have to give this a 4.5 Star rating since the main plot and the transition from the first book was excellent. The characters were all interesting even if several of them were no more than brief introductions that I am sure the author will use in future plots.

So to sum it up, get both of these books and read them back to back and you will have many enjoyable hours of reading. Even though the ending left some secondary questions unresolved you are gonna LOVE the ending for the main plot, trust me ….

I enjoyed the first book, and Logan was by far the most interesting character so I am glad to see him get his story.  Hopefully I will be hitting this one next week.  Any other Paladin fans?

Leave a Reply

