The Great Psy/Changeling Mystery…

Well, well, well.  I have to say, in all my time reading, I have never come across this particular book info situation before.  I have never made any secret of my overwhelming love for all things Nalini Singh, particularly the Psy-Changeling series.  There is a new book that has been simply listed on Amazon.com as Psy-Changeling #12, which has a release date of Jun 4th.  Great.  So, I decided to do a little digging and see if I could find the usual stuff – cover, main characters, blurb.  That sort of thing.  What I discovered is…absolutely nothing.  Zip, zilch and nada also apply.  And it looks like that is all part of the mystery.  The promotional catalog simply calls it “The New Psy-Changeling Novel”, but then things get really interesting.

From the publisher’s site…

Get ready for a major event in the smash-hit New York Times bestselling series—a secret finally revealed, and fans are guaranteed an epic surprise.

In 2006, Nalini Singh introduced the beguiling and sensual Psy/Changeling world in Slave to Sensation, which spawned a series that has had readers and critics cheering. Througout the incredible 11-book run there has been one question that has tantalized Nalini’s legion of fans. Now, in the eagerly-awaited twelfth book in the series, Nalini Singh finally reveals the answer to the biggest Psy/Changeling mystery—an answer so surprising we wouldn’t dare spoil it. Even if we knew.

Features a secret so shocking, the title can’t be revealed until publication.

Ghost!  Ghostghostghost!  Has to be the reveal of the Ghost…what other secret could it be (erm, maybe who Kaleb has been searching for, but I still say Ghost).  I have to say, news of a new book always torments me, but this…mystery…will really drive me crazy(er).  Anyone else have a different take on what this could be?

35 thoughts on “The Great Psy/Changeling Mystery…

  1. I don’t have a different take. You took the words right out of my mouth. I think it’s the Ghost because what other (major) mystery is left in the series?

    • And, total speculation on my part, if Kaleb really is the ghost, it would answer the other question of who he was searching for for so long (I still get the feeling that it is Sierra).

  2. OMG Kaleigha!! I bet you are right. I have been wondering when they were going to release all that info and it never occurred to me – duh. It will be fun to see if you are right, smart deduction :)

    • Hey Alix…I thought it really strange that there was no hint of any info yet, even though it is only due out in June. I figured there must be a whiff of something…somewhere. This actually makes me more excited for the book, which I didn’t think was possible.

    • Or Ghost and Kaleb…even better. Although I would have sworn to you Kaleb was the Ghost right up until Tangle of Need, I sort of waver between him and Vasic now. Either works for me.

    • I wonder how long they can pull it off for? It is a great idea to build suspense – and even more interest – for sure. Christine Feehan tried something a little similar with the dreaded Dark Predator last year. There was no clue of who Zacarius’ HEA was with until after the book was released, and as far as I remember there were no leaks.

  3. Holy Mother of God… It IS the Ghost’s book!!!!! What else could it possibly be?? I thought Hawke’s book was “the big one” we were all waiting for, but this one beats everything hands down. Would you believe I actually got the shivers when I read this post and I shouted “Ghost” out loud… My Mom thinks I’m crazy, I swear!!

    • It really is the big BIG one. I might have squealed Ghost! a couple of times myself, and then had to sort of explain that no, I didn’t see one.

  4. MY GOD I agree with you, it has to be the GHOST. Now I’m going to die a little every day waiting for this book to comes out because I’ve been crazy to know who is the Ghost. Sometimes I think it’s Kaleb another I think it’s not him and someone else and then I go back to think it’s him lol I don’t know anymore ^_^

    BTW I thought the Ghost revelation would take a little more time/books to come but this shocking revelation has to be the Ghost

    Thanks for the info K.

    • I do the same thing. Kaleb, Vasic. Kaleb. Nope, Vasic. Has to be Kaleb…maybe. I can’t see this book not being Kaleb’s, not with the final chapter of Tangle of Need and what happened. But then again, I have been way wrong before.

    • I think it was mentioned Rissa drowned (or something..?) and I know Hawke had visited her grave. But, I’ve also learned in PNRs that’s never final lol ALSO the girl in coma..forgot her name..the one Ghost delivered to Judd? That mystery still needs to be wrapped up

      • Funny, I forget how Rissa died, too, except it was during the wars. For some reason, I keep thinking of Alice Eldridge (coma-chick) as ancient old, but in reality she was frozen while still young. Lots of time for her to get her own story that way.

      • No one really remembers how Rissa died lol and I agree with you PS death is never final in these stories, sometimes it can be good, sometimes it definetly is not.

        K. I’m with you in that one, I always imagine Alice as a very old women, all bones and nothing more, not a lot of hair – my imagination clearly run wild with that one. I always forget that when she was frozen she was young.

    • I agree with you, if it is the Ghost story/book, the word Ghost must be part of title because if not there would be no sense to make it a secret

      • You must be right…I think I am going to with something like “Ghost of Silence”. Heh…making my own titles makes me a total geek.

  5. Like you I’ve been stalking Nalini’s website in the hope of some hint to this book which I’ve pre-ordered since the day it showed on Amazon. But you are definitely better than me at this. WOW! It must be the Ghost and in my books that’s Kaleb and Sierra is the heroine. Now watch me be wrong…..whoever it’s about I cannot wait; I have not been disappointed once in Nalini’s books unlike Ms. Feehan’s which have depressed me to no end.

    • Ugh…Feehan has nose dived for me, too. Dark Predator was a big downer for me, and while I still have the Ghostwalker love, the rest has been hit or miss.

  6. If the book Psy 12, is the book of the Ghost, Nalini going to save my sanity. I can not wait until 2015 to learn his identity. I’ve read the series again, and one more for clues. And I have potential Ghost (Kaleb, Vasic … no, Vasic not, Abbott, or maybe Kaleb …)

    I do not remember any character named Sierra. Who is she? I can not find her in the Character Guide.

    • I had a brain fart – I meant Sahara, Faith Nightstar’s missing cousin. It just seemed to me that the timing between her disappearance and Kaleb’s hunt were pretty close.

      • Ah, Sahara. Yes, I think that Kaleb is looking at Sahara, too. By the timing between her disappearance and Kaleb’s hunt, and some clues that Kaleb give .

  7. What if the person that Kaleb has been searching for was Alice? That would explain why when she was in her coma he couldnt find her and that now that she is awake he can find her

    • Hm, never know, but I think Alice has been cryogenically frozen for too long for it to be her. I do hope Alice does come into play, though, and maybe get her own story.

  8. When I first read this post I thought the identity of the Ghost was the big question/mystery. I’ve since changed my mind because of the statement from above “Througout the incredible 11-book run there has been one question that has tantalized Nalini’s legion of fans. Now, in the eagerly-awaited twelfth book in the series, Nalini Singh finally reveals the answer to the biggest Psy/Changeling mystery…”

    The Ghost is not introduced until book three. If we agree that this big question has been intriguing readers throughout the series the big question had to exist in the first two books as well.

    I think the big question/mystery has to do with how the Psynet functions Or what the other Councilors actually knew about Councilor Enrique’s activities while they were occurring.

  9. Pingback: The Spiderwick Tyrants | Literary Escapism

Leave a Reply

