Triple Trailer Goodness…

Just a couple of days ago, I finished reading the The City of Lost Souls from the Mortal Instruments series.  That wrapped up my Cassandra Clare marathon ( I also read the first two Infernal Devices books), and I found myself really enjoying the whole Mortal Instruments world.  So, to say I was happy to finally get to see the trailer for the upcoming City of Bones movie is an understatement.

Another new adaptation trailer also recently was released.  Stephenie Meyer‘s The Host will be hitting the theater next year, and I have to say that this is one that I know absolutely nothing about.  I haven’t read the books, and I didn’t really have the urge to…until I saw the trailer.  Damn you, Hollywood, for adding to mount TBR yet again.

And this final one is just not my usual thing at all, but when I saw it posted over at Ilona Andrew‘s blog I was hooked.  Warm Bodies, based on the book of the same name by Isaac Marion, looks fun and quirky.

I was very happy with the Mortal Instruments trailer.  Count me among those who sort of wondered at the casting choices, but I liked what I saw above.  The Host also looked like one I will be checking out.  Warm Bodies was a surprise, but I think I like it.  If you add on the Beautiful Creatures movie, looks like I will be spending a lot of time next year at the movies…Which ones will you be lining up for?

10 thoughts on “Triple Trailer Goodness…

  1. I’ve tried twice to get into the Mortal Instruments series. Im going to try one more time because I want to read it before the movie comes out. I saw the movie trailer today and now I’m motivated then ever to get into the series. I’m reading Beautiful Creatures now.

    • I read the first three Mortal Instruments, then took a break and read the Infernal Devices. I found that I got more out of TMI after that, since I picked up little details that referred to the other books (like seeing the clockwork angel in the library). I am just reading the first Beautiful Creatures book, too, and I am quite enjoying it so far.

  2. Kaleigha,
    I really enjoyed the Host. I read it for a goodreads challenge and I was so surprised at how much I liked the book. i listened to the audio version first, and then I went back a read it. i have it on audio, kindle and I picked up the book at a half-price books sale for $2.
    This writing and plot was much tighter than Meyer’s work in Twilight (although I am a huge twilight fan).
    I am just disappointed in Stephenie Meyers as an author. I enjoyed Twilight and the Host, but writing doesn’t seem to be a priority now that she is making $$ on the movies.

    I just hate that Meyer hasn’t written the sequel in 2 years. If she is going to finish Midnight Sun, then freaking finish it. If she is going to write some novels on Jacob and Renesmee, then do it.
    I don’t follow her blog anymore, and i don’t really pay attention to her anymore…but if she does write those sequels, I will check them out.

    With that said, I gave the Host a 4.5 star rating on goodreads.

    • Well, I have to say that the endless delays in putting out new work is annoying. I have seen the two host sequels and midnight sun talked about forever, but nada. It is a shame to not take advantage of the popularity now and release new material, since a couple of years from now people will have moved on to something entirely new.

  3. Okay, after watching the trailer, I now have to add “Warm Bodies” to the ever-expanding TBR pile. And it’s been so long since I read “The Host” I will definitely be planning a reread before the movie comes out. But, I so hope the acting is better in “The Host” than in the Twilight movies. Did Meyer do the screenplay for it too?

    Count me as another one who really wish Meyer would finish her works-in-progress. I would love to read a completed version of Midnight Sun.

    • I really do wonder if Midnight Sun will ever see the light of day. If I remember correctly, the first version was somehow leaked, and the reaction was not positive.

  4. Thanks to you, now I want to see the 3 movies so much (>_<) !!!
    I didn't want to see the three of them at first, but after watching the trailers it changed.
    1.The Mortal Instruments, because I've only read the 2 first books and dropped after.
    2.The Host, because I've read the Twilight Series before the films aired, and I thought they made too much for this book of Stephenie Meyer, just because of the author (at least in France)
    3.Warm bodies, because I can't imagine for a romance development between a zombie and a human
    but finally they all seems so good, so I'm eager too watch them when they'll get out in France !
    P.S: Best-Seller adapted into movie sometimes can be disappointing, like Hunger Games to me :/

Leave a Reply

