Pick of the Week…

A couple of years back, Christine Warren was a big, big favorite of mine.  I tore through her Others series one after another until I caught up, and then I began the countdown for the next book.  Then the next.  And then something odd happened.  I excitedly started that next book…but didn’t like it.  If I hadn’t known better, I would have sworn someone else wrote it.  It fell flat, didn’t seem to fit the series, and didn’t interest me at all.  Oh, well, that happens.  But then it happened with the next book…and then the next one, and I got really discouraged.  Either she had lost her mojo, or I had, because a favorite series was becoming one that I just didn’t have any interest in reading.  So, imagine my surprise when I read the last book, On The Prowl, and loved it.  That one book gives me hope that the slump is a thing of the past, and leads me to my cautiously optimistic pick of the week, Drive Me Wild.

Synopsis…

In Manhattan, witches and werefolk have been giving each other the silent treatment for nearly 400 years, but now someone wants to renew diplomatic relations. When she’s picked for the job, Tess can’t believe it. She might be a witch, but she’s hardly a miracle worker. In the end, tracking down Rafael De Santos, the head of the Council of Others, turns out to be the easy part. The hard part is falling in love with him. And the really hard part is convincing this werecat to stop tomcatting around.

Luckily for Tess, some things are just meant to be.

Now, the Others series is one of the trickier ones to keep track of.  There was an original five book series, which then lead to The Others.  Then Christine went back and started re-writing the original five and alternated publishing new and re-written titles.  So, what that means is that the publishing order and the storyline order are very, very different.  To make things easier, I will copy the READING ORDER here…

Hungry Like a Wolf is due out on June 25th, and that will complete the re-publishing titles, and should mean that everything after that will be new material.

7 thoughts on “Pick of the Week…

  1. I’m a couple books behind in the series, but I do have this one coming to me in the mail :-) I’ve had the same feelings that you do about this series, but I’m glad to know you loved the last book! I’ve also been looking forward to reading Rafael & Tess’s story :-)

    • I think out of them all, it is Tess and Raphael I have been looking forward to the most. Here’s hoping it does them justice…

  2. I experienced the same thing with Christine Warren. I haven’t quite found my same level of love with her books but I still buy them.

    I have to ask though, you’re picking Christine Warren as pick of the week over Kresley Cole and Ilona Andrews??? I have those two books and my brain is short circuiting trying to pick which of those to read. Arghh!

    • Yeah, I think a lot of people went through that same thing with Christine Warren. I do hope that the lull is over, though.

      I usually try to choose a pick of the week that isn’t one of the “biggies”…something that not everyone might not already have on their radar. Although I am panting to get my hands on Shadow’s Claim…

      • This week is gonna be a good week. Unproductive but great reading. And I still haven’t decided!

        And that’s very cool that your pick of the week isn’t a big one. I’ve definitely picked up some new authors from your blog.

        • Thanks, Jean! I do love finding “the new one” too.

          If you are like me, no matter which one you pick, you will be peeking at the other one to see what is going on. Never fails.

Leave a Reply

