Reading Roundup…

books

This has been an interesting reading week for me, running from really good…to really not.  Even though I don’t do reviews, I am going to try and do a brief weekly wrap-up so that I can refresh my memory about what I liked or didn’t like without spoilers.  Either I read too much, or I am getting old (er, or both?), but I am getting hazy on how I felt on books I read a while back.

Fury of Seduction – This third Dragonfury book from Coreene Callahan is a bit tricky.  I really like the story and the characters, but I found that this one (even more so than the first two books) was so very Black Dagger Brotherhood feeling.  In fact, I would go so far as to say that it was more BDB than the real BDB is.  Not in terms of storyline, but in terms of voice.  I don’t mind the slangy, ultra-cool dialogue, but there was so much of it that it threatened to take me out of the storyline sometimes.  I like these books but I think a bit of a toning down would make the series even better.

Black City – This one had originally went under my radar, but when I saw that there was talks about buying the movie rights for this Elizabeth Richards series I decided to take the plunge.  The fact that it had a beauty of a cover didn’t hurt, either.  Unfortunately, the story didn’t live up to the cover art.  It did start off promising, with a unique young adult/vampire/dystopian set up, but it didn’t follow through.  I found myself really, really trying to get into things, but I just couldn’t.  It was actually a bit on the cheesy side, and I found myself rolling my eyes more than once.  I don’t mind insta-love stories, but this one was more melodramatic and shallow than anything else.  Unfortunately, this is my first DNF of the year.

Shadow’s Claim – What can I say, I am a total Kresley Cole fangirl (my love is only equaled by my love of Nalini Singh).  But for reasons I can’t fathom, I wasn’t my usual psycho self anxiously awaiting this one.  I was looking forward to it, of course, but not with the usual passion that a Kresley Cole release generates.  Not sure why, but once I dove in my old self kicked in and I loved it.  It was a great addition to the IAD world, and while I know some people weren’t that fond of the heroine, I enjoyed all of the characters (and Trehan moves to very near the top of my favorite IAD men).  This one was a one-sitting read, and I am looking forward to going back for the re-read for the character guide.

So, how did your reading week shape up?  Anything you loved, or anything you really wanted to like and just didn’t?

13 thoughts on “Reading Roundup…

  1. I like this new feature! Glad you’re doing this :-)

    I still need to read books 2 & 3 of the Dragonfury series, but I was hoping the BDB similarities would be toned down in the other two books. At least I know what to expect now for the 3rd book. I hope this doesn’t take away from my overall enjoyment of the books.

    What a bummer about Black City…I see it’s getting some mixed reviews :(

    I did enjoy Shadows Claim overall, but I didn’t end up loving it as much I was hoping I would. While I wasn’t the biggest fan of the heroine (I think that’s the main reason I liked the book, not loved it), I did enjoy Trehan’s character. I’m looking forward to reading more from the other cousins in the future books! :-)

    • I didn’t want to bore everyone with my reading list, but if I don’t do it here I will never remember. And I like to get everyone else’s opinions, too. The BDB, uh, tribute, didn’t bother me so much in 1 and 2, but I thought it needed to be let up a bit in 3. It makes all of the characters have exactly the same “voice”, if you know what I mean. I was surprised to see the reviews on Black City so divided, too – I think it is either a love it or hate it book, unfortunately. Now I must part with the pretty, pretty cover, which sucks. I think my favorite part of Shadow’s Claim was the phantom sylph, the naughty, naughty boy. I would love to get my hands on his story, for sure.

      On Wed, Dec 5, 2012 at 4:49 PM, Wicked Scribes

      • The phantom sylph was definitely one of my favorite parts of the book too! Loved his character! He was crackin’ me up :-)

  2. I’m reading Shadows Claim right now and I have to admit its not going to be one of my favorite Kresley Cole books. I’m totally in love with Trehan. But I can’t stand Bettina. I find her weak and uninteresting. As I read, I keep calling her an idiot. Maybe I’m just used to the other heroines in her other books. They are usually such kick ass bitches. Bettina is a wimp.
    I was really looking forward to reading Black City.

    • I think pretty much everyone has the Trehan love, from the reviews I have seen. Gotta say, he made one heck of a lead character.

  3. I’m also a big big fan of Kresley Cole… But this book is not gonna be one of my favorites either!! I was super excited about the story cos it reminded me somehow of “No Rest for the wicked” (I absolutely love all of the Wroth brothers books!) and it did have some great elements like the fights and the surprising twists…but the love story was to quote Nixie “meh!” By the way, I’m so very happy to find fans of my paranormal “not a Twilight aficionada” series!

    • Hey Xenia – that seems to be pretty much the consensus with the story. Great hero, meh on the heroine. The only thing that bugs me is that I consider it an IAD book, and it is paperback. So that makes it a pain to organize with the hardcover books. The Pain!

  4. I agree with you about “Fury of Seduction”: the BDB feel is enjoyable but a bit overdone. For me the biggest disappointment of the week was Christine Warren’s “Drive me wild”: these were not the Rafe & Tess I loved in previous books. I have to be honest and say that I didn’t like any of the re-published books but I still had a lot of expectations for this one. The best surprise was Kerrelyn Sparks’s “Wild about you”: I didn’t enjoy the last one but this was really sweet.

    • I just got my copy of Drive Me Wild like 5 minutes ago, and I am a bit iffy. I enjoyed the last Christine Warren after a few that just really didn’t do it for me, so I am on the fence about this one. Like you, I have been wanting Tess and Rafe since I first saw them in the other books. Darn it.

      On Thu, Dec 6, 2012 at 7:40 AM, Wicked Scribes

  5. I just read the second nightfury book. I love both of them. I am going to order the third book this week. They reminded me more of the Midnight Breed books by lara Adrian than BDB. Maybe it is that they get their mates from humans, this time not with a birth mark but those with high enrygy. The BDB books did not have much human interaction. The loyality they had for each other also made me think of the breed books. The characters were similar as well. Both had a IT guy that did not get out much.

    • I did get the Midnight Breeds vibe too with the underground complex and Sloan/Gideon. Someone else said it had a Dragonfire feel to it, too.

    • I loved it, too. Of course, I have loved everything she has written (along with Nalini Singh, neither one has ever disappointed). There isn’t many I can say that about, either.

Leave a Reply

