Cover Lover – 9 New Titles

I have been a bit slack on the cover department lately, and I nabbed these first five from All Things Urban Fantasy‘s Cover Post.  The cover for Kady Cross‘s third Steampunk Chronicles book, The Girl with the Iron Touch, just came out.  The book will be available on May 21st.

the girl with the iron touch

This next one is the first book from the Hex Hall Spin-off series from Rachel HawkinsSchool Spirits will be released on May 14th.

school spirits

Still from ATUF comes this third cover.  Star Cursed is the second book in the Cahill Witch Chronicles from Jessica Spotswood, and it will be released on June 18th.

star cursed

Kendare Blake will be starting a new series next September with the release of the first book, Antigoddess.

anitgoddess

Good Lord…holy crap-awful photoshopping!  This one is from Jaime Rush and her Offspring series, called The End of Darkness.  It is scheduled for release in January, according to Goodreads.  This is not the cover you want to wrap up your series with, that is for sure.

the end of darkness

This next one is from my favorite hit-or-miss author, Christine WarrenHungry Like a Wolf will be the last of her re-written Others books, bringing the series up to date.  Look for this one on June 25th.

hungry like a wilf

This next one from Amanda Ashley reminds me of the old historical romances I used to read years ago.  As Twilight Falls will be released on May 7th.

as twilight falls

Rising Darkness is the tile of the first book in a new series from Thea Harrison.  It will be available on April 2nd.

rising darkness

And this final one is from Shannon K. Butcher‘s Sentinel Wars series.  Falling Blind will be released next April 2nd.

falling blind

My favorite from this batch is Falling Blind.  I was hoping that this would be Grace and…damn, can’t remember his name.  Tor?  Something like that.  Anyways, I was hoping that this was their story, but Shannon is good about building up a story over the course of a couple of books.  Which one are you most looking forward to?

9 thoughts on “Cover Lover – 9 New Titles

  1. I haven’t read Jaime Rush’s books, but that cover…I don’t even know what to say :( :(

    I still need to read the “The Sentinel Wars” series. Yes, they are on my bookshelf along with so many others…*sigh* I started collecting them after reading a short story in the “On the Hunt” anthology book from this series.

    • Good lord, the Jaime Rush one is horrid. Too bad she can’t send it back…

      If ever there was a series that needs a character guide, it is the Sentinel Wars series. It seems like the world keeps getting bigger every book…

      On Thu, Dec 6, 2012 at 2:55 PM, Wicked Scribes

    • It is definitely one of the better ones. I have read the excerpt, but for some reason Darkness Rising didn’t jump out at me. I will be getting it for sure, but not that excited for it for some reason.

      On Thu, Dec 6, 2012 at 3:13 PM, Wicked Scribes

      • I’m not excited about Darkness Rising either. Harrison’s “Elder Races” series is as original as it can be in a genre saturated supes. I’ve read far too many books involving vamps & shifters but the addition of Gryphons (Rune), eagle shifter thingies (Tiago), Djinn (Khalil) & Medusas (Seremela) make that series unique. But reading the blurb for DR, I yawned. I could browse through my GR shelves right now and find 20 books that sound just like DR.

        You ladies have done a good job of describing the WTFery of the Rush cover. I DO like the “Girl with the Iron Touch” one. Too bad I was underwhelmed with “Girl in the Steel Corset” or I might be tempted to give it a try.

        • I am really hoping that it is a matter of being underwhelmed by the blurb, but blown away by the book. Here’s hoping, at least. I agree with you, though, about Harrison expanding the Elder Races past the usual vamps and weres. It did put a whole new spin on PNR.

  2. From what I see on Goodreads, The End of Darkness is the final book of Offspring. ZOMG, what the author thinking anyway? I don’t believe its published by Avon because well.. even their cover can be categorized into “suck”, its still good to looked at. This one have a bad photoshop, much like self publish.

    I’m waiting for Antigoddes, nice twist of Greek myth and I love myth.

    As for Falling Blind, its the story of Rory and Cain

    • I was wondering it if it is a self published jobbie, myself. It might be, since that seems to be the trend, lately.

      For some strange reason, I only vaguely remember Rory. I am going to have to go back and see exactly who she is.

      On Fri, Dec 7, 2012 at 1:55 AM, Wicked Scribes

  3. Pingback: Cover Art Coverage: 12 New Titles! | All Things Urban Fantasy - Where Para is Normal

Leave a Reply

