Resolutions – Past and Future

partyIt is that time of year again – time to see how I did with last year’s reading resolutions, and decide what my goals are for 2013.  Looking back, I actually did way better than I thought I would, but I had a couple of missteps.  My goals for 2012 were to read to read the Mercy Thompson series from Patricia Briggs, which I did (and loved).  I also was determined to read Chloe Neill‘s Chicagoland Vampire series, which I also did (and also really enjoyed.  Except for the…you know).  I also got caught up on Jeaniene Frost‘s Night Huntress series, which is another favorite than I just somehow got behind on.  My other resolution was to read every day, even if only a couple of pages.  For the most part, I managed it, so I will also call that a win.

On the could have done better side, I had vowed to finish the Character Guide for Lora Leigh‘s Breeds series.  Er, well…yeah.  Still in progress.  I have been working on it, I swear (but I might have taken a few months off).  That would be the big failure, for sure.

So, that leads me to my reading goals for 2013, which really read pretty much like the ones for 2012.  Here goes…

  • I will read, and complete a character guide, for Karen Marie Moning‘s Fever series.  Really looking forward to this, even though I have only so far read the first book.
  • I will have read whatever books are being adapted into movies before the films come out (Beautiful Creatures, The Host, Hush, Hush, etc).  If I don’t do it this way, they will sit on the shelves next to my unread Harry Potter and Twilight books.
  • I will learn to cut my losses sooner.  No more trying to force myself to like a book that just doesn’t do it for me.  Move on, already.
  • I will manage to get up to date, and keep up to date, on existing character guides.
  • I WILL FINISH THE BREEDS CHARACTER GUIDE.  OR ELSE.

Looks like that is about it for me – just a matter of better time management on my part.  I am one of those nerd-people who need rules to follow or I slack off.  What do you have planned?  Did you manage to do what you hoped with in 2012, or did time just sort of slip away from you, too?  In case I don’t get to say it before hand, have a happy New Year’s, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Resolutions – Past and Future

  1. You said “I will learn to cut my losses sooner. No more trying to force myself to like a book that just doesn’t do it for me. Move on, already.”

    You be sure and let me know how that works out for ya, the only time I am ever able to actually not finish a book is if it :
    1. Makes me mad, the last time was Lisa Olsen’s Moonsong and her comments about how people in Alabama all marry their cousins and had low IQs ….. PS I live in Alabama and we develop NASA Space Program and all the US Army’s missiles here, poor research and insulting.
    2. It actually gets so disgusting, depressing or occasionally so poorly written. The last book that was so bad I tossed it was Ember by Madison Daniel and to top it off the 5 Star reviews were very suspect (especially the 2 identical ones from 2 different accounts) A quote from my review : “This book was a total train wreck” “There are sites that allow you to buy reviews and this really looks suspect, the book is poorly written ..”

    • I know – I have a really hard time stopping. The eternal book lover never believes that a book can be bad, must get better, etc. When I am forcing myself to read a book, it can take well over a week to get through, so I figure if I am desperate I will start skimming though to the end. Might speed the whole process up a bit.

  2. First I wanted to tell you that I have FINALLY started the Alien Huntress series! Okay, I’m only 25 pages into the first book, but I’ve started it. That was a goal for me. I’m also going to work on finishing series that have officially ended but I still have a 1-2 more to go to finish. I also have some trilogies that I need to get to. Another goal, start the Psy-Changeling series! Yes, I WILL do this. I’ve also come to the realization that I need to let go of books that I know I’m just never going to get to. It’s just not going to happen. A bunch of those are ones I purchased when Borders closed in the US and I got them super cheap. I went a little crazy! Lol! So…those are my goals for right now :-)

    • They are good goals, though. I am thinking about the “never going to get there books”, too. Might be time to bite the bullet and donate to the library (if the broad that works there wasn’t such a hag, I wouldn’t mind at all). I take in unread, new release books and she looks at me like I am dropping off my garbage. Glad to hear you hit both the Alien Huntress and will be tackling the Psy/Changelings, too. Have fun!

      • You would think she would be more appreciative, especially since you’re bring in NEW books. I just don’t understand that…

      • I didn’t get it, either. I caught myself a couple of time starting to apologize for being such a bother, and then I gave my head a good shake.

Leave a Reply

