Guest Review – Immortal Ever After

starIt seems like Doug Meeks used his magic connections to somehow get his hands on an early copy of the upcoming Lynsay Sands‘ Argeneau novel, Immortal Ever After.  This one has an official publication date of February 26th, and it is actually the eighteenth story in the series.  I didn’t realize that there were that many stories out already.  Now I just have to stop mixing up Lynsay Sands and Kerrelyn Sparks, which is another New Year’s resolution…

immortal ever afterWhat Doug said…

Immortal Ever After: An Argeneau Novel

By

Lynsay Sands

Summary:

A kiss doesn’t mean eternity . . .

Valerie Moyer doesn’t believe in vampires—until she is kidnapped by a fanged psychopath! After escaping her bloodthirsty captor, she’s through with creatures of the night, until she finds herself under the protection of the darkly handsome Anders. Not only is she expected to accept that Anders is immortal, but also that she is the woman destined to be his life mate!

. . . Or does it?

Anders felt a connection to Valerie from the moment he cradled her bruised body in his arms. But before he claims her, he must destroy the vampire who almost stole her from him forever. His job would be easier if Valerie didn’t fight him every step of the way. Still, Anders loves a challenge, and the green-eyed beauty is worth fighting for!

Review:

I have read this series since book #1 and have loved all of them (some more than others) and this story takes us back closer to the “old” books but with a bit of the Rouge Hunter theme thrown in since the heroine Valerie has to be rescued by the Enforcers headed up by the Argeneau men.  Anders was introduced to us several books back and has pretty much always been the strong silent type, well its his turn so enjoy.  The story is great and the action while good unfortunately is a wee bit predictable.  You have at least 2 major “Don’t go in there!!” moments when you know something bad is coming and they go anyway.  While I continue to enjoy this series I am beginning to wonder if Ms Sands is running out of ideas, she has been a major creative force but this book seemed to reflect back on a few of the other books IMHO.  I give this one 4 Stars maybe a bit more since I did enjoy it in spite of the passionate but lukewarm romance (I know that sounds odd but you have to read it)  but I am concerned about the future of the series.

I have only read a couple of anthology novellas from this series, and for some reason I just couldn’t get into it.  I think it is something that I need to take the plunge and read a full book, but I just never seemed to actually get there.

4 thoughts on “Guest Review – Immortal Ever After

    • Does this series land on your auto-buy list like I know it does for a lot of people?

      On Fri, Jan 4, 2013 at 8:19 PM, Wicked Scribes

  1. They are always on my auto-but list, this is the first ARC I have received on this series and unfortunately it was a bit of a letdown. I fear the 4 Stars rating I gave had more to do with continuing the story than this actual book, the romance fell a bit flat and the strength of these books has always been the humor and that was not up to the usual either.

    • There really are times where an individual story comes across as better than it is because the strength of the series over-all. I think that is part of why I have never felt let down by certain authors – I am so happy to be back in that particular world that I can let problems with the story slide.

      On Sun, Jan 6, 2013 at 8:09 AM, Wicked Scribes

Leave a Reply

