Reading Roundup…

booksI am trying to make it a point to write a couple of lines about the books that I read, partly to either vent or gush without committing to a full review, but mostly so I can jog my memory later on about what I thought of previous books in a series.  Right now, I am trying to target Mount TBR shelf by shelf, so that means I have been on a young adult kick – with varying degrees of success.  Slight spoilers might be included…

Beautiful Darkness – This is the second book from Kami Garcia‘s Caster Chronicles series, and I am determined to get the books finished before the movie is released on Valentine’s Day.  I enjoyed the first book, but really struggled with this one.  Most of my problems came with my intense annoyance with Lena.  Although she had been through a rough time, her angst was over the top and started to grate on my nerves.  She completely did not deserve Ethan’s devotion, and I was so hoping he would give her the kick to the curb her self-pity deserved.  My second problem – you know this super-secret world that exists along-side our own?  Well, it was pretty much a secret to absolutely no one.  I swear that there weren’t too many characters left in the story that didn’t end up wandering around those “secret” tunnels.  I enjoyed the storyline development, and most of the supporting characters, but for the most part it felt like a let-down from the first book.  I have higher hopes for Beautiful Chaos.

Indigo Awakening – As the first book of a new series from author Jordan Dane, Indigo Awakening seemed right up my alley.  I love a good super-powered human story, and this one seem to fit the bill.  And it should have.  But for some reason I just couldn’t get involved in this one at all.  It seemed to make all the right moves, but there wasn’t any depth to the characters, I couldn’t get into the storyline, and I never felt any connection to the characters.  Was it bad?  Not really.  I did manage to skim though to the end, but I have absolutely no interest in finding out what happens in the rest of the series.  In fact, I forgot the storyline as I was reading, and that is not a good thing.

Elixir – One of my favorite things about Jennifer L. Armentrout‘s work is that even her e-novellas are released in print format, and Elixir was no exception.  Taking place immediately after Pure, it is told from Aiden’s point of view.  This one is a short read, but it is pivotal for the series.  But it also made me enjoy the entire Covenant series in a whole new way, surprisingly.  See, I was a total Seth girl, and I while I liked Aiden I didn’t quite feel the same connection for him that I did for the other characters.  He seemed a bit too removed, and while he seemed like a truly good guy he just didn’t grab me the way Seth did.  Well, this little story turned that around.  I liked Aiden, liked the depths this story brought to his character, and now I can see what the attraction is.

Opal – Another great one from Jennifer L. Armentrout, this time from her Lux series.  This one is one of my favorite young adult series, and this story continued that.  There are a lot of developments in terms of overall storyline, character development, and a cliff-hanger ending that I didn’t expect.  Now, I just need to get my hands on Dawson’s story, Shadows, to fill in some of the gaps.  Can’t wait for the next one.

7 thoughts on “Reading Roundup…

  1. I read Opal just last week. I didn’t realize there was a cliffhanger ending either, and it was a MAJOR one. I am so antsy for the next release which is 6 1/2 months away, aaah!

    Seeing that Origin is still so far out and I need JLA fix I started the Convenant series. Wow I enjoyed that series too. I wasnt sure that I would having read many Amazon review comments about it being similar to another series. But I’m glad that I did (do). Also, I usually avoid novellas but Elixir was a great release to tide over until the next book in this series is out too.

    • I really enjoy both series, too, but you are right about the similarities. The Covenant series does have a very Vampire Academy vibe going on, but I still enjoy them both.

    • I agree with both you about Armentrout’s series. I picked up the Lux series first (partly because of Kaleigha’s gushing and others on the Reading, Planning to Read thread on Amazon) and was quite surprised by how much I liked it. And Tabz, I’m so with you on the whole not usually liking novellas thing, but I thought Elixir was great. And yeah, even though the Covenant series starts off very similar to Vampire Academy, I still ended up liking it. Armentrout has become an auto-buy author for me.

      • She did for me too, in spite of myself. I saw the home-made looking covers and rolled my eyes, but I was hooked pretty early on.

  2. By the way, I posted earlier and wasn’t sure if it went through. I apologize if my comment posted twice (and feel free to delete the first one).

Leave a Reply

