Reader Question…

question-markI like reader questions – and I like to take the questions to the experts.  Let’s see what you can come up with to help a fellow book lover out.  Today’s question comes from Colleen, is interested in a particular genre of PNR/UF.

Colleen asked…

          I am a big fan of paranormal romance and plan on publishing one myself someday.  I was wondering if you could direct me to some with multicultural pairings, particularly if the heroine is a woman of color?

I’ve already read (more than once):
Slave to Sensation, Hostage to Pleasure, Go Fetch,Beast behaving Badly, the beast in him, Hunting Season, About a Dragon, How to Drive a Dragon Crazy, The Swan and the Bear, Belong to the Night.

So, what do you recommend?  I suggested the last two Christine Feehan Ghostwalker books.  Samurai Game featured an African American hero and Japanese heroine, and Ruthless Game featured an Asian heroine.  Any books you can think of to add to the list?

14 thoughts on “Reader Question…

  1. My favorites have already been mentioned (particularly Shelly Laurenston, I read Beast Behaving Badly nearly every 3 months). Rather than suggesting books, I would like to leave a general comment. I enjoy when the book focuses on the character and not race. Honestly, I was a good portion into several of Shelly Laurenston’s book before I noticed the race of the main characters. I love how multiculturalism has started to become mainstream. As I actively avoid books with angst, I have a difficult time with books where race is the hurdle in a relationship (and all the negative emotions it brings). I know it is often reality, but I don’t like reading about it. I suggest you write strong characters with race being a part but not the focus. Best of luck, Collen, in your writing career.

  2. To give some recommendations to Colleen -
    Check out some of Charisma Knight’s PNR books (they are short stories and/or novellas):
    ‘Of Cheetah’s Blood’, ‘Just An Average Vampire’, ‘Reaper’s Fragile Ego (Death Angel)’, ‘Cyborg2150′, ‘My Serbian Wolf’, and ‘Spiritwalker’. I have not read these (except for ‘Cyborg2150′ and the super short bonus story at the end of ‘Reaper’s Fragile Ego’, both of which I edited). I do have a few of these on my TBR list.

    Also check out the books written by Serenity King.

    I very much agree with what Cassandra said (“As I actively avoid books with angst, I have a difficult time with books where race is the hurdle in a relationship {and all the negative emotions it brings}. I know it is often reality, but I don’t like reading about it. I suggest you write strong characters with race being a part but not the focus.”).

    Lea Ellen {night owl in IL}

  3. I love the Shelley Laurenston books mentioned. Laurenston’s short (kind of lengthy) story, “My Kind of Town” in the “Sun, Sand, Sex” (bad title) anthology has a multicultural heroine. My favorite of hers :)

    The Mercedes Thompson series by Patricia Briggs
    The Iron Duke (Iron Seas, #1) by Meljean Brook
    Sins of the Heart by Eve Silver
    Sins of the Soul by Eve Silver
    Lure of the Wicked by Karina Cooper
    Already Freakn’ Mated (Freakn’ Shifters) by Eve Langlais

    Here are some helpful Goodreads lists:

    http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/11395.Non_Caucasian_Protagonists_in_Science_
    Fiction_Fantasy_Horror_and_Paranormal_Romance

    http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/7513.Best_Recent_Multi_Cultural_YA

    http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/8423.Best_Interracial_Paranormal

    Good luck with your writing, Collen! :)

  4. Other than the ones mentioned, I don’t recall any books with POC heroine. I do know Lauren Dane’s de La Vega Cats series features multicultural pairings the hero being a man of color. I should also mention that book 1 of this series is an M/F/M pairing. Th other 2 are traditional M/F.

  5. I’m thinking that one or more of Kate Douglas’ book in the Wolf Tales series and/or the Sexy Beast series (they are totally connected series) have multi-cultural love stories in them (keep in mind that these are erotic paranormal romances – which all have HEAs).

  6. I have a shelf on GR dedicated to IRs, whether the hero/heroine is Black, White, Hispanic, Asian, Middle Eastern, et cetera. I enjoy IRs where the focus isn’t on the person’s ethnicity (which is why I tend to steer clear of books marketed as IR) but it’s nice to read about a heroine that “looks like me.”

    Sorry if any of these have been mentioned. I looked through the previous posts but I might have missed something.

    Shiloh Walker’s “Hunters: Heart & Soul” features a novella about a BW/WM.
    Dana Marie Bell’s “Bear Necessities” features a hero who’s biracial (Black & White IIRC).

    And wow, that appears to be it for Black men/women in PNRs on my IR shelf (excluding the ones mentioned). Hmmmm. Sorry I couldn’t help more. There appears to be a fair share of books on my shelf with Hispanic protagonists, (and a few Asians/Native Americans/Indians) but not much in the way of AA. I’m going to rec “Naked” by Megan Hart, if you haven’t already read it. It’s not PNR but it’s one of my favorite romances EVER and features a BW/WM couple.

  7. Another vote for Eileen Wilks, Nalini Singh and Patricia Briggs–some of my top favs! Great series. I also really enjoyed Shelly Laurenston’s light, humorous books.

    Zena Wynn’s True Mates also has several multicultural characters in lead roles. The first book was the weakest, but they got better as they went on.

Leave a Reply

