Taking the Plunge…The Aftermath

bookIt is done.

Yes, I have managed to be ruthless (well, semi-ruthless), and now my TBR stack is down by 35.  There was probably another 15 that could have gone, but I will save that for next time since I am thinking of making this an annual event.  If those books have not been touched by next year, they too shall go.

I am strange, and I fully embrace my strangeness.  But it was even new depths of odd for me when I RAN into a book store with two bags of books, threw them on the counter and said “all yours!” and ran back out.  I looked like a bank robber, but I was scared I would change my mind. Then I bought chocolate as a reward for good behavior.

16 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge…The Aftermath

  1. Good job! I don’t think I could have walked out without some kind of store credit though! Way stronger then me.

    I’ve thought about doing that Book Swap site so that I don’t feel so bad for giving up a book.

    • Well, you haven’t seen the one used bookstore in our town. Trust me, you really wouldn’t have wanted anything on offer (it is best known for selling figurines made out of Lobster shells. You would resist.

      • I talk big, but the first thing I did when I got home was open up the Book Depository page…just looking, of course.

    • It is indeed. Now, to just control the urge to buy random stuff that could maybe possibly be semi-ok, and we should be set.

    • Thanks, Barb! I was feeling pretty bad-ass until Amber said she had 3 BOXES to get rid of. But it was a start, anyways.

      • You are bad-ass K :-) I forgot some of the books I’m getting rid of where also from a “mystery” box of books I won on a blog. I kept the ones I wanted and am donating the rest :-)

  2. Congrats! I’s hard to part with our books even though we know we should. I do this twice a year and sometimes it breaks my heart but…worth the work.

  3. I loved the whole story from the cat hair to the figurines made out of lobster tails. Awesome! Congrats on the reduction in TBR! Always a relief to commit to getting rid of that nagging guilt of books you really really really aren’t going to read :)

    • They really are a guilt trip – you feel like such an epic failure when they just keep tormenting you without end.

Leave a Reply

