Defying Expectations…

Every once in a while, with this little hobby we all share, I get surprised. Sometimes in a good way, sometimes not so much. If you are like me, you go into a book with certain…expectations. But in the last couple of weeks I have come across a few books that totally did not go the way I had planned.

I have made it a goal of mine to read whatever books I have that are being adapted into movies before they actually come out.  I want to be one of those people that sit in the theater and say loudly “it did not happen like that in the book!” (Not really, those people are annoying, but I will be thinking it).  To that end, I tackled both the four books of Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl‘s The Caster Chronicles, and Stephenie Meyer‘s The Host.

beautiful creatures cast coverSo, The Caster Chronicles.  I went into these just knowing that they were a sure thing for me.  They are everything that I usually love in a story, so of course they can’t miss.  Except…they sort of did. They hit all the right notes, but I found myself struggling to stay involved with the story, the world, the characters, the whole works. But every time I decided to give up (and there were a few) and move on, things would pick up enough to make me want to read more. I obviously didn’t love the Caster Chronicles, but I didn’t hate them either. I skimmed way more than I should have, and ended up on the ambivalent side. I spent a good portion of my reading time telling myself that I really should be enjoying it way more than I was, until I finally just admitted that despite some good points (I did like several characters, and it did have a bit of a different vibe to it), that it just didn’t live up to my expectations. I can’t see the film being a monster, Hunger Games/Twilight sized hit, since it is just so darn angsty and slooooow, but I have been wrong before.

8083945Now, The Host was not on my radar. At all. It is completely not my thing, since I have never been a bit sci-fi fan, and the fact that it seemed to be considered Twilight’s poor relation didn’t help. Seeing the trailer for the upcoming movie, and the fact that the hardcover was on sale for $8, I sneered, rolled my eyes, and ordered it. To say that I bought it with low expectations is quite the understatement, and I fully planned on skimming through the first little bit before bed and then giving to a friend that enjoys sci-fi. My half hour “skim” session turned into me reading straight through until 8:00 the next morning, anxious to find out how it all ends. It is a quiet, odd little love story that I couldn’t put down, and made me a bit ashamed that I was so determined that I wouldn’t like it. I do have to say that I wonder how well it will translate to the screen since so much of the story is internal between Melanie/Wanda, but I do know I will be the first in line with my ticket to find out.

What books have defied your expectations recently?  Anything you should’ve loved but didn’t, or did you find one that you surprisingly couldn’t put down?

4 thoughts on “Defying Expectations…

  1. I came across an author V.K Forrest and from the description of the series, seemed to be right up my alley. The first book was interesting but kinda boring but I told myself it was probably because it was setting the seen. So I got the next book and the next and it was like pulling teeth trying to read them. I really try to read the books I buy even if I don’t like them, because I hate to waste a book. But I trashed those books and they are forever lost in my iCloud somewhere.

    • I do that too, keep buying, trying to make myself like something. Before my recent book purge, there were a lot I had like that.

  2. K,
    I only read The Host by Stephenie Meyer for a goodreads challenge. I was pleasantly suprised at how much I enjoyed it. I had bought the book 2 years before, but I got the audio on sale and I listened to it. It was well written, much better than her twilight series. she was suppose to write a sequel, which I am not sure it needed, but Ms. Meyers doesn’t seem to be consistent with her stuff, soo…

    anyway, I plan on listening to Beautiful creatures on audio.

    Books that suprised me:
    1) Dead after Dark by Charlaine Harris. I have had this book for over 3 years. Again, a challenge at goodreads got me to read it, and I read the next 8 all in Nov. 2012. I couldn’t stop. TEAM BILL COMPTON!

    2) Darkness Dawns by Dianne Duvall. I don’t know what I was expecting, but it was good. My only complaint was the author’s obsession with all things organic and eco-friendly. I never heard of a vegetarian vampire–I mean you drink blood, what’s a little beef or chicken? I quickly read book 2, Night reigns. I really enjoyed it.

    3)The last 3 Midnight Breeds books were suprisingly good. that series had gotten stale around book 6-8, but it really picked up now!

    Didn’t like that much
    1) First grave on the right by Darynda jones–I guess I missed the big deal. It was okay, but I keep hearing about her charley and reyes, well, their relationship was kind of in her mind, not quite real. I don’t know.

    2) Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire. This wasn’t a case of bad boy ruins innocent good girl. This was a real girl pretending to be innocent and sending mixed messages to everyone around her, and driving everyone nuts! I don’t see why people are going nuts over this one, but to each his own.

    3) Outlander by Diana Galbadon–I enjoyed it, but I think 32hours of an audiobook just took the enjoyment out of it. I could have enjoyed it much more if it wasn’t so verbose. I am scared to read book 2. I think I will wait until I get stranded on an island, that book would get me through the week it will take to rescue me.

    • I really don’t think that a sequel is needed, either. Strangely enough, I was really happy with how everyone got their HEA, and there was hope for the entire race for the future. Sometimes it is better to just let it go.

      I have the Sookie books and Dianne Duvall’s on the pile, too. I do like the idea of a challenge – sometimes that is the only way to get the kick in the pants to get going.

      The Midnight Breeds series caught my attention again in the recent books, too, and I am determined to go back for a re-read of the series since I have forgotten most of everything that happened before Sterling’s book.

      I do like the Charley Davidson books, but I don’t think I could tackle the Outlander books. 32 hours?!? I don’t want anyone talking at me for 32 hours. Ever.

Leave a Reply

