Psy/Changeling Reveal – Heart of Obsidian

I am trying to figure out which is sadder – the fact that I set my alarm so I would be up when Nalini Singh would reveal the title and cover for what has to this point been known simply as Psy/Changeling #12, or the fact that I had to set my alarm to make sure I was up by 1:30 in the afternoon? Well either way, here we are with the great reveal…

heart of obsidian

Holy crap, my dreams have come true. For years I have been wishing that Tony Mauro (who designs the best covers around, in my opinion, including Nalini Singh’s Guild Hunter books) would start designing for this series, and it looks like now he has. Great books deserve great covers, of which the Psy/Changeling series has been sorely lacking. And really, can Heart of Obsidian really be anyone’s story other than the Ghost’s?

30 thoughts on “Psy/Changeling Reveal – Heart of Obsidian

  1. I love the cover too. But I had assumed with such suspense leaving it to all this, we would get a blurb or the main characters or something. So I am a bit disappointed. I almost wrote something on Nalini’s blog, but I didn’t want to a negative nellie. So, are we going to get any book description before we actually buy it?

    • As far as I know, it should be coming soon. If not from the usual sources, then for sure from the publishing company (I would expect it to come out quite quickly now).

  2. ER.MAH.GERD. A “Psy-Changeling” cover that doesn’t look like something you’d have to send to your e-reader in hopes of salvaging some sort of dignity. I love it! But like, Cassandra, I was hoping for a blurb more than a cover because, lets be honest, the next PC book could have a picture of Blue’s Clues on the cover with the title “Sitting in our Think Chair to Think” & I’d still be all up on that like Oikos on John Stamos .

    Here’s hoping the blurb comes soonish so I’ll know if it’s Ghost’s story, Kaleb’s story or Kaleb/Ghost’s story!

    • Heh…you summed it up perfectly. It is tricky when you adore the book, but it gets a sub-standard cover. You are thrilled with it no matter what, but you have that moment of “eh” when you see the crap cover.

      I am going to start scouring the net for the synopsis tonight (while hunting down the cover for Kresley Cole’s MacRieve). Totally has to be Kaleb/Ghost’s story. I will believe nothing less.

  3. When I saw the cover I was O__O no naked guy?! lol Truth to be told I love this cover and I hope the keep this new style ;) As soon as I saw the cover I knew it was done by Tony Mauro. To me Tony Mauro and Dan dos Santos are the best cover artists

    I loved the book’s title but I was a little disappointed, after all the fanfare I thought the name would have Ghost in it lol

    • I do so hope they keep them in this style, too. I had hoped that when they switched over to hardcover they would make a design change, but I guess better late than never.

      I forgot about Dan dos Santos. His stuff is amazing, too.

  4. Such an amazing cover. I. Cannot. Wait.

    Ms. SIngh mentioned on FB that the back-cover blurb will be revealed on Mar 31 along with the release of her anthology. So now we have yet another countdown to look forward to and another alarm for you, Kaleigha. ;-)

    I have to say that this entire exercise is such a smart, smart, SMART ploy to keep people’s interests up. First by cover reveal then the blurb reveal and finally the book itself. Mind you, it is so not needed for die-hard fans like me but still… I gotta appreciate whoever came up with this strategy. Brilliant!

  5. Some interesting tidbits from Heroes and Heartbreakers blog (mostly from the comments): http://www.heroesandheartbreakers.com/blogs/2013/01/cover-and-title-reveal-nalini-singhs-heart-of-obsidian

    Apparently, the cover has some hint and the blurb is coming out in March.

    I am sure Kaleb is the Ghost. I just don’t think it could be Vasic, based on timeline things. If the book is about Vasic (which would be great), but not about Kaleb or the Ghost — I am going to go crazy! :)

    • You’re right the blurb only comes in march ;_;

      Here what Nalini said at her blog: “So glad you all love the cover! We’re giving you approx a month to discuss / speculate / come up with conspiracy theories &/or chocolate bribes, before posting the blurb March 5th :-) (And yes, there is a clue in the cover.)”

      Also an anonymous commented: “In Kiss of Snow the Ghost went into the obsidian archives to look for info on Alice. Sure looks like a star in his hand.”

      Another commented: “I remember he (Kaleb) had access to the Obsidian Archives!”

      MY GOD I don’t remember any of this >.< maybe it's time to re-read the series lol XD

      • Hey, don’t feel bad – I did the character guides and I don’t remember any of that, either. I still have it stuck in my head that it is Faith’s missing cousin (Sahara, I think), but I am open for anything.

  6. After a quick check back, this is what I found…spoken by the Ghost. It was in reference to finding info on Alice Eldridge…

    “That left him with the Obsidian archive. Created by the NetMind, the neosentience that was the guardian and librarian of the Net, the Obsidian archive was a backup in case the PsyNet ever suffered a catastrophic failure. The Ghost had named it Obsidian because the complexity of data within it made it all but a wall of black. Only a rare few individuals had ever realized the Obsidian archive existed.

    Even fewer knew how to access it.”

    So, we know it is The Ghost’s story…just not sure who the Ghost is (coughKalebcough).

  7. I wouldn’t be so sure it’s the Ghost’s story. Nalini has mentioned in fan-meets and chats that if the Ghost were to have a book, it would be the last book in the series…..
    I do think it’s Kaleb’s book though (might mean he ain’t the Ghost??) rather than Vasic’s, cause of his haircut. Look how short that hair is. In ToN, Vasic’s hair had grown past regulation length.

    “Vasic’s hair lifted in the wind, the strands having grown in the past months, until they were now past the unspoken regulation length for Arrows.” (ToN, p.40)

    • I think it must, must be Kaleb’s story, too. It would be way too cruel to leave things hanging like they were at the end of Tangle of Need for another year. I don’t even mind if he isn’t the Ghost, I am just excited to get his story.

  8. If Nalini said the clue is on the cover, I see a similarities between the cover and Star Trek new movie poster. Which I think the hero might be anti-hero, someone who once is villain and now try to redeem his wrong doings.
    LOL, I think its not much help
    Either Kaleb, Vasic, or anyone else might be the Ghost, I still read it :)

  9. After much obsessing and trolling the internet, I think this is very likely Kaleb’s book but not the Ghost’s. From everything I have read, this story arc has at least one to three more books and it seems likely the Ghost will be last. I used to be convinced that Kaleb was the Ghost, but now I very uncertain. I could be, and likely am, wrong on all these counts. I think I am going to go a little nuts over all this.

    • Heh – I have put way too much thought into this, as well. Kaleb must be the Ghost. Well, that might be too obvious. It must be Vasic. Or not. Nah, definitely Kaleb.

      It is going to be a long, long wait.

  10. EEEEEEEEEEEP!!!!!! I am beyond excited about this book and I am LOVING the cover! FINALLY a good cover in this series (besides Hawke, hehe..)

    • It really is the first good one – and about time. Great books need great covers, at least I think they deserve it. I do wonder if they will go the route of JR Ward and Patricia Briggs and re-release the first books in hardcover, too. That would be great.

Leave a Reply

