Vampire Academy Movie News…

movie-iconUsually, there is this long, drawn out procedure to get to a book adaptation. First you hear the rights have been sold. Then nothing. Then you maybe hear that someone might be running it. Then silence. Then a ton of potential cast are whispered about. Well, not for this sucker. Looks like filming for Richelle Mead‘s Vampire Academy will be starting this summer, and the three lead actors have already been cast. This is from over on Page to Premier Network

          Zoey Deutch, Lucy Fry, and Danila Kozlovski will be playing Rose, Lissa, and Dimitri respectively in the upcoming adaptation of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead titled Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters. Deadline reports that Mean Girls director Mark Waters will direct the film, which will be produced by Preger Entertainment, Angry Films, and IM Global’s Stuart Ford. Filming for the flick, which Stuart Ford calls “snappy irreverent, [and] sexy,” will begin this summer.

The story follows Rose Hathaway (Deutch), a teenage girl whose best friend, Lissa (Fry), also happens to be a vampire. The pair attend a special school for vampires who wish to retain their humanity.

And here is the cast chosen to play Rose, Lissa…and Dmitri (click for larger image).

vampire academy cast

Zoey Deutch (Rose) will be playing Emily Asher in the upcoming adaptation of Beautiful Creatures, while Lucy Fry has mostly been seen on lesser known TV shows. And, surprise of all surprises, Russian Dmitri will actually be played…by a Russian actor. Danila Kozlovski is an award winning stage and screen actor born in Moscow.

Yea or nay? Tired of the adaptations already, or pulling for this one? I have to admit, this is one I would be very interested in. I even like the look of the cast (I just wonder how tall Danila is. Is that shallow?) Word first broke of this way back in 2011, and when there was no more news I thought it had gone the way of the Fever series adaptation and died a quiet death. Looks like I was wrong.

8 thoughts on “Vampire Academy Movie News…

  1. I love this series, and was super happy when I found out that they’re actually making headway on this movie. As for the cast, I actually like it. :)

    • I liked the cast, too. Not having seen any of them in anything, I am going purely by looks, but it seems like they got it right.

  2. I’m quite curious how much they’re going to try to pack into this movie. I mean, are they really shooting for six different movies? Or are they going to combine books 1 and 2? And yay for getting an actual Russian to play Dmitri. Is there a release date for the movie yet?

    • I did a little more digging after I posted this, but I didn’t actually find a straight answer. I was surprised by the “Blood Sisters” add on title, but at least it makes it sound like they are planning on more than one book.

  3. I’m very happy with this news! I really liked this series! It’s great that the casting has started and I’m glad they got a Russian actor to play Dmitri :-)

    • Good lord, I was so glad that Dmitri will be played by a Russian, too. I had a vision of some dude from Gossip Girl trying on a fake accent. No.

  4. I loved this series a lot so I hope they know what their doing. Expectations are high on this one . I don’t think the person they casted for Rose is accurate, she looks to fragile to be Rose, but we will see!!!

    • I think for me this one would be tied right up there with Mortal Instruments for my excitement factor. Definitely going to be keeping an eye out for more info on this, too.

Leave a Reply

