February’s E-novellas…and Used E-books?

lost to the graySo, after bugging everyone about how they keep track of the ever growing e-book releases, I think I have my technique down (down-ish, maybe). I am not even going to attempt to list all of the PNR, UF and YA digital books being released, but I do hope to get a handle on the novellas that are coming for the popular print series (and some of the better known authors). I ended up using a couple of different sources and searches (thanks for the ideas, everone). This is what I came up for in February…

February 5th

February 12th

  • Kerrelyn Sparks, Pamela Palmer, Amanda Arista, Kim FalconerVampires Gone Wild (Love at Stake #13.5, Vamp City #1.5)

February 18th

February 25th

February 26th

So, what did I miss? If you can think of any novellas that I skipped, feel free to list them here.

And, on a related note, I saw a little article over on Publisher’s Weekly that had me scratching my head. It looks like Amazon has plans…to sell used e-books. Huh?

         Amazon’s business model has long been dependent on resellers of used books and other merchandise. But a U.S. patent that Amazon Technologies in Reno, Nev., received last week indicates that the mega-retailer has its sights on digital resale, including used e-books and audio downloads. According to the abstract, Amazon will be able to create a secondary market for used digital objects purchased from an original vendor by a user and stored in a user’s personalized data store.

Boston-based ReDigi opened the first marketplace for pre-owned digital music, which it launched in late 2011, redigi.com. Once a lawsuit that Capitol Records filed in U.S. District Court in Manhattan over the way it handles music downloads is behind it, ReDigi plans to expand into e-books and other digital items. In a press release issued yesterday, ReDigi commented that “the Amazon patent is further proof that the secondary market is the future of the digital space and that there is no turning back.”

I must admit, this seems strange to me. I guess there is a market for everything, though (and Amazon pretty much covers it all).

8 thoughts on “February’s E-novellas…and Used E-books?

    • Especially with the price of the e-books. I don’t buy them, so I don’t usually pay attention, but I noticed a while back that a lot of the e-books are actually costing more than their print counterparts. Wonder what is going on with that?

    • I still don’t get why some of them are so darn expensive. For me, it defies logic as to why they would cost more than the print versions. I wonder how long it will take before they are considered “used” for resale?

      On Thu, Feb 7, 2013 at 2:49 PM, Wicked Scribes

  1. Here is the link to that article: http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/industry-news/bookselling/article/55849-amazon-poised-to-sell-used-e-books.html

    Earlier today, I also posted this link on my FB page and many author friends were not happy with this news.

    My response was – “This is the same thing as piracy. This proves that Amazon will do anything to make the company money…”
    “I cannot even imagine this becoming legal. ALL authors of the world would have the biggest conniption fit you could imagine {and I don’t mean that lightly} – and should band together to boycott any company that sold used e-books. (And there is no such thing as a ‘used’ e-book’ – digital files aren’t “used”.) Authors and publishers could pull all of their books {including paperbacks/hardbacks} from Amazon and would have to sell them elsewhere. If it comes to that, a company would emerge where authors could sell their books. And authors {and their supporters} should band together to not buy any books published by Amazon’s own publishing company (and/or products on their main website).”

    If this should happen, companies like Amazon would not provide any part of the ‘re-sale’ of digital books to the authors of those books. Amazon is just shooting itself in the heart. Who is running the corporation nowadays? Some moron?

    Lea Ellen {night owl in IL}

    • That is actually what had me scratching my head. How can an e-book be “used”. I didn’t think of the author’s end, though – you are right, I can’t see Amazon forking out any of the profit to the authors. It must be hard enough that so many e-books are pirated, but this would be the equivalent of legal piracy.

  2. E-books’ prices are still a mistery to me…and don’t even get me started on the ones that are not available for purchase outside USA/UK… On february 4th Deborah Cooke released “Kiss of danger”, the first of 3 novellas connected to her Dragonfire series- the other ones should come out in March and April. They are supposed to be republished all together on paper but I don’t know when.

    • I saw something about the Dragonfire novellas – I do like it when an author does their novellas in print, too. I don’t even mind the extra wait, just to have them all.

      On Fri, Feb 8, 2013 at 6:42 AM, Wicked Scribes

Leave a Reply

