Guest Review – Soulbound

Reviews are tricky, and I suck at them. So, that makes me extra grateful when someone else lets me post theirs. Kim Shelt very kindly sent over her review for the brand new Tessa Adams book Soulbound, which is the first book of her Lone Star Witch series. This one only came out last week, so I haven’t seen much around about it. Kim, however, ended up being a fan.

soulboundWhat Kim said…

Xandra Morgan just wants to be a normal woman with a normal life. Unfortunately, things don’t always go the way you want them to. Xandra is the seventh daughter of the Ipswitch royal witch family and since the day she was born she was expected to have great power. To her mothers dismay Xandra is without magic and tries constantly to “fix” her latent powers. When Xandra heads home for a family gathering she feels a pull that leads her to discover a woman’s dead body that she dreamed of the night before. Leaving her very confused as to what is going on. As the bodies start piling up, in comes Declan Chumomisto, a 200 year old warlock that she met one night when she was nineteen. Xandra and Declan are bound in a deep way and even though Declan is much older than her, I like that they are trying to figure out their romance despite their connection.

This book is a supernatural, suspenseful, mystery and it kept me engrossed from page one. It was a little confusing in the beginning being in Xandra’s head but after that it was smooth sailing to the end. I give it 4.5 stars only because there are a few things I would have liked explained a little bit more and I do hope they get touched on in the next book. Besides that though, the uniqueness of the story and the characters kept me captivated until the very end.

Keep in mind that this book does have some dark content to it including sexual violence and torture of a serial killer for those of you who do not like that, but in my opinion; it is not as bad as some other books I have read. I very much enjoyed the first book in the Lone Star Witch series and will be beating down my mailman… (Uh… Kindle downloads) in December for Vengeance Bound, the second book in the series.

I was wondering how Soulbound was, since I was a fan of the Dragon’s Heat series (I wonder if there are anymore Dragon books. I sent an email, but never got an answer back). Sounds like this one paid off – and looks like another to add to the Mountain. Thanks again to Kim, much appreciated.

4 thoughts on “Guest Review – Soulbound

    • Thanks! I checked it out a while back, but I think I got sidetracked. I am glad that the Dragon’s Heat series will get another book, too.

Leave a Reply

