Spotlight on…Patricia Briggs

frost burnedPatricia Briggs is down to pretty much a one-new-book-a-year schedule (but it is pretty much guaranteed to be one hell of a book, so I can’t complain). I figured since it is almost time for Frost Burned to be released, I would check out what she has in store for us next. This is from her website…

We’ve had a lot of questions lately about what books Patty’s working on, and where she’s going with things. Of course, the problem is always that our long-term plans always seem to be on a collision-course with reality. So, with the understanding that nothing is set in stone, here’s where we’re at.

Frost Burned will be released in a few weeks, and early reviews are already trickling out. Patty’s decided to do a book of short stories next. I don’t think she’s chosen a title yet, but the plan is to publish several of the “Mercy’s World” stories from previous anthologies along with a number of new stories in a single volume. She’s finished a story featuring our favorite British werewolf, Ben, and a story featuring Samuel. She’s working on another couple of stories, and hopes to have the initial work on this book done by the end of this month.

March, of course, is largely filled with travel and signings. When she catches her breath, she’s start work on another Mercy Thompson novel. In a perfect world, she’d finish that by Christmas. If I were a bookie, I’d lay odds against that, but Patty seems pretty confident!

The next book is a head-scratcher. Her contract is for another book in Mercy’s world, but not a Mercy book. She could write another Alpha and Omega, or she might decide to explore some other corner of the world. She hasn’t decided, yet, just what she’s going to do. It’s a mystery project!

After that, well who knows? She still has one more Mercy Book under contract, and I know she wants to write another Alpha and Omega. My crystal ball isn’t good enough to look that far in the future!

I don’t like the ONE MORE MERCY BOOK part, but that is what new contracts are for. I do like a collection of short stories, especially about Ben and Samuel. As much as I would love to get my hot little hands on another Alpha and Omega book, I would kill to get a full Samuel book (those weeks before he ended up mated are a big, big mystery). What would your ideal release be from Patricia?

13 thoughts on “Spotlight on…Patricia Briggs

  1. As much as I love Mercy, I have to say that I really enjoyed the last Alpha and Omega book and would really like to read more Charles and Anna.

    • The way she was working things, I was pretty sure it was time for another Alpha and Omega book. If I remember correctly.

  2. I would love to see a book where everybody (Mercy and Adam, Charles, Bran, etc) are all in the same place! We kind of get bits and pieces now and then, but it would be great to have a full joint book.

    Also, although I probably wouldn’t want a full book for him only, I would like to see some resolution concerning Stefan. In previous books they show that he has feelings of some sort for Mercy. Now she’s taken, so what’s going to happen to him? So maybe a short story about him would be nice. I know that Frost Burned is going to have some Vampire stuff in it, so perhaps it will be addressed there.

    Also, what happened to the daughter of the reporter? Her father brought her to Bran, I believe because Mercy had been assulted by the psycho with the drinking cup. It seems like her story would be very interesting. I can’t remember how old she was in the previous book.

    • I did like the little overlaps between the two series, too – it was like a reunion, somehow. Hopefully maybe Stephan can have one of the short stories in the anthology book. I would enjoy that, too.
      I am not sure if we ever found out about the reporter’s daughter. My memory is fuzzy on that one, for some reason.

  3. I just reread a Patricia Briggs short story called Star of David about David Christiansen. I wonder if she’ll write more about him.

  4. No problem. I actually only found it recently because I can hardly wait for the new Patricia Briggs book and went to her website like a sad addict and noted the short story set in the Mercy Thompson world on her book list.

Leave a Reply

