Guest Review – Vampires Gone Wild

You know, I really do owe Doug Meeks quite the thanks. Not to sound whiny, but on the weekends I work long shifts and sometimes I can’t quite find something good to post. Doug has been kind enough to send over great reviews, and it can be quite the blogging lifesaver when 99% of the work is already done for you. Looks like tonight is one of those nights, since this is his review for the e-book anthology Vampires Gone Wild, featuring Kerrelyn Sparks, Pamela Palmer, Amanda Arista and Kim Falconer. The e-book version was released on February 12th, and the print version will follow on March 26th.

vampires gone wildWhat Doug said…

Summary:

Vampires Gone Wild brings together four paranormal romance novellas by Kerrelyn Sparks, Pamela Palmer, Amanda Arista, and Kim Falconer, authors and bloggers at Supernatural Underground.

Kerrelyn Sparks’s demure Pamela and sexy vampire sidekick battle the Malcontents in “V is for Vampwoman.” Kim Falconer’s aqueous San Francisco vampires in “Blood and Water” want nothing from “landers” — unless it’s dinner, but that’s until Stellan meets Angelina. Pamela Palmer carries readers to Vamp City in “A Forever Love” where trapped Lukas pines for his lost love. When she appears, Lukas will fight to keep her alive. It’s been a hundred years since Valiance has dated; all is great until they’re attacked, but quiet Esme will shock Valiance in Amanda Arista’s “First Dates Are from Hell.”

Vampires Gone Wild is a good collection of stories that have to be addressed separately:

“V is for VampWoman” is a typical silly but entertaining story in the Kerrelyn Sparks style of her Love At Stake series, fluffy, light, funny, and entertaining. Pamela has been somewhat of a coward all of her long life and Mikhail has never run from anything in his life. They make the perfect mismatched couple, great story. 4/5 Stars

“A Forever Love” has the potential to be one of the best stories in the book, from a romantic sense anyway BUT the author decided to leave us with a unresolved love story and when I wrote her to ask if it would be completed in the next Vamp City book she basically said she did not know if it would ever be revisited???? WTF? So if you like a great love stories that has no real ending other than what you can dream up on your own, this is your book. In my opinion I was frustrated with the lack of a resolution so 2/5 maybe a bit more since it was a good story.

“First Dates Are Hell” is possibly the most entertaining story in the book since it had a lot more humor and some very interesting characters and read like a complete story. Valiance is a loner by choice, he has gotten used to being alone but for some reason Esme has some pull on him that he can’t let go. Great story and was so good I am going to have to find out more about this author and it turns out I have the first 2 books of the Urban Panther series which this story takes place in my unending TBR stack. 4.5/5

“Blood and Water” – This was a great story but it takes place in San Francisco of the early 1900s, which is not my favorite but has little effect on the quality of this story. Stellan meets Angelina quite by accident and it is one of those ‘love at first sight” stories with a lot of twists, not the least of which is that the Mer people in this story are also vampires when on land. I liked the new twist and the story was very well done, the ending was a typical never ending romance ending which was short but satisfying. 4/5 and I might have to see about this series.

Bottom Line: This is a good buy for an anthology, many of which are waste of money, the stories are captivating for the most part and if you desire to read more you can check out the authors other works and the best thing was I did not feel like I had missed a ton of background like many short stories/novellas leave me. 4/5 overall for this collection and would have been higher if “A Forever Love” had a better ending.

I didn’t realize until just now that this one was being released in print. I thought it was e-format exclusive, so that is great. Anthologies can be so hit or miss, but this does sound like a good one.

12 thoughts on “Guest Review – Vampires Gone Wild

  1. I just finished book #2 of the Urban Panther series and I really love it, in book 2 she really could have used a better editor but the story was still outstanding. Gonna start book #3 tomorrow.

  2. Nice review Doug!! I’ve only read the Sparks novella so far, but look forward to reading the others. I love Sparks. She is a welcome departure from the darker things I read!!

  3. This review is wonderful! Not only did it help me to remember that this book came out, but it also made me aware of Amanda Arista, who is someone I’d never heard of before. I’m currently happily reading her first Urban Panther book now and really enjoying it. Thanks so much!

    • I am reading book #3 and just wanted to tell you they are great but she really needed a better editor in Book #2 but that did not stop the book from being really good reading.

      • I’m up to book #3 now and I actually found that even with all the editing issues in book #2, I found it to be a better book than book #1. Generally I find that she’s a great author with lots of good ideas. Unfortunately book #1 felt like it was full of everything she could think of sometimes. Luckily it had an awesome beginning and and a pretty great ending, which always helps. The middle portion could have been tightened and I think it would have made for a better story. In book #2, I felt she addressed that. So far I’m loving book #3.

  4. DUH, almost forgot, the author wrote me about this series, we will see more like the story in Vampires Gone Wild but the official “Urban Panther” series is over.

    “Dear Douglas,
    Thank you for the compliments. Makes a girl glow with happiness.
    As for right now, the Urban Panther series will remain a trilogy. But I love that universe and am working hard at expanding the Those Who Wander line. Valiance and Esme were just the beginning and I think we both know that Violet can’t mind her own business to save her hide, so we will probably see her again in come incarnation.

    Thank you again for your kind words and if you need anything in the future, let me know!

    -Amanda Arista”

  5. Doug, thanks again for introducing the series. Kaleigha, thanks for providing this space. It can be difficult to find quality books. I finished Book #3 and was really happy about how everything got resolved in this series. I’d say overall the author did an awesome job. Interestingly enough I felt that the books got better and better as the series continued from Book 1 to Book 3. I hope she is able to move forward with her plans of expanding the series.

Leave a Reply

