A Dark Series Trilogy…

newsThings have seemingly been up in the air as far as information about Christine Feehan‘s books goes. There was some deal about being between contracts, and no new schedule arranged, things like that. But many thanks to Lea-Ellen who sent me over the news that there is a Dark series trilogy in the works.

Apparently, Dark Lycan will release in the usual Carpathian time-slot of September, and it will be followed by Dark Wolf in January, and it will be followed by Dark Hunter later in 2014. And for those who have been anxiously waiting, it seems Dark Wolf will feature Skylar and Dimitri’s story.

Hm. As much as I always love to find out release news, this one leaves me torn. A trilogy would be great (especially if it means that the series is wrapping up, which is what I am hoping for), but it also means that at a three book a year schedule, another Ghostwalkers book would be a long, long ways away. The last Ghostwalkers book was Samurai Game, which was released on July 3rd, 2012. With a Dark series trilogy finishing off 2013 and taking the first two slots of 2014, you are probably looking at 2015 before a new, non-Carpathian book is released. That…sucks. I know, I sound ungrateful. But the one Ghostwalkers a year was ok, one every year and a half was not so great, but waiting three years for a new one is a bit of a pain.

How do you like this news? Are you behind a new trilogy, or are you more of a Ghostwalkers/Leopard/Sea Haven series fan and disappointed at what will probably be a long wait for a new book?

21 thoughts on “A Dark Series Trilogy…

      • Kaleigha, reportedly Christine has no contract for GW, and maybe even Leopard or SOTH. So that may be why she is doing three books, until she can get a new contract

        • I had heard something like that…it seems so strange to me. I never figure the “big” authors would have trouble with those things, but I guess you just never know.

  1. The Ghostwalker Series is one of my very favorites. I was so hoping to see the next installment sooner that 2015. Ugh!

  2. This news really excited me when we found it. I was actually on Facebook when when it was posted and I was like O.M.G.!!! Now, don’t get me wrong. I love love the Ghostwalker Series, BUT, Feehan has got to move the Dark Series forward. There was such a huge fallout before and after Dark Predator. THEN, came Dark Storm. New characters when there is so much to tie up in the series? Really?? Those danged lifemates have been pregnant FOREVER!!!!! LOL!! I know that not much time has passed in the series’ timeline, but in our time, it has been several years. She started talking about an arc in the series a few months ago, and then she made the announcement last night. I think she finally figured out that her fans have felt strung along with that realization, she has bucked up and is progressing the series forward.

    I know that you, Kaleigha, want the series to be over, but I hope like hell you’re wrong!! Haha!!!! I’m just glad that it looks like maaaaaaybe, we’ll actually get back to the Carpathian mountains, have some babies, find out who the mole is that the vampires have in place and get to the impending battle of good versus evil!

    • My relationship with the Dark series is tricky. It was my very first series, and I have a lot of love for it. I think I would be happy again if it went back to like it used to be. Dark Predator was such a dud that my enjoyment took a hit. If she can get back into what the series used to be, and still give me my Ghostwalkers more than once every couple of years, I would be happy again.

  3. I hope I don’t get stoned by one and all, however, I am sick and tired of Feehan’s melodrama. Does anyone but me wonder why she has such trouble getting a publisher and to be constantly “in between contracts.” It seems to be that she has issues that she needs to deal with. I am a very tried fan. I think we need more writing and less drama. Perhaps if her fans take a pass on her, we might become a little more valuable to her. I have a feeling writing is no longer a priority for her. Why don’t we let her many many children and pets take care of her and buy her books. Sorry If I am a little harsh.

    • I have really wondered myself about the contract thing, since this is not the first time. I remember last year it was the same thing, and it didn’t make any sense to me at all. I know absolutely nothing about the publishing world, but it just struck me as strange that a top level author would be left hanging like that.

      • I’m not an expert on publishing, either. But here’s what I “learnt” about about contracts from authors’ Facebook posts and interviews:

        Authors usually get a contract for 3 books. If the books sell well, they get contracted for 3 more books and so on.

        For example, Lara Adrian said that the Midnight Breed series originally was planned as a stand-alone novel, but her editor/publisher liked Kiss of Midnight so much they asked her to write a tilogy. Then, while writing Midnight Awakening, she got a contract for 3 more books. And that’s how the Midnight Breed came to be.

        Though Feehan is pretty well-known in the PNR genre, maybe her sales aren’t so good as they used to be and that’s why she has trouble getting contracts. Of course, it’s just a guess.

        • Hey Bettina…it makes sense. Although I will always have a soft spot for Christine Feehan since she was my first PNR author, you don’t hear of her along with the big, popular names so much anymore. She has her die hard (sometimes rabid) fans, but maybe like you say the sales (and reviews) aren’t what they used to be? You figure that they wouldn’t have any contract issues at all, but who knows what goes on behind the scenes. Thanks for the info, too.

  4. As one of those “rabid” fans of Christine Feehan, I too hate the long wait for the next installment of the Ghostwalkers and Leopard Series. However, I give Christine much credit and respect for meeting her 3 book release schedule last year under an extreme hardship due to her health. In my opinion, Christine suffers from the dreaded “double edged sword” … “damned if you do and damned if you don’t”. Skylar and Dimitri’s story has been the most highly anticipated book in PNR history, IMHO. Many of her fans, are ecstatic with the news. Finally! Of course, since Christine is just a mere mortal and suffers from human frailties like we all do at one time or another, she has to delay a book from one of her other series. I understand that and try to patiently await the next release. I am so grateful and feel so fortunate that 3 books are still forthcoming. Most of my other fravorite series authors only release 1 a year so I am happy … and btw … I look forward to many more Dark books to come!

    • I was surprised by the news of three, especially since I think they will still be hardcover? Did you get a look yet at the covers for the first two…there were pictures of them posted on Facebook, but I couldn’t find a good shot of them anywhere.

  5. No, I haven’t found a good cover photo either. On Christine’s FB, I can see the Dark Wolf cover fairly clearly. However, the cover photo for Dark Lycan seems to be reflecting the light or other items from the room and just looks weird. Hopefully, they will be available soon.

    • I hope so. I really want to see it in better quality. But from what I can see, Dark Lycan looks great. Of course, after the hot mess that was supposed to be the cover for Dark Storm, ANYTHING would be an improvement. WTF was the art department smoking when they came up with that???

      • I did get the vibe they were going to look good, and like you say Dark Storm set the bar pretty low. That was one ugly cover, I do have to say. Ugh.

  6. Yesterday I read somewhere here that it was thought that after the new Dark series Trilogy that the series was thought to be coming to an end. WRONG! Here is what I got from Facebook from Christine herself since it was asked.

    “I am NOT stopping the dark series. The Skyler and Dimitri book was over a decade in the making and it became such a big story that it will take three books to fully tell the entire story. I was so lucky that my publishing house agreed to publish them six months apart instead of a year apart, so YEAH! Working on the first one now! The covers are so beautiful and perfect. I love them and love the story!”

    • Huh, that is what I get for listening to rumors. I did agree it would be a good time to start winding things down, but then again maybe the trilogy can breathe some new life into the series. I do hope to get some of the existing characters wrapped up rather than a crop of new ones, like the aunts and a few more of the ancients.

  7. Christine just released the characters name for the new Dark Series upcoming trilogy:

    Latest News: My next release is a Leopard Series release (paperback) titled Leopard’s Prey coming out May 28, 2013.

    I also have a new Dark Series trilogy in the works and part one will be released in September of this year. The first book, Dark Lycan, has Fenris and Tatijana. Fenris is Dimitri’s brother. I was so excited when he started talking to me because I knew his brother wouldn’t be far behind! The second book, Dark Wolf is Skyler and Dimitri’s story.. a story that is a decade in the making… and will finally be published in January of 2014!! The third book in the new trilogy is a Lycan hunter by the name of Zev who is lifemate to Bronnie, Tatijana’s sister. I don’t have a release date yet for that book, but will post it as soon as I do. It should be coming out sometime in 2014.

    The next Sister of the Heart book, Air Bound, will be coming out sometime between Dark Wolf and Dark Hunter. I’m hoping to get the cover for both Air Bound & Dark Hunter posted soon.

    • That is some great info…thanks! I was looking around a little today for the covers of the trilogy books, and I have to say I am very glad to get some info about non-Dark books, too. Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

