New Series Alerts…

This is a huge new series week. Almost too many, actually (I do wish that these things could get spread out a bit more over the month, since there are weeks now where there is pretty much nothing going on). It looks like for this post, we have seven, count’em seven, to highlight.

This first one is a historical paranormal romance (which I am seeing more of lately) from author Brooklyn AnnBite Me, Your Grace is the first book of the Bite series.

bite me your graceSynopsis…

England’s “vampire craze” causes much vexation for the Lord Vampire of London, Ian Ashton. To save his reputation, Ian enlists aspiring authoress Angelica Winthrop without realizing she has hidden plans of her own.

Angelica Winthrop’s life goal is to ruin her reputation, avoid marriage, and become a gothic authoress like her idol, Mary Shelley. To find inspiration for her new story, she breaks into the home of Ian Ashton, Duke of Burnrath, not knowing she will be coming up against the Lord Vampire of London. Romance sparks and reputations are at stake. But who knows the real difference between fact and fiction?

–Bite reading list HERE.

Ashlyn Chase‘s first Flirting With Fangs book comes out this week, and it is called Flirting Under a Full Moon. It sounds like a fun one.

flirting under a full moonSynopsis…

If Brandee Hanson ever wants to go from waitress to photographer, she’ll have to take some once-in-a-lifetime shots. But when she catches the gorgeous private investigator Nick Wolfensen on camera—transforming into a werewolf—she is thrown into a world of vampires, shapeshifters, and other paranormal misfits.

In order to keep his secret and stay clear of the supernatural council, Nick will have to convince Brandee not to release the photo. Fortunately, he was looking for an excuse to spend more time with the beautiful waitress anyway.

–Flirting With Fangs reading list HERE.

This next one is tricky. I am a huge fan of Thea Harrison‘s Elder Races series, but for some reason I find myself wary of Rising Darkness. Not sure why I am, but it is the first of at least two books in her Game of Shadows series.

rising darknessSynopsis…

In the hospital ER where she works, Mary is used to chaos. But lately, every aspect of her life seems adrift. She’s feeling disconnected from herself. Voices appear in her head. And the vivid, disturbing dreams she’s had all her life are becoming more intense. Then she meets Michael. He’s handsome, enigmatic, and knows more than he can say. In his company, she slowly remembers the truth about herself…

Thousands of years ago, there were eight of them. The one called the Deceiver came to destroy the world, and the seven came to stop him. Reincarnated over and over, they carry on—and Mary finds herself drawn into the battle once again. And the more she learns, the more she realizes that Michael will go to any lengths to destroy the Deceiver.

Then she remembers who killed her during her last life, 900 years ago…Michael.

–Game of Shadows reading list HERE.

I only stumbled across this one quite recently, but it gave me an adult Throne of Glass vibe. Amy Raby‘s Assassin’s Gambit is the first book of her Hearts and Thrones series.

assassin's gambitSynopsis…

Vitala Salonius, champion of the warlike game of Caturanga, is as deadly as she is beautiful. She’s a trained assassin for the resistance, and her true play is for ultimate power. Using her charm and wit, she plans to seduce her way into the emperor’s bed and deal him one final, fatal blow, sparking a battle of succession that could change the face of the empire.

As the ruler of a country on the brink of war and the son of a deposed emperor, Lucien must constantly be wary of an attempt on his life. But he’s drawn to the stunning Caturanga player visiting the palace. Vitala may be able to distract him from his woes for a while—and fulfill other needs, as well.

Lucien’s quick mind and considerable skills awaken unexpected desires in Vitala, weakening her resolve to finish her mission. An assassin cannot fall for her prey, but Vitala’s gut is telling her to protect this sexy, sensitive man. Now she must decide where her heart and loyalties lie and navigate the dangerous war of politics before her gambit causes her to lose both Lucien and her heart for good.

–Hearts and Thrones reading list HERE.

Another tricky one for me personally is the new one from Shana Abe. I have read her Drakon books, and I would love one, be bored with the next, really like the next one and then loathe the characters in the next one. Makes it very hit or miss, and this series is a young adult spin-off from that world. This is Lora Jones’ story, and it is called The Sweetest Dark.

the sweetest darkSynopsis…

Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

–Lora Jones reading list HERE.

This one recently underwent a name change. Originally, Victoria Scott‘s new series was to be called Dante Valentine, but now it seems the character’s name has changed to Dante Walker, which works much better, I think. Book one is called The Collector.

the collectorSynopsis…

He makes good girls…bad.

Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence has made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple, weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.

Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:

Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within 10 days.

Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky, Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect—he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector, and uncover emotions deeply buried.

–Dante Walker reading list HERE.

And this last one is also one that I only found out about a couple of weeks ago. Cecily White‘s Prophecy Girl is the first book of the Angel Academy series, and it has been generating some major buzz around.

prophecy girlSynopsis…

Amelie Bennett. . . . Ending the world, one prophecy at a time.

I was born to slay Crossworld demons. Big black flappy ones, little green squirmy ones. Unfortunately, the only thing getting slain these days is my social life. With my high school under attack, combat classes intensifying, and Academy instructors dropping right and left, I can barely get my homework done, let alone score a bondmate before prom.

Then he shows up.

Jackson Smith-Hailey. Unspeakably hot, hopelessly unattainable, and dangerous in all the right ways. Sure, he’s my trainer. And okay, maybe he hates me. Doesn’t mean I’ll ignore the wicked Guardian chemistry between us. It’s crazy! Every time I’m with him, my powers explode. Awesome, right?

Wrong.

Now my teachers think I’m the murderous Graymason destined to bring down our whole race of angelbloods. Everyone in New Orleans is hunting me. The people I trusted want me dead. Jack and I have five days to solve the murders, prevent a vampire uprising, and thwart the pesky prophecy foretelling his death by my hand. Shouldn’t be too difficult.

Getting it done without falling in love. . . that might take a miracle.

–Angel Academy reading list HERE.

And just as a heads-up, there are a couple of e-novellas being released this week as well. Delilah S. Dawson‘s The Peculiar Pets of Miss Pleasance (Blud #1.6), Meljean Brook‘s Tethered (Iron Seas #2.5), Laura Wright‘s Eternal Beauty (Mark of the Vampire #4.5), and C.C. Hunter‘s Saved at Sunrise (Shadow Falls #4.5) are all available for digital download this week.

19 thoughts on “New Series Alerts…

    • I am a bit wary of any new young adult series right now – I hit a string of them that sounded really good but fell flat for me, so I am holding off to see which ones are really well reviewed before I start any new ones. Good luck!

      On Tue, Apr 2, 2013 at 8:11 AM, Wicked Scribes

    • Hm, that is too bad. I am checking out historicals with a paranormal sub-plot for a friend of mine. This sounds like something she would be interested in.

      On Tue, Apr 2, 2013 at 8:26 PM, Wicked Scribes

  1. I’d like to know what people are thinking about this new Thea Harrison book. I’m on the fence about starting it.

    • I ordered it, but it isn’t something I am really anxious to get my hands on. Don’t know why, though.

      On Tue, Apr 2, 2013 at 9:56 PM, Wicked Scribes

  2. I picked up the Amy Raby book. It has lots of military and political intrigue. So much so that the story line is kinda bogged down. I’m trying to muscle through it. Not a glowing recommendation.

    • I felt the same way about the first Kate Daniels book. There is so much setting up of the different branches of the government and guilds and stuff that I found it hard to get through.

      On Wed, Apr 3, 2013 at 9:13 PM, Wicked Scribes

      • I don’t know how many people I have had to convince to read Kate Daniels books 1-2-3 before trying to make a decision if you like it. If you are not hooked 100% by the end of book #3 move along but I don’t think I know anyone who got that far that is not addicted now.

      • I was hooked by the end of book one – once I stopped trying to keep track of this guild and that mercenary group and just went with the story. I let myself get bogged down in the world building at first, but once I let that go and just went with the story, I was set.

        On Thu, Apr 4, 2013 at 2:58 PM, Wicked Scribes

      • I think if I hadn’t been able to dive immediately into book two it might have been more of a struggle. I read the first four or five in a row, and really got immersed in the world.

      • Ilona Andrews are superstars for sure. For some extra geekiness, I live in Atlanta and love reading about all the local areas they incorporate into their writing and how they were destroyed and reimagined with magic.

      • I think that would be very cool, and way more personal. After my trip to New York a couple of years ago, I do find myself trying to remember the places that I am reading about. I never do, but I keep trying.

Leave a Reply

