Reading Roundup…

Once again, time has slipped away from me, and it has been over two months since I have done a reading roundup post. I guess I will do a random selection of what best sticks out in my mind about what I have read.

Everneath_coverEverneathBrodi Ashton‘s debut book had sat on the TBR pile for quite a while. I was suckered in by the pretty cover, but didn’t expect much from the book after I had been through a string of sub-par YA debut novels. Turns out I was pleasantly surprised by this one. I liked that it was a little different than the usual vamps/weres/dystopian YA fare, since it is somewhat of a retelling of the Greek myth about Hades and Persephone. It was something I hadn’t come across before, so for me it seemed like a fresh idea (but in fact there were a few other retellings done last year by other authors). This didn’t move to the top of my favorites pile or anything, but I definitely liked it enough to order the second book.

predatoryPredatory – This anthology featured stories from Alexandra Ivy, Nina Bangs, Dianne Duvall and Hannah Jayne, but I only read the Alexandra Ivy novella. This short story, called Out of Control, serves as the introduction to her new The Sentinels series. Stepping away from her Guardians of Eternity stories, The Sentinels are warriors who guard – and sometimes hunt – those beings of great power. This was fast paced and interesting, and made me look even more forward to the upcoming first book, Born in Blood, which will be released on December 31st. I do actually plan on going back to read the other novellas in this anthology, since all of them sounded interesting. Speaking of Born in Blood, I will be doing a spotlight post on that upcoming book as my next post, since both the cover and blurb have recently been made public.

edge of dawnEdge of Dawn – I have bored everyone before with my unique relationship with Lara Adrian‘s books. I pretty much always enjoy them when I am reading them, but for some reason they don’t stick with me (with the exception of Darker After Midnight, which definitely stayed with me). I was pretty hyped to get into Edge of Dawn and see the “new” Midnight Breed world…but I just couldn’t get into it. Maybe it was me, but I kept putting the book down and reading something else shiny that caught my eye. I know it was Lara Adrian’s usual well written and well thought out story, but my attention just kept drifting away. I think all told it took me over two weeks to finish, which doesn’t happen often. The good thing is that some of the new characters did get my notice, and I am still looking forward to their stories.

the sweetest darkThe Sweetest Dark – Talk about a surprise. I actually fought with myself to buy this one. My experience with Shana Abe is at the extreme end of the hit-or-miss spectrum. I go from loving one book, to being bored by the next, to disliking the next and enjoying the next. I figured that since my history was so spotty with her Drakon series, I would maybe just cut my losses and not bother with her YA spin-off series featuring new character Lora Jones. But…but…then my series would not be complete?!? That cannot be allowed – ever. Grudgingly, I ordered The Sweetest Dark…and I was hooked. Completely original, great story, great setting, beautifully written with characters I really enjoyed – and an ending that totally surprised me. I mean, I just didn’t see that coming, at all. This is in my top three favorite YA book so far this year, and I cannot wait to get my grubby hands on The Deepest Night when it is released on August 13th.

I am going to do up a reading round-up post next week to cover a few more of what I read this past couple of months. How about you? What did you read and love recently (or not love so much, for that matter)? Anything stand out for you?

4 thoughts on “Reading Roundup…

  1. Based on your positive review of Shana Abe’s YA book, I picked it up (even though I said I wouldn’t). I really enjoyed it. I’d like her to get back to her adult books.
    And based on you and Doug’s review, I picked up the Anne Bishop book (hardcover hit$) when I told myself I would wait it out for the paperback. Totally worth it. Again, I really enjoyed it. Those were my surprise hits of the year so far. Thanks to you and Doug for reviews. I’m still digging JC Daniels (Shiloh Walker) writing.

    • I am glad you enjoyed the Abe book – one of my top two favorites (and completely unexpected, too). I just hope my history with Abe doesn’t rear it’s ugly head again and mean I won’t like the second one. I am definitely going to need a re-read on Written in Red, too. I think I missed a lot the first time, and with that complex world I don’t think you can afford to.

  2. And I meant to say Shelly Laurenstons Wolf With Benefits was my fave this year. She can do no wrong. Much awesomeness!

    • I was hoping for another Dragon Kin book this year, but here’s hoping for early next year, anyways. She has her own little niche for me that I love to dive into in between the heavy stuff.

Leave a Reply

