Cover Lover – 13 New Titles

While doing my recent updating of the New Release pages, I came across a few covers I hadn’t gotten my hands on before. They might have been floating around for a while and I just missed them, but they are new to me, anyways. We start this batch with Lisa Shearin‘s The Grendel Affair. It is the first book of her SPI Files series, which will be released on December 31st.

the grendel affairLolita Lopez has a new s-book series starting soon called Dragon Heat. The second book will be called Red Hot Dragon, and it has been pushed back a few months and now has a release date of February 4th.

red hot dragon

I gave up the Feral Warriors series by Pamela Palmer a while back, but it looks like things keep rolling on. Wulfe Untamed will be released January 28th.

wulfe untamedYasmine Galenorn will re-release her Otherworld novella The Shadow of Mist on September 3rd. It was originally published in the Never After anthology.

th shadow of mistJaime Rush‘s third book from her new The Hidden series, Angel Seduced, will be released on February 25th.

angel seducedShawntelle Madison continues her Coveted series with the release of Compelled early next year.

compelledThis next batch is all YA. Rachel Caine looks to the classics for Prince of Shadows, which focuses on the character of Benvolio from Romeo and Juliet. It will be released on February 4th.

prince of shadowsFor some reason, I was surprised to see that Kelley Armstrong is starting up a new YA series. Sea of Shadows is the first book of the Age of Legends series, and it will be available on April 8th.

sea of shadowsStill on the YA track, Promise Bound from Anne Greenwood Brown will be released on January 7th.

promise boundBook two in Shannon Messenger‘s Sky Fall series, Let the Storms Break, will be released on March 4th.

let the storms breakSophie Jordan is also firing up a new series in the near future. Uninvited is the first book of the series of the same name, and it is due out on February 25th.

uninvitedAlmost done. I do know this one has been making the rounds for a while, but this is the first version of Sherrilyn Kenyon‘s Illusion that I found without a watermark. The Chronicles of Nick book will be released on April 1st.

illusionAnd this one is less of a debut and more of a redo. The original cover for Sherry Thomas‘s Burning Sky came out a while back, and was a real beauty. For some reason, however, there was a new version done which is just as great. The first book of a trilogy, Burning Sky will be released on September 17th.

the burning skyWhat do you think of this batch? Anything that stands out for you? I know The Burning Sky cover (both of them, actually) really grabbed me, and I spent a good while trying to figure out what sort of dance move Nick is trying to pull off on the Illusion cover. No way that looks comfortable. I am not a big fan of the Grendel Affair cover for some reason, and the embossing on the Compelled cover just doesn’t work for me, but other than that I have to say this is a decent pile of covers.

8 thoughts on “Cover Lover – 13 New Titles

  1. Your blog is killer on my wallet. I swear, evertime I get a little message in my reader about a new post, I have to hold myself back from running to the bookstore.

    • God, ain’t it the truth. I have been good lately and cut back a lot of the impulse buying, but there are still just so many to buy…

  2. I know this has been mentioned before, but why are the majority of the young adult covers soo much more appealing and attractive than the adult covers? I don’t understand. And it’s a consistent thing!

    • I have wondered that myself sometimes. A great, well established author (coughKresleyColecough) gets a meh cover, and a debut young adult author gets a beautiful, eye catching one. Doesn’t make sense sometimes at all.

  3. If only we were running the book publishing industry. There’d be some changes a happenin.
    Publishing dates- no releases on major holidays or during a period when they’d get buried
    Book covers – too much to write.

    • My nit-pick would be firm release dates, too – no shifting titles around all the time and pushing back for months, along with having all cover art held to a certain standard.

Leave a Reply

