Reader Reaction – Up From the Grave

up from the graveOk, it has been a couple of weeks since the Night Huntress series from Jeaniene Frost wrapped up with the release of Up From the Grave. I personally just finished it last night, since I have a hard time making myself read the last book in a series (like I always say, if I haven’t read the last book, the series isn’t over). While it is always sad to see one wrap up, it is good to go out when the time is right rather than drag things on and produce filler books that cheapen the series as a whole. My question is…

What did you think of the end of Cat and Bones? Were you satisfied with their send off, or did developments leave you thinking there was still more story to tell?

Personally, I enjoyed the book, but it didn’t have a “THE END” feel to me. I was happy with the story, liked the action and seeing almost all of the old gang again, and thought the pacing was great. Maybe I was so amused by Ian that he stole the show for me (as he usually does), or maybe because I was waiting for big deaths or big losses, but it didn’t feel like a goodbye. It did, however, make me more excited than ever for an Ian book. There must be one. There simply must.

I have kept things spoiler free in the post, but feel free to leave spoilers in the comments. What is your take on the end of Night Huntress?

18 thoughts on “Reader Reaction – Up From the Grave

  1. This is a wonderful series I really enjoyed it. Yes Ian took center stage and I feel it could branch off into something else thanks to the surprise given us. She has kept us on a surprise journey and I loved every minute of it and will miss them very much. The book went as follows what!!, you’ve got to kidding, sob sob, omg. really I don’t believe it and finally thank god. There no surprises just pure emotion and love for Jeaniene Frost.

    • I will miss them, too. I hesitated to start the series for a long time in my “anti-urban fantasy” days, but it was one of the series that got me liking the whole genre.

  2. I really don’t know how it could have possibly been better. It was an awesome send off, and you’re right, it does leave an opening for a future Cat and Bones story. I think it would be a few years in the making, with some Night Huntress World books in the meantime, but it’s possible as long as they’re still alive, or undead, or whateve . lol. I’m alsovvery anxious for an Ian book, or even a trilogy like Vlad’s. What really surprised me though is how interested I am in stories for secondary characters in addition to him though. This book kind of brought everyone back and reminded me of why I liked them in the first place.

    • Oooh, an Ian trilogy? Nice thought. I was hoping for just one, but I like your idea better. I did like seeing the old gang back together again, but I did wish Vlad had a bit bigger role. That is just me being greedy, though.

      • Oh no, I was disappointed to not see much of Vlad either, but I sort of understand why even if I am greedy too (hence the idea of an Ian trilogy. lol). With Vlad’s trilogy not being finished yet, that could have become confusing if he played too big of a role in this book with working out time lines and such. So, I’m disappointed but trying to be understanding. :-)

  3. Another great installment, I loved it. The only thing that really bugged me was that Cat did not catch on with Bones’ plan. I suspected right from the start what he was doing and I felt Cat should have known, too, after knowing Bones for such a long time, especially as he has pulled this stunt once before (don’t remember in which book), but we were all aware that he had inherited this power from his maker, I think it was..
    Also, after all the hype of the story line coming to it’s natural finish I thought that it was kind of open ended with quite a big crack in the door for future stories, maybe a few years down the line.
    I’m looking very much forward to the third book in the “Night Prince” series and I agree: there simply MUST be a Ian book!

    • Heh…I actually didn’t catch on to Bones’ plan, either. But I did know he couldn’t be dead, or at least could be brought back if he was. Made me tense for a bit, I have to admit.

      • I didn’t know 100% that Bones was alive still either. Of course, I remembered the previous time that he shriveled up and we thought he was dead, and of course I hoped this was similar. But, you have to remember, the last time he was stabbed in the heart, but the knife wasn’t twisted. This time, it was a case of his heart being completely shredded by silver bullets. If I wasn’t sure, then it’s completely believable that Cat thought he was dead. And she didn’t see him when it happened before either, so she really had no way of knowing what it looked like when he did it and that this was a trick. Add in the fact that she’s so in love with Bones that she is distraught and not thinking clearly, and it’s totally believable.

  4. I’m very happy with the end of the serie. And you are right, ithere is opening for futur Cat & Bones books. Now i can’t wait for Vlad 3 and i will die if there is no Ian book . BTW, Jeaniene has revealed the cover for The Beautiful ashes on her blog.

    • Thanks for the shout out about the cover…the Vlad 3 is listed for December, so here’s hoping that is a go. And Ian? There. Must. Be. More.

      • Yes, she does talk about Ian :-) She says she’s doing at least one more book in the Night Huntress world but she won’t say if it’s Ian’s book. She’s not saying no, but she’s not saying yes either. Click on about the 1:30 mark of the video where she starts to talk about it and keep watching for a few minutes for more thoughts on his book :-)

  5. I liked it, it was about the same level for me as the previous Cat and Bones novels. I like this series but dont love it. But it was definitely fun to see all the characters again!

    • There are a few super-popular series I am in the like-not-love minority on…Midnight Breed is the first one that comes to mind. I try to like it more, but with the exception of Darker After Midnight it just never stood out for me that much.

  6. I was disappointed with this book. There was nothing original about it. Really, she went the route of a secret child. Seriously, this plot has been recycled to the point of no return in this genre. I guess I expected more for this couple. What was with Tate assuming he is the biological father? The only saving grace was Ian.

    • I had to read the Tate stuff a couple of times, too, but what I got was that Tate was the only one who had been there for the entire duration of the secret experimentation, so he sort of assumed it was his. I thought it was a bit of a stretch that he jumped into the role of daddy so fast, too. And Ian…me like.

Leave a Reply

