Cover Lover – 9 New Titles

Usually, when I do a cover lover post, I hope to find at least one that is a stand-out. I didn’t have much luck this time around. There isn’t anything that makes me gag, but then there isn’t much that would make me grab the book off of the shelf to read, either.

First up, we have the second book from the new Chris Marie Green Jensen Murphy, Ghost for Hire series. Another One Bites the Dust will be released on November 4th.

another one bites the dustShona Husk is up next with To Love a King, which is from her Annywn series. It is due out on October 22nd.

to love a kingGena Showalter is re-releasing Tempt Me Eternally in e-format on June 2nd. It is #4.5 of her Alien Huntress series, and it was originally released in the Deep Kiss of Winter duology with Kresley Cole.

tempt me eternallyThe Winter Long, from Seanan McGuire, will be released on September 2nd. It is from her October Daye series.

the winter longThe third book from Sharon Shinn‘s Shifting Circle series, The Turning Season, will be released on November 4th.

the turning seasonJuliette Marillier starts her new Blackthorn and Grim series with Dreamer’s Pool. It is due out on November 4th.

dreamer's poolMolly Cochran revisits her Legacy series with a novella called Wishes. The e-book will be released on April 29th.

wishesJulie Kagawa‘s new YA Talon series gets its start on October 28th with the release of the first book, also called Talon.

9780373211395.inddAnd finally, we have Marie Lu‘s new The Young Elites. It is the first book of the series of the same name, and it is due out on October 7th.

the young elitesWhat do you think? I think that both Talon and The Young Elites are pretty, but they gave me more of a novella cover vibe rather than the first books of much anticipated new series from two successful authors.

6 thoughts on “Cover Lover – 9 New Titles

  1. There is also a novella in the Annywn series that is due out in June called The Changeling Soldier. I should have a copy in the next couple of weeks.

  2. I like the cover for Dreamer’s Pool, even though the character gave me an Ophelia (from Hamlet) vibe. (Here’s to hoping she doesn’t die.)

    I totally agree, the last three covers – Wishes, Talon, and The Young Elites – are very simple. But it was only The Young Elites that I kinda, sorta disliked. The other two seem to fit. And depending on the publisher, the cover for Talon could have a pretty cool dragon-scale texture. :)

    • I do hope that the Talon cover pops when you see it in person. At first glance, I got a Spiderman vibe from it.

  3. Actually I liked several of the covers. First the Gena Showalter one, because of the color and because you can’t see the head, because nothing ticks me off more than when the hero looks different than he is described in the book (or than I imagined him).
    I also liked Dreamer’s Pool, but I got more of an Pre-Raphaelite vibe from it, but maybe I am on the same wavelength as Rika Ashton, since the Pre-Rahpaelites did a number of Ophelia images…
    I also like the Talon cover (here I had more of a snakeskin-boot-vibe). I think it would look great if they did an embossed cover…

    • Some sort of texture to the Talon cover could really make it pop. As long as they don’t pull the whole “first cover in one style and change for the next 4 crap”.

Leave a Reply

