Shield of Winter Review…

review iconNalini Singh can do no wrong, of that I am sure. Of course, that is my personal opinion, but I am going with it. Nalini kindly sent me my very first ARC, which I devoured it in a day. Usually, I am hard on liking the heroines in a story, but Ivy jumps to the top of my favorites list, and the mysterious Vasic was already there. Doug Meeks recently got his ARC, and did up a review for the much-anticipated 13th Psy/Changeling novel, Shield of Winter.

shield of winterWhat Doug said…

Shield of Winter

Release date 3 Jun 2014

Nalini Singh is seriously messing with my head. This is not the first time I thought that the last book I read of hers was the best until I read the next one and then I feel kinda stupid.

In Shield of Winter she takes Vasic who is a stone cold killer from all appearances in previous books and pairs him up with Ivy an empath and carves a story of romance and sacrifice that defies description (that will be my excuse for this review).

In the early chapters I could not get past the feeling that I was reading something that could best be described as “The Love Life of Mr. Spock” and that mental image stuck with me for a good portion of the first half of the novel but at about 450 pages you know there is some serious changes coming. It was funny and touching before it got really serious and somewhat sad and frustrating.

The novel morphs into a “save the world” plot with the romance being an integral part of the story and add in a couple of very stressful subplots that add exceptional depth to this story and you have a formula for another masterpiece (no I don’t use that word much).

The fact that with the fate of the world hanging in the balance the romance never lets go and the emotional feelings that is imparted to the reader just all make me wonder why all authors can’t be this good instead of the mere handful writing today.

The loyalty of friends, the romance of people that never doubt their mates, the multi-layered plot all make this yet another of the better things I have read in the last year. She inserts most of the characters from previous books into this story in various places which I love. So, if you love a great romance, great action and a story you can’t forget, this is it (I also said a similar thing about Heart of Obsidian which was true). This is a true 5 Star novel and anyone that can’t appreciate this story really needs to schedule time with a professional therapist (yes it IS that good).

I know anticipation is high for this one, and it is rightly deserved. The next story is a novella in the Night Shift anthology, and it will be a return to DarkRiver and feature Bastien Smith.

12 thoughts on “Shield of Winter Review…

  1. Very excited for this book! (And I am happy to say that I am just normally excited, not obsessively anxious as I was waiting for HoO). Thanks for the review!

  2. Wow! What a glowing review. I am already a fan of anything Nalini ans was looking forward to June 3rd, but now I really cannot wait. Lucky you guys who got to read it ahead.

  3. Awwww! I knew it would be that good – as you say she never disappoints and we only have a mere 40 days before we get our hands on it! Sometimes life is so slow! Great review Doug!

  4. I didnt dare read the review! Only paragraph 1 about how she gets better :D then I stopped. I assume it will give away at least a bit about the book and I want to go in blind…

  5. When I got the ARC for this one in the mail, I was like, “WHAAAT?!” (Mostly, because I didn’t win the contest Nalini Singh held and I didn’t know anyone who would be generous enough to give out a Shield of Winter ARC otherwise…so, while I’m still sure this was a mistake, I am NOT returning the novel. The mail gods clearly made me the chosen one for this one.)

    Anyways, I was not a Vasic fan going into the novel *ducks hurtling fangirl daggers* but I did like him enough to be intrigued by the story so I started to read. (But, honestly, even if this was a novel about Tatiana, I would still have read it because Nalini Singh wrote it.)

    But, WOW, this was a good book! I loved Ivy from the start – she’s pretty hard to dislike because she is so sweet. But the more I got to know Vasic, the more I liked him as well. (I’m not in dangerous fangirl zone, but he was pretty cool.)

    And I totally agree with you, Doug, there was a good balance of characters and story threads in this one.

    I am very much looking forward to Bastien’s story! :D

  6. I really can’t wait to read the book now. Nalini Singh is an automatic buy for me, although only in paperback, so it’ll be a long wait until I get to read this one.

  7. Thank you Doug! You managed to give me a piece of the story that I’ve been dying for, without spoiling a single bit of info. Nalini isn’t the only talented writer. :-) Man, I can’t wait to read this!!!

  8. I don’t think an author could ask for a better review. You really have a knack Doug. It makes me want to hurry up and catch up on the series. I still have Heart of Obsidian too look forward to as well :)

Leave a Reply

