Last Week’s Book Haul…

Usually I see videos on Youtube where people list their book hauls for the past month. Yeah, I don’t think monthly would work for me, since I tend to binge buy. The books I got last week were a little of this, a little of that.

I started off with the first book of Sherry Thomas‘s new Elemental Trilogy. Reviews for The Burning Sky seem to be a bit on the mixed side, though.

the burning skySynopsis…

Just before the start of Summer Half, in April 1883, a very minor event took place at Eton College, that venerable and illustrious English public school for boys. A sixteen-year-old pupil named Archer Fairfax returned from a three-month absence, caused by a fractured femur, to resume his education.

Almost every word in the preceding sentence is false. Archer Fairfax had not suffered a broken limb. He had never before set foot in Eton. His name was not Archer Fairfax. And he was not, in fact, even a he.

This is the story of a girl who fooled a thousand boys, a boy who fooled an entire country, a partnership that would change the fate of realms, and a power to challenge the greatest tyrant the world had ever known.

Expect magic.

The second YA that arrived last week was one that I was talked into buying partly by the great reviews and partly by the great covers. I actually ordered all three books from Kerstin Gier‘s Ruby Red trilogy, but only Sapphire Blue (book two) actually arrived. It was actually on sale for something like $6.00 for the hardcover, so I thought I might as well.

sapphire blueSynopsis…

Gwen’s life has been a rollercoaster since she discovered she was the Ruby, the final member of the secret time-traveling Circle of Twelve. In between searching through history for the other time-travelers and asking for a bit of their blood (gross!), she’s been trying to figure out what all the mysteries and prophecies surrounding the Circle really mean.

At least Gwen has plenty of help. Her best friend Lesley follows every lead diligently on the Internet. James the ghost teaches Gwen how to fit in at an eighteenth century party. And Xemerius, the gargoyle demon who has been following Gwen since he caught her kissing Gideon in a church, offers advice on everything. Oh, yes. And of course there is Gideon, the Diamond. One minute he’s very warm indeed; the next he’s freezing cold. Gwen’s not sure what’s going on there, but she’s pretty much destined to find out.

There were a couple of PNR/UF that found their way to my mailbox, as well. I finally, finally broke down and bought the first book of Stacia Kane‘s Downside Ghosts series, Unholy Ghosts. I know that everyone else has already read them and loved them, but I have been trying to plow my way through my hardcover books before I commit to a new UF series. But the word about this one is so good I just couldn’t hold out any longer.

unholy ghostsSynopsis…

THE DEPARTED HAVE ARRIVED.
The world is not the way it was. The dead have risen, and the living are under attack. The powerful Church of Real Truth, in charge since the government fell, has sworn to reimburse citizens being harassed by the deceased. Enter Chess Putnam, a fully tattooed witch and freewheeling ghost hunter. She’s got a real talent for banishing the wicked dead. But Chess is keeping a dark secret: She owes a lot of money to a murderous drug lord named Bump, who wants immediate payback in the form of a dangerous job that involves black magic, human sacrifice, a nefarious demonic creature, and enough wicked energy to wipe out a city of souls.

Toss in lust for a rival gang leader and a dangerous attraction to Bump’s ruthless enforcer, and Chess begins to wonder if the rush is really worth it. Hell, yeah.

And my last book for this past week was A Cursed Embrace from Cecy Robson. I had the first book on my TBR mountain for a while, and when I did a random book grab one night I found myself getting quite wrapped up in the story. I just finished reading this one, and it was just as good.

a cursed embraceSynopsis…

Celia Wird and her three sisters are just like other twentysomething girls—with one tiny exception: They are the products of a curse that backfired and gave each of them unique powers that made them, well, a little weird.…

After Celia Wird and her sisters help master vampire Misha save his family, their powers are exposed to the supernatural community of the Lake Tahoe region. But fame comes at a price, and being “weird” isn’t always welcome.

To make matters worse, Celia desires the love of Alpha werewolf Aric, but his pack is bent on destroying their relationship to preserve his pureblood status. And once weres start turning up dead—with evidence pointing to the vampires—she must face the prospect of losing Aric forever. But the chaos only masks a new threat. An evil known as the Tribe has risen—and their sights are set on Celia and her sisters.

What did you get for new books this week? Anything you have been excited for, or putting off getting like I did? If you read any of these, what did you think of them?

6 thoughts on “Last Week’s Book Haul…

    • kaleigha says:

      That is what threw me – the thought of a drug addicted main character was so out there that I just couldn’t see how it would work.

  1. Pals20 says:

    I read (well, tried to, anyway) the prequel novella “The Weird Girls” from Cecy Robson and even though it was a novella, it ended being a DNF. Not that it was throw-against-the-wall bad, but just sooooo booorrrrring and draaggging that I was practically forcing myself to read every line.

    That said, I would definitely like to hear your thoughts on A Cursed Embrace. Maybe the novella was just an exception…

    The Stacia Kane series has been recommended over and over again by my friends too but I guess I’m just not ready for a drug-addict heroine coz I haven’t read ’em either! Am pretty confident that this is an excellent series, but this is a not-just-yet for me

    • kaleigha says:

      I didn’t actually mind the Weird Girls books so far (but I was wondering if I was missing out not reading the novella. It doesn’t sound like it…). They were a decent read – not among my favorite Urban Fantasies by a long shot, but I did care enough to want to know what happens next. They can become a bit repetitive, but overall I enjoyed them.

      I am warily circling the Stacia Kane as we speak. I am trying to decide if I should do a character guide as I read it, but I have vowed that the next one I start new would be Kate Daniels. Decisions, decisions.

  2. Charry says:

    So I read the Weird Girls series over the last couple of days. I had never heard of it until I read the review here. It was ok, but the characters drove me crazy. I think that even though the characters were in their 20s it kind of read as YA. The main character was extremely powerful but she seemed so unsure of herself and very young. I’m much more of a Kate Daniels, take no prisoners, kick-butt, I’m my own woman kind of character. This was kind of like Kate’s younger sister by 10 years. If the girl’s boyfriend told her to stay put so she “didn’t get hurt” one more time I thought I might have to toss the book out the window. However on the plus side, there was a lot of action and it looks like things might get better in book 3. That’s another plus. The storyline was good enough that kept me wondering what would happen next.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am looking forward to seeing if it goes in a different direction now, too (maybe less with the sisters). When I started the first book, I figured it was PNR and each sister would have their own story. I was surprised that it ended up being UF light with all of the focus on the oldest sister. I think what I liked was that is was sort of a “no brainer” read – nothing complex, didn’t have to get too involved, and like you say, lots of action. I just might be pulling for the vamp now, though.

Leave a Reply

