J.R. Ward’s The King…

the kingIt seems like forever ago that the cover for the next J.R. Ward Black Dagger Brotherhood book, The King, was made public. Even though we were told right from the very beginning that it was a return to Wrath and Beth, details about the storyline have been scarce.

I sort of shook my head about going back to the original couple, and the very beginning of the series, not quite getting it since their story arc seemed like it had been wrapped up to me. And it isn’t like they haven’t played a role in pretty much every story since, to one degree or another. As a result, ever since the news about The King broke I have been hunting for the official blurb to see where things are really headed. I finally found one today…

Long live the King…

After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle–with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything–and everyone–at risk.

Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated the last pure blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she’s unprepared for Wrath’s response–or the distance it creates between them.

What is your take on going back to Wrath and Beth? Rumor has it that all or most of the other couples will also get a second turn at their own book. I am not sure how much I like this, myself. I guess it all depends on how well it advances the overarching storyline…if it contributes well and sets up future stories for characters like Murhder, Trez, iAm, or Assail, great. If it doesn’t, then it could just come off as a desperate attempt to drag out the series. I guess we will find out when it is released on March 25th.

Is this one you are looking forward to? I know that the BDB books have become pretty much a love-it-or-leave-it series for a lot of people, so where do you fall?

38 thoughts on “J.R. Ward’s The King…

  1. Cindy says:

    Just personal opinion here, but I would only read 4 more books in this series, regardless of how many are written.
    Wrath – hoping they go back to the original badass he was
    Zhadist – because who wouldn’t !
    Vishous – another badass
    And Assail because I also found him interesting
    The rest of the characters have just gotten boring to me and I found Lover at Last lacking

    • kaleigha says:

      I haven’t read Lover at Last yet (still circling that one. Not sure why), but I think I am most looking forward to Assail’s story. He is my new most anticipated hero, probably because we know so little about him as yet and he still has some mystery.

  2. Joana says:

    In my opinion she should just leave the couples that already had a book, alone. More books about the same couple, is more trouble to the couple, more drama and more heartbreak. I almost gave up this series because, to me, she ruined my favorite book, which was Vishou’s with Payne’s book. Because at the end of Vishou’s book I thought that finally he was happy with someone he loved and that understood him and loved him back, and then we get Payne’s book and we realise that Vishous is not that happy and still has unresolved feelings for Butch. I mean, maybe for some it was awesome but to me that book destroyed my love for Vishous. So I just hope that JR doesn’t ruin my love for Beth and Wrath. And I really, really hope she doesn’t put my babies (Rhage and Mary) through more drama and hurt.

    Sorry for the long statement but this is my opinion. If the series has so many different characters there is no need to go back to the others that already had their story told. If she want’s to go back to them, she can do a novella.

    • kaleigha says:

      That was my worry, too. All of the characters went through the ringer in their first books, and you know a second story will only bring more trauma and strife. It isn’t like you will get a book that focuses on how totally happy a couple is. I figure they earned their HEA the first time…

    • Latonia Clayton says:

      OoH God Joanna!!!!!
      You said it perfectly, I finally found someone who thinks the same way about the Vishous book. I too was disappointed because I was looking forward to the mating ceremony with him and Jane. I think the Warden sometimes complicates herself without meaning to, in the book it stated vishous didn’t cry all the times he was beaten and almost put to death, but in the end he cried over Jane, now I’m like jane is back and you still have unresolved feelings for Butch! whatever!! Those feelings should have died a long time ago,no they shouldn’t be there period. Just let it be simple JR or Let it be!!! Thank you Joanna for your opinion and know there are others that feel the same way you do.

  3. Danielle Nguyen says:

    I used to love this series, but the last book I really enjoyed was Lover Mine. I had such high hopes for Love at Last, but it didn’t deliver IMO. I’m sure I’ll read The King, but I’m not crazy about this change in format either.

    • kaleigha says:

      I still enjoy them, but differently than I used to. I used to love them for the romance, now it is more for the action since the romance is not the focal point of the series anymore.

  4. Gloria Dunn says:

    Bring it on!!! I love J R Ward & these bad harassed! I wouldn’t mind another go with each couple and I would definitely love to see Trez & I Am in their own books, as well as one about a not so ‘good guy’, maybe one of the BOB or the Omega/Scribe Virgin history.

    • Carey says:

      I am with you all the way!!!Just cant get my hands on “The King” but the rest of the series has been totally awesome.Sadly I cant find another series to compare.Would love a few books of the BOB

      • glormae says:

        I cant either and i have tried. I wish they came out quicker but I guess thats what makes J.R. the best. – And i meanest bad assess, dang auto correct lol.

  5. Diane says:

    I haven’t read the last few books and a return to the first is not really going to be what pulls me back… I’ve been disappointed so much lately with this series.

    • kaleigha says:

      They did change focus big time – I am lucky that it didn’t turn me off completely, but made me change what I read them for.

  6. Charry says:

    I think it’s a natural progression of the storyline she has developed. Over the last books, she keeps coming back to this issue of Wrath and his decisions. Also I’m finding it really difficult to keep up with all her characters. The original brothers make sense, but as she started spreading out to all these other folk I started to get confused and lose track of who’s who. Hopefully she does a good job. Like many people I’m feeling like her books are not as good as they used to be. I think she tried to extend the storyline too much in too many different directions and it just got kinda thin.

    • kaleigha says:

      The sheer size of the series is getting hard to get a handle on, for sure. Phoenixfyre is working on a character guide for it, along with the Fallen Angels series, so that should help a bit.

    • kaleigha says:

      Poor Phury. He was my BDB boyfriend, and he did get the shaft. Now you barely see him with the brothers at all. Such a waste.

    • Carey says:

      Hi do you know of any other series besides Anita Blake (read that) that comes close to BDB? Especially the sex man that was my fav!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Everything else just lame

  7. Lydia says:

    There are things left unsaid with Wrath and Beth; however, one more of each couple is a bit much specially since her books are so massive. Maybe she could combine make it one book for all the other couples. I still like the BDB but honestly the Angels are my favorites; maybe it’s because I know that there are only two more books to come. One book a year is hard to wait for.

    • kaleigha says:

      I still have to try the Fallen Angels books – not sure what I am waiting for, to be honest, but is it will be good to start a series knowing when the end is.

  8. cmaaronCasey says:

    I was wondering how she would continue the series although I thought it would move on to the Band of Bastards. The characters in this series seem like old friends so I don’t mind revisiting them.

  9. copgirlfriend says:

    I actually really appreciate it when Ward revisits the couples we’ve known and loved. Someone above mentioned Vishous, and in particular how she was disappointed when Jane and Vishous’ problems were a significant subplot in Lover Unleashed. Myself, I thought Jane and Vishous’ book ended abruptly, that it never really addressed the dark demons that drove Vishous, and that it didn’t truly unravel the complex relationships of the three main characters, Jane, Vishous and Butch. I was THRILLED that the “reality” of the difficultly of their situation was acknowledged and that they had a chance to work through it in front of us. Frankly, I enjoyed their subplot more than the Manny/Payne story. But maybe that’s a measure of how much I love Vishous.

    I can only hope that Ward gives similar treatment to the untold stories so easily glossed over in Lover at Last. Geez, we missed a big chunk of good stuff in that book: Qhuinn coming out to the brothers! The awkardness and acceptance of Qhuinn and Blay moving into the same room! The conversations between the other brothers! The affect on Butch and Vishous (if any)! That was a rich vein to mine, and Ward really punted hard (in my opinion) by not going there. But I have hope, mostly because in Unleashed, we work through Jane and V’s problems and in Reborn we see John and Xhex struggle … so maybe we’ll get to see more of Qhuinn and Blay in “The King.” True?

  10. Lidy says:

    I confess I’m anxious to read this book. I haven’t read much of JR’s lately, because after Lover Unleashed, I felt a bit let down and though I was cheering for Blay and Qhuinn to get their HEA, it was more because I wanted their drama to end than because I loved them.

    Beth and Wrath are my favorite couple, along with Rhage and Mary—I hope she writes their second book as a full-length and not a short story, since it was how The King would originally be published. However, I believe that she should be concentrating on the couples whose love stories had less book time, such as Phury and Cormia and Payne and Manny. Oh, and Tohr and Autumn—because it was so difficult to see her as a real person after all that time of herself and others referring to her as No’One and his mourning Wellsie. Still, if she decides to write a new book for Butch, I’m really going to murder someone—I hate Marissa with a passion—, especially if it features some of his odd relationship with V, because after Payne’s book I felt his HEA with Jane was fake, that he didn’t love her as she did him… I mean, the woman became a ghost to be with him. Something that’s made me tired and caused me to think that she only paired Qhuay together as a way to apologize to readers for not letting Butch and Vishous be together after so many hints.

    But I digress. Ever since Lover Avenged we’ve seen the series revolve around Wrath—his rule, his crown, his decisions, his blindness, his personal problems, his struggles with Beth; it’s like going back to the beginning. I just wish she’d bring the lessers back… as villains, they used to be more fascinating than the Bastards. I mean, I really don’t care about XCor—he just seems like a spoiled toddler who’s throwing a fit after being said “no” for the first time.

    But the one book I desperately want to read is Assail’s. He’s a harda$$ who reminded me a lot of Rehvenge back when he was The Reverend.

    • kaleigha says:

      I thought I had read somewhere that all of the couples would have novellas, too – good catch. It does make more sense, but then the main couple makes up only a fraction of the storyline now so I guess it really is only like a novella’s worth of them in the course of a full book. I actually pretty much liked all of the pairings so far, I didn’t even mind the Jane as a ghost thing, but V during Unleashed does sort of make his story seem…less, somehow. Assail is my new leading man, too.

      • Lidy says:

        I didn’t mind that Jane became a ghost, but when I remember that she died because of V and he doesn’t seem to love her enough to get over Butch, it leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

        The only couple I dislike is Butch-Marissa. And only because I hate her. It’s a pity JRW didn’t kill her off with that stupid brother of hers. LOL

        • kaleigha says:

          I don’t think I have heard of anyone yet that doesn’t dislike Marissa. She wasn’t my favorite, but I can’t say I disliked her. I do love Butch, so maybe that rubbed off on her and made me like her more.

      • Lidy says:

        Me neither. I don’t know, I like Butch so much that I wanted to see him with ‘a female of worth’. Verily. :p However, it was nice to see her argue with Havers and stand her ground while Rehv and the glymera looked on.

  11. Charleen says:

    I’m still loving it! I’d like to see Wrath and Beth have a child. I think it’s time, I also know he’ll give her a hard time. Not sure that ALL of the rest of the couples need a story, I’ll have to wait and see how it goes. This is still one of my favorite series and it never gets old for me.

  12. Kim says:

    The last book in the BDB series I read was John Mathew’s, I think. Maybe the one right after. I do know when the prices sky rocketed it seemed that the stories got worse, so I basically gave up. I did purchase 1 or 2 more when the prices went down to paperback price. My questions is, is it even worth it for me to read the rest of them? Or just let the series die off for me? I have so many other books in my TBR pile that I never even think of them any longer. And that’s a shame. This was at one point my #1 series.

    • kaleigha says:

      Well, I still enjoy them myself, but I read them differently than I do any other books. I am usually more interested in the secondary characters than the main couple, since the main couple is such a small part of the books now. I usually read for the romance, but in these I read more for the action. That said, to be honest, I have had Lover at Last on the TBR since it came out and haven’t touched it yet. It has changed for me, too, but, I haven’t given up yet.

  13. Zel Purlet says:

    The King is just fine with me, though I hope JR Ward finishes Wrath’s issues on this book. I agree with you with regard to other couples getting a second turn at their own book, I’d love it if these guys (Murhder, Trez, iAm, Assail, Lassiter, Throe) will have a book of their own.

    It took me weeks to finish Lover At Last. To be honest I got bored with it. But BDB is one of my favorite series so I guess I’ll hang on every book. And yeah, I’m curious about the twins (Assail’s cousins)

  14. Taz says:

    I can’t believe I am saying this, but I’m so over this series. I have to agree with a most of the comments above, Ward is dragging it on and re-visiting HEA may not be a good thing with this new darker path her series has taken. Move on and come up with something fresh. You can only wear sh!tkickers so long before they becoming out of style. Yawn.

  15. Buffy says:

    This series will always be a favorite, but I do agree with most people on here. I hated Lover Enshrined and the last three books in the series. And it’s pissed me off that they decided to start selling these in hardcover. I gave away my paperbacks to a friend and started collecting the hardcover ones, which are so damn expensive, but I hated waiting so long for the paperbacks. Not sure it was worth doing after seeing how this series is progressing. The King might just be the last chance I give J.R. ward. I gave up on her Fallen Angels series 20% into book 3.

  16. john says:

    Iv always had a soft spot for this series,in fact it is my favorite.i love the fact that it can appeal 2 both men and women unlike most books of its kind, because its gritty and darker with more action then most. i own them all except the this latest one and have read them all dozens of times, but i agree lover at last just seemed lacking compared to the other books with less subplot and in my opinion a weaker overall story.i mean look at the struggles the rest of the BDB had to endure.They seemed to have got off easy.As for The King i cant wait, because you can revisit the same couples as long as you expand on the story and fill in more with the subplot, which she does a damn good job of doing.In my opinion its doable as long as it has more of the other characters we’d like to see and not just a dragged out POS like Lover at Last.

Leave a Reply

