Pick of the Week…

Another week, another book I am looking forward to. I have read the first three Dragonfury books from Coreene Callahan, and as I have said before  they have a very strong early Black Dagger Brotherhood vibe (which is not a bad thing, at all). I would say that if you were a fan of the first books in J.R. Ward‘s mega-series, you would probably enjoy Fury of Desire, too.

fury of desireSynopsis…

Of all of the warriors in the Nightfury pack, none is more complicated or more damaged than Wick. Emotionally scarred from a childhood of slavery and torture, Wick can barely stand the touch of another person. But all bets are off when he meets newcomer J.J. Solares. When J.J. is unjustly imprisoned, Wick agrees to help rescue and return her to the family fold. But Wick lives a life of self-imposed isolation, even among his beloved brothers in arms. Venturing into the world to seek justice for J.J. may be more than he can bear.

Meanwhile J.J. fights for her life at the hands of brutal prison guard Griggs. When she winds up in the hospital she sees no hope for things getting better. But events take a dramatic turn when she and Wick encounter each other. The connection they share is unlike anything either has felt before. J.J. believes she is hallucinating when she sees the majestic dark-haired god sweep in to save her, and Wick is shaken to his core by the attraction he feels for J.J. For the first time in his life, he finds himself wanting to get close to a woman.

After J.J.’s rescue, the two retire to Wick’s mountain home, where J.J. recovers from physical injury while attempting to help Wick recover from his emotional ones. But neither is out of harm’s way yet. And when they find themselves in the center of a Dragonkind war, they are forced to make the ultimate choice between surrendering to their fears or each other’s love.

Any other fans of the Dragonfury books? Did you get the Ward vibe like I did, and what did you think of it?

2 thoughts on “Pick of the Week…

  1. Lydia says:

    I am going to start Fury of Desire now. I do like this series and yes it does remind me of the BDB but that’s ok. However, I just finished reading Linda Poitevin’s new book Sins of the Lost; All I can say is WOW, fantastic read cannot wait until the next one but I’m kinda scared. I heard that she took quite awhile to write this one. I hope that doesn’t happen again. I really hate to wait years for a sequel. But either way you should try her if you haven’t yet; Her books are totally worth it. Also finished The Scribe by Elizabeth Hunter and that was also fantastic.

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey Lydia – there was such a huge wait for Sins of the Lost that I when I was updating I thought the series was over. This is another one on my “hopefully one day” lists, since I have heard good things about it.

Leave a Reply

