How was your trip to Cainesville?

omensA couple of months ago, I was debating picking up Kelley Armstrong‘s newest offering, Omens. I thought it sounded interesting, but I wasn’t sure if the paranormal elements would be strong enough to keep me interested. Well, I broke down and bought it, and I am so glad I did.

The first book of the Cainesville series definitely hooked me. The story was well done, the characters so far have been great – not too perfect, but not too flawed, either. The hint of the supernatural was a nice break from my usual reading habits of weres and vamps, and there was just enough foreshadowing of a romance to keep me involved. My only disappointment was that the Canadian cover was different than the US one, and I didn’t like it as much.

I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed Omens, but what did you think? Was there enough paranormal and romance in it for you, or was it too much straight mystery? This was my first book by this author, and I am now eying her young adult series hoping I would enjoy them as much. How do her YA stories stack up?

7 thoughts on “How was your trip to Cainesville?

  1. Nefertari says:

    I love Omens ! I love Gabriel ! I think it’s a very good beggining for a new serie and the romance is building slowly but surely. As a Canadian myself, i did find the USA cover better than the Canadian one, but Kelley Armstrong has always have differents covers in USA and Canada. Let’s hope the Canadian cover for Visions will be as good as the Us one. But no matter what the cover, i can’t wait for Visions.

    Did you play the game based on Cainsville ? Cainsville Files. I had much fun with it and we even see Gabriel whrn he was 10. It’s a very short game, but a good one.

    • kaleigha says:

      Gabriel was a favorite of mine, too – even though I wanted to smack him once in a while. I didn’t even know there was a game – is it still running?

      • Nefertari says:

        Yes, it’s a mystery game set 20 years before the events in Omens. It is still available in the app store for ipad. I don’t know if it is available on other platform. There is mention of it @ kelley armstrong website.

  2. frisco ready to read says:

    Glad you broke down and tried it, it was like living in a small town and getting to know everyone. I really liked it for a first book but I would have like a few more answers than questions. I think I would give if 4 stars if I rated it. This has great series potential.

  3. Amber Hughes says:

    I really enjoyed Omens too and am very much looking forward to Visions. I didn’t mind that is was more mystery w/some paranormal elements at all. I’m a big fan of Kelley’s books. I’ve read a few of her YA’s (which I did like), but my favorite is her adult series (Women of the Otherworld). One of the main couples, Clay & Elena are one of my favorite werewolf couples. Some of the books in the series feature other couples (not all werewolves), but they do come back to them in a few of the later books in the series. They do appear as side characters though as well throughout the series.

    • kaleigha says:

      I am really tempted to start picking them up, but I am trying to work my way through some of the TBR shelf first. My discipline is not the best, but I am trying.

Leave a Reply

