What is Your Top 14 of 2014?

It seems like only a couple of months ago that I was excited to find out what new books would be heading our way in 2013. Well, after a year that absolutely flew by, I am now starting to look ahead to 2014. There are quite a few that I am anxious to get my hands on, that is for sure. So, in no particular order, my top 14 for 2014 are…

  1. Magic Breaks – Ilona Andrews
  2. Burned – Karen Marie Moning
  3. Shield of Winter – Nalini Singh
  4. Dark Skye – Kresley Cole
  5. Visions – Kelley Armstrong
  6. Night Broken – Patricia Briggs
  7. Murder of Crows – Anne Bishop
  8. Rule Breaker – Lora Leigh
  9. Up From the Grave – Jeaniene Frost
  10. The Darkest Touch – Gena Showalter
  11. City of Heavenly Fire – Cassandra Clare
  12. Cress – Marissa Meyer
  13. Dark Wolf – Christine Feehan
  14. Hunt the Darkness – Alexandra Ivy

This list will probably change subtly as new releases are announced (like the Avon series from Ilona Andrews is a biggie for me, when details become available). What does your list shape up like? What are you most excited for heading into the new year?

 

15 thoughts on “What is Your Top 14 of 2014?

  1. Douglas C. Meeks says:

    While your list includes most of what I assume the majority of us want, I will not try to list mine since they would change from time to time but I can tell you the Top 2 I am awaiting anxiously:

    Murder of Crows – Anne Bishop – I have to believe that anyone who read the first amazing book cannot wait to get their hands on this one, probably at a horrible price 🙂

    The other one is less well known but the second book in the second book in the Irin Chronicles Book by Elizabeth Hunter – She left us with such a tragic story in book 1 The Scribe that anyone that has read it (and I recommend everyone do it) will be salivating for the second book.

    These are the top 2 for me since I have so many I read for publishers/authors/review sites that the few I read totally for my own pleasure are very important 🙂

    Obviously, I will buy anything that comes out buy Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs, and Nalini Singh

  2. Michelle says:

    I’m waiting for Shelly Laurenston’s “Bite Me,” since I’ve been a fan of hers for years. I wish she published more than one book per year, but the Pride and Pack series novels, are all worth waiting for.

  3. cheryl says:

    I have to say darn good list. I have re read Anne Bishop so many times it is sad to admit.. so can’t wait for the sequel. I also love the humor from Darynda Jones – can’t remember when the next one comes out. The Clean Sweep story by Ilona Andrews for kindle is another one I can’t wait for.
    Yay! books!

    • Redbutterfly says:

      me too, I’ve read Written in Red 3 times and I’m already preparing to re-read it at Christmas XD And that’s because I read the book for the 1st time in July (imagine if I’ve read it in March when it was released lol)

  4. Amber Hughes says:

    My list (in no particular order): 1. Sixth Grave on the Edge (Darynda Jones) 2.The King (JR Ward) 3. Magic Bites (Ilona Andrews) 4. Shield of Winter (Nalini Singh) 5. Dark Skye (Kresley Cole) 6. Opposition (and all her others-JLA) 7. Up From the Grave (Jeaniene Frost) 8. Night Broken (Patricia Briggs) 9. Visions (Kelley Armstrong) 10. The Undead Pool (Kim Harrison) 11. Burned (KMM) 12. Shattered (Kevin Hearne) 13. *The Darkest Touch (Gena Showalter) 14. Ignite Me (Tahereh Mafi)
    *I do hope The Darkest Touch is more like this series used to be

  5. Shannon says:

    Good list! I especially agree with Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs, Nalini Singh, Kresley Cole, Jeaniene Frost, Anne Bishop and Darynda Jones!!!

    I’d add the upcoming releases from Eileen Wilks’ World of Lupi, Karen Chance’s Cassie Palmer/Dorina Basarab, and Thea Harrison’s Elder Races. Those are some others I’m excited about.

  6. Redbutterfly says:

    My list (in no particular order): 1. Up From the Grave by Jeaniene Frost; 2. Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones; 3. The King by J.R. Ward; 4. Fury of the Demon by Diana Rowland; 5. Banishing the Dark by Jenn Bennett; 6. Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop; 7. Shield of Winter by Nalini Singh; 8. Vampire Most Wanted by Lynsay Sands; 9. Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews; 10. Wild Things by Chloe Neill; 11. Visions by Kelley Armstrong; 12. Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout; 13. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare; 14. Grave Visions by Kalayna Price

    Well… there are more but these are the 14 I want most lol

  7. Lydia says:

    1.Shield of Winter- Nalini Singh,2.Magic Breaks-Ilona Andrews,3.Murder of Crows-Anne Bishop,4.Burned-KM Moning,5. Untitled Dark Angels-JR Ward,6.The King-JR Ward, 7. Dark Wof-Christine Feehan,8.2nd Irin Chronicles-Elizabeth Hunter,9.Sea of Shadows-Kelley Armstrong,10.The Darkest Touch-Gena Showalter,11.The Kraken King-Meljean Brook, 12.Rule Breaker-Lora Leigh, 13.Willing Sacrifice-Shannon K Butcher,14.Up from the Grave-Jeaniene Frost. This is in the order I want to read them

  8. Janhavi says:

    My list is pretty much in the order I want to read them, I may have forgotten something. Surprised not to see Guild Hunter #7 on anyone’s list! I am also looking forward to the 2014 anthology with Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, and Meljean Brook- 3 of my favourites!!

    1. Shield of Winter- Nalini Singh, 2. Guild Hunter #7 (Ash and Janvier!)- Nalini Singh, 3. Heart Fire- Robin D. Owens, 4. Magic Breaks-Ilona Andrews, 5. Anthology- Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Meljean Brook, Lisa Shearin, 6. The Kraken King- Meljean Brook, 7. Avon Book 1- Ilona Andrews, 8. Dark Skye- Kresley Cole, 9.Ghost Layer series- Robin D Owens, 10. Armand Gamache Book 9- Louise Penny, 11. The Unbreakable Consequences of Love- Jill Mansell, 12. Arcana Chronicles Book 3- Kresley Cole, 13. Night Broken, Mercy Thompson, 14. Night Prince Book 3- Jeannie Frost (is this a 2014 release?)

  9. Nefertari says:

    There is a lot of books i’m waiting for in 2014. Those are my most wanted, not necessarily in that order.
    1:Written In My Own Heart’s Blood – Diana Gabaldon 2:A Shiver Of Light – Laurell K. Hamilton 3: Up From The Grave – Jeaniene Frost 4: Visions- Kelley Armstrong 5: Ménagerie – Rachel Vincent 6:Fury Of The Demon – Diana Rowland 7: Wicked After Midnight – Delilah S. Dawson 8: Night Broken – Patricia Briggs 9: Magic Breaks – Ilona Andrews 10: Resistance – Jenna Black

  10. LethalLovely says:

    Top 14 of 2014 (in no particular order):

    1)Magic Breaks~Ilona Andrews
    2)Ruin and Rising~Leigh Bardugo
    3)Oblivion~Kelly Creagh
    4)The Falconer~Elizabeth May
    5)Shield of Winter~Nalini Singh
    6)Otherbound~Corinne Duyvis
    7)Warm Bodies #2~Isaac Marion
    8)Throne of Glass #3~Sarah J. Maas
    9)Downside Ghosts #6~Stacia Kane
    10)Night Prince #3~Jeaniene Frost
    11)The Forever Song~Julie Kagawa
    12)Make Me Burn~R.G. Alexander
    13)The Infinite Sea~Rick Yancey
    14)Plus One~Elizabeth Fama

    2013 has definitely been a year full of awesomazing YAs for me.

  11. Kribu13 says:

    Most of my most-anticipated books of 2014 seem to be YA, with a couple that are still officially counted as middle-grade or 11+ but really more YA…

    It’s hard to narrow it down to just 14, so I’ll attempt to weed out those that aren’t speculative fiction (fantasy, urban fantasy, paranormal, science fiction).

    YA/children’s:

    1. Derek Landy: Armageddon-Outta-Here
    2. Derek Landy: Skulduggery Pleasant: Book Nine
    3. Marissa Meyer: Cress
    4. Jonathan Stroud: The Whispering Skull
    5. Rick Riordan: The Blood of Olympus
    6. Neal Shusterman: Undivided
    7. Janet Edwards: Earth Flight
    8. Chris Columbus & Ned Vizzini: Battle of the Beasts
    9. Susan Ee: Penryn and the End of Days: Book Three
    10. Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl: Dangerous Creatures (maybe)

    Adult:

    11 & 12: Chloe Neill: the next two Chicagoland Vampires books
    13: Kalayna Price: Grave Visions
    14: Seanan McGuire: Half-Off Ragnarok (+ any new October Daye books, although I’m yet to catch up with the last of those already released).

    This list will probably get some additions, as there are some series I’ve been wanting to try and already have the first books bought and in my TBR list – Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave, Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass, Kelley Armstrong’s Omens, plus a number of first books in various urban fantasy series that I keep meaning to read but put aside for a while after overdosing on urban fantasy last year.

  12. Jennifer TheBookNympho says:

    Magic Breaks – Ilona Andrews
    Burned – Karen Marie Moning
    Night Broken – Patricia Briggs
    Up From the Grave – Jeaniene Frost
    Downside Ghosts #6 – Stacia Kane
    Arcana Chronicles Book 3- Kresley Cole
    Sixth Grave on the Edge by Darynda Jones
    Poison Promise by Jennifer Estep
    Killing Frost by Jennifer Estep

  13. Monika says:

    1) Shield of Winter – Nalini Singh
    2) Guild Hunter #7 – Nalini Singh
    3) Night Prince #3 – Jeaniene Frost
    4) Up from the Grave – Jeaniene Frost
    5) Demon Storm (Belador #5) – Sherrilyn Kenyon/Dianna Love
    6) Dark Wolf – Christine Feehan
    7) Dark Blood – Christine Feehan
    8) To Kiss A Dragon – G. A. Aiken
    9) Concealed in Death – J. D. Robb
    10) Written in Red (MMP) – Anne Bishop
    11) Murder of Crows – Anne Bishop
    12) A Shiver of Light – Laurell K. Hamilton
    13) Bite Me – Shelley Laurenston

Leave a Reply

