Pick of the Week…

Everyone has that series (or more than one) that is their old standby. Even though I have “moved on” to other books and other authors, Christine Feehan‘s Carpathian series will always be mine (along with Lora Leigh’s Breeds). So, my pick of the week is the long awaited Dark Wolf.

dark wolfSynopsis…

In Dark Lycan, Christine Feehan journeyed into the heart of the Carpathians, and into the souls of two lifemates stirred by the flush of passion and the threat of annihilation. In Dark Wolf, the breathtaking story continues as the bonds of family are imperiled, and the fate of two lovers lies hidden in the seductive shadows between life and death.

Skyler Daratrazanoff always recognized the miracle that was Dimitri Tirunul, a man beyond any dream that had ever engaged her nights. But she was human. Vulnerable. He was Carpathian. Nearly immortal. She was nineteen. He was an ancient. Yet she held half his soul, the light to his darkness. Without her, he would not survive. Caught between the two warring species, Dimitri has spent centuries hunting the undead to keep his people free, and humans safe. He had survived honorably when others had chosen to give up their souls. But now, marked for extermination by the Lycans, Dimitri found himself alone, and fearing for his life. But salvation was coming…

No Lycan would ever suspect someone like Skyler to dare mount a secret rescue operation. A teenage girl. A human of untested abilities. But she had something no one else had. She was predestined for Dimitri—as he was for her. And there was nothing stronger for Skyler than her desire to see her life-dream come true. Whatever the risk.

Has anyone gotten their hands on this one yet? I know that I am in the minority, but Skyler was never really a character I was interested in. I am more looking forward to Dimitri’s side of the story, actually. This is a great week for new releases, so what was your pick?

10 thoughts on “Pick of the Week…

  1. Pam Patterson says:

    Got mine today and almost 3/4 of the way thru this one. I really like it the love between Skylar and Dimitri is awesome. You get to see the other couples emerge and stand behind them in this book. I enjoyed it but I would probably give it 4 out of 5 stars. Still waiting for that big bang from Christine Feehan.

  2. Jean says:

    I picked up the new JC Daniels book, Broken Blade. Good stuff!

    I used to be a big Christine Feehan fan (all series) but I dropped down to just the Ghostwalker series. I need to check back with this addition to her lycan series.

    • kaleigha says:

      The Ghostwalkers are among my absolute favorite series of all – I just wish that they didn’t have the huge wait time between books. There are so very many stories left to tell, but only one book every few years now.

      On Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 8:20 PM, Wicked Scribes

  3. Cassandra B. says:

    I haven’t read any of the Dark Series since Dark Predator, but might get this one from the library and check it out. To those who have read it, will it be super confusing to jump back into the series here? I know before Kaleigha mentioned she thought this book was connected to one that came out in August. Should I read that before or does it not matter very much?

  4. Lydia says:

    I just finished it. It was very good; I enjoyed this story more than the previous book, because I’ve been looking forward to Skylar and Dimitri for a long time. I’m not sure about the Lycan-Carpathian thread but maybe that will be over with next year’s book. I would have liked to see more of the couples but hey you can’t have everything. If you haven’t read the previous book you should do so or you will be confused with some of the characters.

    • kaleigha says:

      I just finished it last night, and I liked it, too. I like the Lycan element, but I do hope it wraps up with Dark Blood, too. There are enough stories left to tell without branching out into another species.

  5. Monika says:

    I just finished and quite liked it. It seems to me that Feehan for one did listen to her fans and went back towards the style of her earlier books, at least in some ways. I think I never finished Dark Predator and for someone who wants to get back in the Dark series, I would recommend starting with Dark Lycan. Carpathian chants weren’t too overwhelming in this one either,and as a linguist I find it kind of interesting that it is based on Proto-Uralic and as far as I can tell the reconstruction makes sense. That’s one of the things that put me completely off Gena Showalter, the awful, mistakes-riddled Hungarian in her Lords of the Underworld series. If you feel you have to spice up your narrative with a foreign language to lend authenticity to the locale or whatever, you should have it checked by an expert, otherwise it just comes across as very ridiculous and it ruins the whole flow of the story.
    Back to Feehan: I really liked the beginning of the book with the whole rescue operation and the friendship between Skyler, Joseph and Paul and I also loved Dimitri; I’m a sucker for a suffering hero, though my favorite Carpathian will probably always be Razvan. I’m looking forward to the conclusion of the Lycan trilogy with Zev and Bronnie’s story…

    • Cassandra B. says:

      Thanks for the advice on the series, I think I will read Dark Lycan then move onto Dark Wolf and see what happens. Quick question if you see this. What book is Razvan in? The name is familiar, but I have been out of the series for a while, so I can’t remember. I tried CF’s website. There is a lot there, but no character guide.

      • Cassandra B. says:

        Found out who is Razvan by looking on this site, of course! Dark Slayer is my favorite of the series, too. I think that a re-read is in my future.

Leave a Reply

