Reading Roundup…

bookI stopped doing the reading round-up posts a while back, but thought I would get back to them for the new year. I use it as a reminder as to what I read, and what I thought about them.

The Morganville Vampires (Volumes 1 and 2) – I had heard mixed reviews about Rachel Caine‘s series, but the first few books were so cheap on Book Outlet I figured I might as well. Turns out, I quite like them. The first four books contain two full stories each, which is a bonus, and I like the progression the storyarc is taking. They have a very different tone to them, and I like the fact that the vampires in question in this series are far from being the good guys. There are a couple of times that you want to smack a couple of the main characters (Clare and Shane, I am looking at you), but so far I am enjoying Morganville.

Written in Red (re-read) – One of last year’s favorite books for me, I decided to go back and do a re-read for a character guide for the new Anne Bishop series. I can’t believe how much I forgot since the first time I read it. I actually ended up enjoying it more the second time around, since I already had a feel for the complex world. What I picked up most this time was the romance. I didn’t feel it as much the first time, but the second time I got a real feel for Meg and Simon as a couple, and I liked where it is going. I am glad I gave it another spin to get ready for the release of the second book in a couple of months.

Dark WolfChristine Feehan‘s long, long awaited story of Skyler and Dimitri surprising me. I don’t mind when a character has a brutal past, but for some reason I thought that most of the book was going to be a rehash of Skyler’s childhood and how that meant that she could never love (until she could). Turns out I couldn’t have been more wrong. Her past was acknowledged, but Dark Wolf featured a fully grown, mature, capable Skyler who was completely in love with Dimitri. The story was action packed, with great characters, a strong story, and enough development in the overarching storyline to get me quite excited about the Dark series again. It was always a guilty favorite, but my love took a dive after the debacle of Zacarias’s story. The last couple of books have gotten me back on board.

That was my reading week…how was yours? What did you read this week, good or bad?

15 thoughts on “Reading Roundup…

  1. Charry says:

    This week was great for reading. I read…
    Faith Hunter – Black Arts (Amazing), JC Daniels – Broken Blade (really good), Jayne Ann Krentz – River Road (Nice), Tammy Falkner – The Magic Between Us (OK)

    • kaleigha says:

      You got a lot of reading done. There are so many series I want to get into (and so many more that are still on TBR shelf), and Faith Hunter’s is one of them.

  2. Cassandra B. says:

    I am about to start River Road, JAK is my favorite. I have spent the past couple weeks re-reading my favorites in G.A. Aiken’s (Shelly Laurenston) Dragon Kin series.

    I felt the exact same way when I reread Written in Red. I am very excited about the second in the series, only a little afraid that the hype I have built up in my mind will be a little too much. Planning on rereading it again before the next book comes out. Also, the comments about Dark Wolf are getting me excited for the Dark Series again. Likely still get from the library rather than buy, but I will definitely read Dark Lycan and Dark Wolf now.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have never added Jayne’s books to the new release lists, mostly because I don’t know much about them. Are they paranormal, or have paranormal elements? If they do, I would totally go back and add them.

      Did you read the excerpt from Murder of Crows over on Anne Bishop’s website (http://www.annebishop.com/b.murder.crows.exc.html)? I liked it, and I think that was what prompted me to go back for the re-read. I really hope you like the Dark books…I was pleasantly surprised.

      • Cassandra B. says:

        Thanks for the link, I haven’t read the excerpt yet! JAK is a little different with paranormal. She was writing paranormal elements before the subgenre took off and she doesn’t easily fit into the modern PNR. The books she writes under Jayne Castle are futuristic but clear PNR elements. As Jayne Ann Krentz and Amanda Quick (also some of the books as Jayne Castle), she wrote the Arcane Series. This series, I think, would easily fit into your series list. A lot of her other books might be better labeled as romantic suspense with PNR elements.

  3. Moya says:

    I’d consider reading Dark Wolf it I’m not subjected to Feehan’s newest thing on sexual activities and fertility in the Carpathian series.

    That being the stupid flower thing. I think the flower thing is why I’m not going to buy the Carpathian books anymore.
    Besides that the books have become repetitive and I hate the whole Carpathian language. I don’t need nor do I want to know the meanings of these words.

    • kaleigha says:

      Heh…I do snicker through the flower stuff – once was different, every book is a bit strange. The first thing I do is check the back of the book and see how much of it is healing chants and Carpathian language and other useless stuff. I don’t see why her website couldn’t be devoted to that stuff for those who are interested, and leave it out of every single book.

      • Cassandra B. says:

        I think I have been out of the series too long, I don’t have any idea what the flower stuff is, but it sounds strange.

        • kaleigha says:

          It is some sort of weird fertility ritual where they get this rare flower, and it manages to look all sexual, and tastes like both of them. Then they put it…places…and chant a bit, then eat it. God, even typing that out made me laugh.

  4. mlh1112 says:

    I want to read Dark Wolf but I haven’t read the last few of the series. Since this book is technically part of a trilogy, it seems that reading Dark Lycan may be important for the flow. What do you think K?

    • kaleigha says:

      I think you could pretty easily miss the last couple of books, but I think you would get way more out of this one if you did read Dark Lycan first. Dark Wolf sort of drops you into the whole Lycan world, which was set up in Dark Lycan. The main story is pretty straight forward, but side characters like Zev would lose some impact without it.

  5. Monika says:

    I could do without the flower stuff, too. In Dark Storm it was new and kind of fit with the story, but in Dark Wolf I just found it strange and not in a good way. I recently plowed my way thru Aiken’s Dragon Kin series which was fun and different and I’m now on the Pride stories.
    I also discovered the Night Prowler series by J. T. Geissinger (it’s actually on the Series Reading List here) and was drawn in right away. It’s sort of a different take on the whole shape shifter theme with very good world building, beautiful prose, very lyrical but not too overwrought, action-packed and believable characters and also very emotional. My favorite out of so far 4 stories were no. 2 (Edge of Oblivion, Morgan and Xander’s story) and no. 3 (Edge of Oblivion, Eliana and Demetrius). Though I have quite a jaded palate, this series stands out as way above average.
    Because it was cheap (2.99) I also downloaded Cynthia Eden’s Bound Series (vampiric take on fairy tales) and I loved all the stories in it. The only beef I had with them was that they were all too short and hence over too fast.
    And of course, I’ve read almost everything JAK has written (which is quite an impressive number) and she has been using paranormal elements for a long time. She is still on my automatic to buy list even after 20 years or so…

    • kaleigha says:

      I love the dragon kin series…but I gave up on trying to remember who was who (the names were not something I could keep in my head). I love something like that, or actually all of her books, for a nice, fun break from the heavy stuff. I have the first NIght Prowler book waiting for me, too…and Cynthia Eden is a favorite. I find her books smart and well paced, and I like the bit of mystery in all of them.

Leave a Reply

