New Series Alerts…and a Quick Question

There is just one new series starting up this week, and it comes from author Jaye Wells. Dirty Magic is the first book in her Prospero’s War series, and it will be followed by Cursed Moon on August 12th.

dirty magicSynopsis…

The last thing patrol cop Kate Prospero expected to find on her nightly rounds was a werewolf covered in the blood of his latest victim. But then, she also didn’t expect that shooting him would land her in the crosshairs of a Magic Enforcement Agency task force, who wants to know why she killed their lead snitch.

The more Prospero learns about the dangerous new potion the MEA is investigating, the more she’s convinced that earning a spot on their task force is the career break she’s been wanting. But getting the assignment proves much easier than solving the case. Especially once the investigation reveals their lead suspect is the man she walked away from ten years earlier—on the same day she swore she’d never use dirty magic again.

Kate Prospero’s about to learn the hard way that crossing a wizard will always get you burned, and that when it comes to magic, you should be never say never.

Now, on to the question. Does anyone actually use the Completed Series list? I am in the process of updating it, and I was wondering if there is a better way of doing it. Maybe just add a note that the series is finished in the Reading Lists, or do you like a separate page for those series that have run their course?

18 thoughts on “New Series Alerts…and a Quick Question

  1. nightowlinil says:

    I would not think there’d be any reason for a separate page of ‘Completed Series’ list. Just adding a note that the series is finished in the ‘Reading List’ should totally be fine.

  2. Cassandra B. says:

    Just my two cents, it seems like a double effort to have both “Completed Series” and “Reading List”. Simply adding a note on the Reading List makes sense. Then everything is in one place and it is hopefully easier for you.

  3. Douglas C. Meeks says:

    And since I am so perceptive I did not even realize there WAS a completed series list. I will have to check it out, having a series completed is a big selling point for readers (is for me anyway)

  4. Michele A says:

    While it helps having a list of series that are completed the double effort probably isn’t worth it. I agree with the others and that just a notation in the series list is good. I do like knowing if a series is completed.

  5. Sam says:

    Off the top of my head I can think of at least 3 series I have read after seeing them on the “Completed Series” List. A notation on the “Reading Lists” instead would have the same functionality and be great. Perhaps it could be something eye catching? So we can see it easily while scrolling.

    Thanks for the awesome resource that is this site!

  6. Emily Rose says:

    I seem to be in the minority, and am new to the site, but I really like the idea of a separate list for complete series. I follow so many already that when I look for something new, I prefer a series that I can finish and not have to worry about keeping up with. It does seem like a lot of effort though, so if you combine it, maybe you could have a way to filter out the completed ones, or just make sure that the note is really obvious and makes the finished series easy to find when we’re scrolling through quickly; something bright and eye-catching.

  7. kaleigha says:

    Thanks everyone for the help. I am in the process of updating the series reading lists, and I am adding the “completed series” listings in blue. It should stand out, but hopefully not be too annoying.

  8. Kim says:

    I too thank you for all the work you have done. If an author has a series, I don’t even bother going to read it till it is done, except for one or two authors! Just so many books right now! My question would be, would you ever consider doing non-paranormal lists also? I know your site is geared to that genre, so I would understand if that’s not something you would want to do. Is there another site that does, that you know of? Either way, I will always come to your site, I love finding out new things!
    Thanks again!
    Kim

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey Kim…Thanks! I wish I had the willpower to wait until a series is done, but there are so many ongoing ones that I follow it is crazy. I think that is partly why I am on a YA marathon – usually three books, and you are done. It feels like I accomplished something. I am going back and starting to pick up some big series I hadn’t gotten into before, though, like the Elemental Assassin books and Women of the Otherworld, so by the time I actually get to read them they should be done.

      I have been asked a couple of times before if I would be interested in branching out, especially into historical romance. What genre’s were you thinking of? Were you thinking of series reading lists for authors, or for new release dates? I don’t know of any other sites that do this, but I only looked into historical fiction. Let me know what you are interested in, and I can see what it would involve.

  9. Kim says:

    Kaleigha…good evening! I wasn’t looking at any specific genre, since I read almost anything, EXCEPT YA. I don’t know why, I guess it’s because I’m almost 52 years old and I like reading things that are a little bit older. I’ve only just begun reading some of the so called NA ones, I think since they are “of age” and I don’t feel so bad about “liking” a particular guy. Isn’t that what reading is all about? Getting some “fantasy time”?? So I guess I would have to say anything that you would be willing to get into, as in the reading lists.

    As for being able to hold out till a series is done, that’s only happened within the last year or so. I got really upset with all the new prices for my kindle and decided not to buy them right away, waiting they went down when mass production of the paperbacks brought the kindle price down to under or close to $10. My favorites used to be Ward, Cole, Adrian, and a few others. But when I paid almost $15 for John Matthew’s book and it turned out to be a dude, I decided enough was enough. Not to mention I had to wait a year for the next one! Some of these authors are still my favs, and I will always read and reread them, but there are so many FREE books out there right now. I’m an addict when it comes to downloading them!!!

    With all that said, I’m ready to read a new series. Some of the completed ones you have listed I’m more than happy to try, but just wondered if you had any plans on branching out. It’s not like I don’t have enough of other books to keep my occupied, so it’s no rush! LOL

    p.s.
    I’m DYING to get back into “The immortals after dark”!!!!

    • kaleigha says:

      I had the same initial reaction to YA. I thought that I was way, WAY to old for them, but I hit a really good string of them at the beginning and they were just so well written that I sort of forgot it was for the kiddies.

      Let me keep an eye out and see about tracking down info for other genres – maybe start with straight romance, or something like that. When I started for the PNR and UF and YA lists, I had a good working knowledge of where to start, but I am so far out of the loop on other types of books it could take a while.

      I have never been a big fan of the e-books, so pricing on them was something that I just didn’t notice. But a while back I thought I must’ve read things wrong when I saw the kindle prices were actually higher than their print counterparts. I couldn’t believe it – that seemed wrong on so many levels. I would actually be a bit nervous finding free books, since Mount TBR is out of control as it is. Don’t think I would have the control to stop myself, either.

      • Emily says:

        DON’T go to kickass torrents, or download the Android app! You can get pretty much any book you want for free and it WILL become an addiction! I got the entire Night Huntress, Midnight Breed, Love at Stakes, Black Dagger Brotherhood, Guardians of Eternity, Immortals After Dark, Ghost walkers, Carpathians, Order of the Blade, Lords of the Underworld, Psy/Changeling, Guild Hunter, Breed, and Argenuea Vampire series, just to name a few. Nearly 50 complete series for free by the time I was done. New releases are usually added by noon on the day of the release. And I also download my episodes of Vampire Diaries from there as well. I will never get through my TBR list because of that darn site! I have only had a search come up empty a couple of times in the past 6 months since I found it.

  10. Kim says:

    “Out of control TBR”??? Since I started tracking on Goodreads in Nov. ’11, I have downloaded over 7000 books, about 650 of which I have read. Is that considered out of control?? LOL I have reread a lot of books that aren’t in that 650 amount tho. When a new IAD or BDB came out, (and other series) I would read the series from the beginning, so that I was in the loop of that particular series again. Doing it that way you really fall in love with the characters.

    Like I said, I have many unread books to choose from, some of which are parts of series, that I can choose from. If it took you a year to get any list done, I would be ok with that. And with the range of genres I have, anyplace you started would be good.

    I noticed this morning that I have a YA series on my kindle, just don’t ask me what it is! There was a free book that I had had downloaded last year, the 2nd of which was free today. When I went to see what it was, I was surprised to note that it was YA. I will give it a try one day. Who knows, I might surprise myself and like it!

    Can I ask you a question/favor? Since I do not read anything other than kindle, is there any way I can give my copy of Jennifer Estep’s “The Spider” to one of your followers? I won it a few weeks ago on a website, (random pick) and didn’t want to sound ungrateful that not only did I not read paperback, I hadn’t started on her series. If it can’t be done, no biggy. I could always donate it somewhere.

    • kaleigha says:

      Good lord, I know I would have no control if I downloaded. I have been developing a new system to try and limit my buying – I am keeping up with new releases, but I was going crazy buying whole series when I had never read even one book as yet. I have written down what I want, week by week, and if I go over my budget for the week I delay what is left over for the next week. Buying my own isn’t a big deal, but I also buy all of my father’s books, and he reads just as many as I do, so things get crazy fast.

      That is nice of you to offer the Estep book (I haven’t started her series yet, either). Not sure how we could work the shipping, though. I was thinking that maybe I could see if anyone wanted to do a swap with you, but if you just read kindle then you would miss out.

  11. Kim says:

    Sorry I didn’t get to you sooner. Crazy week! Anyway, daughter got to that book without me knowing. Has read it and passed it on to a friend. Lord knows where it is now!
    Thanks again for all you do!

Leave a Reply

