Reading Roundup…

Hard to believe another week has gone by, and we are staring at the end of the first month of the new year already. My goal this year is to read 150 books, including novellas, which I have never been able to hit. I think last year I topped out at 130, or somewhere in that range, but I will give it another shot this year.

This past week, I didn’t get as much done as I had thought I would, but I enjoyed everything I did get to.

the coldest girl in coldtownThe Coldest Girl in Coldtown – This stand alone from Holly Black is actually a carry over from last week…and it will be carried on to next week, too, since I am only about half way through. I have heard raves for this one, but I have to admit that it was rough going for about the first 100 pages. I can’t say it was bad, but it was dry. There was a lot of world-building to do, and I found myself having to go back quite often to figure out the whole cold/infected/immune/vampire dynamic, and that took me out of the story (hell, not sure I am clear on it now, but I am just going with it). Things do pick up as soon as they hit the Coldtown, which is like a quarantine area for vampires, those who might be infected, and some rather sad humans. I should be able to fly through the last half of the book, since things are getting quite interesting.

city of ashesCity of Ashes – This one was a re-read for the Mortal Instruments character guide that I want to get done before the final book is released. As always, it always amazes me how many details I have forgotten, or just missed altogether, from the original reading. I bought this series for the pretty covers, but I ended up being a huge fan of Cassandra Clare‘s world. Can’t wait for the last one…but I can’t help wondering who will live. And who won’t.

the weird girlsThe Weird Girls and A Cursed Moon – I am trying to get caught up on the e-novellas I am behind on, and I somehow missed not one, but two, from Cecy Robson‘s Weird Girls series. This series is surprisingly good, and reading the prequel novella cleared up some questions about how and why the sisters were cursed in the first place. But the recent second novella…wow, you don’t really want to miss that one. The main character is Bren, but there are some developments that impact pretty much everyone else. They were both great, quick reads.

clean sweepClean Sweep – This one was the highlight of my week. I didn’t read Clean Sweep when it was offered as the free serial on Ilona Andrews‘ blog (not sure why), and I am not a huge fan of e-books, so I skipped that version, too. But when I finally got my hands on a print copy that I had to order through Create Space, I devoured it in one setting. It was fun, original, and over way too soon. I am actually on my second reading, and going to whip up a quick character guide so I will be reading for the next installment.

So, what did your reading week look like? Any great one, or any big fails so far?

Leave a Reply

