Pick of the Week…

I have already done a new series post for Jennifer L. Armentrout‘s White Hot Kiss, which is my most anticipated book, so that means my second choice is actually from a series I haven’t read. Yet. Kim Harrison‘s 12th Rachel Morgan/The Hollows book, The Undead Pool, comes out this week. I haven’t heard anything bad about this series at all, and that is something you can’t say often.

the undead poolSynopsis…

Witch and day-walking demon Rachel Morgan has managed to save the demonic ever after from shrinking, but at a high cost. Now strange magic is attacking Cincinnati and the Hollows, causing spells to backfire or go horribly wrong, and the truce between the races, between Inderlander and human, is shattering.

Rachel must stop the occurrences before the undead vampire masters who keep the rest of the undead under control are lost and it becomes all-out supernatural war. However, the only way to do so is through the ancient elven wild magic, which carries its own perils.

–Rachel Morgan reading list HERE

Anything in particular you are looking forward to this week? What is your take on the Rachel Morgan books?

8 thoughts on “Pick of the Week…

  1. Coley says:

    My take – these books are excellent. Harrison has created a dynamic world with characters that have shown tremendous growth over the series. I started reading it when there were already four books out and I devoured them – as well as each installment afterwards, usually directly after release. This series pairs action, adventure and smexy times with heat and incitement!

    • kaleigha says:

      It seems to be a really solid series, from everything I have heard. The only thing that stops me is that I like a series that has one love interest, rather than a few different ones.

  2. Jackie (Literary Escapism) says:

    You haven’t read the Hollows?! You really should. Yeah Rachel has a bunch of different relationships, but it’s not like the characters are forever in the series either. There is one, but that would be a major spoiler, so I won’t say anything more. But I like the various relationships because it seems more real. We get to see how each relationship changes and further develops Rachel. It’s really fantastic. Seriously, it’s awesome.

    • kaleigha says:

      The more than one fella has been the only thing holding me back. I get attached to the hero, and if he doesn’t stick around…it bums me out. Strange, I know, but I am going to break down and try it soon.

      • Jackie (Literary Escapism) says:

        None of Rachel’s boyfriends should be considered a hero. *grin* Rachel’s idea of a boyfriend is not a healthy one, but she doesn’t know (or understand) what she wants until book 12. So there’s quite a few experiments along the way to her discovery. *grin*

        The male hero of the series is Jenks, Rachel’s sidekick. And I would question any ones sanity who would argue against that. *grin*

        • kaleigha says:

          See, that is just wrong, since you are making me curious. I know Amber is a big fan, too, so that is two of you I might have to blame for starting another series. Can’t blame my lack of control, of course.

      • Jackie (Literary Escapism) says:

        The Hollows is a really good series, unlike a lot with a female lead. The series is very much about Rachel, her growth, and her various interactions; not necessarily between her and another male figure.

        You really should read it. This is the only series I still buy in hardcover on release day. *grin*

Leave a Reply

