Review – The Angeli

Thanks once again to Doug Meeks, who sent over his review of The Angeli by Jody Wallace, which is the first book of The Maelstrom Chronicles.

angeliWhat Doug said…

I have to admit, I was not excited about reading this for a few reasons. It was science fiction which I enjoy but thought I was not in the mood for a “end of the world” scenario, it was aliens posing as angels (did not sound like anything fun or interesting), and of course there is passion with the poor human. All of which said “BORING” to my mind, I could NOT have been more wrong.

The action starts on page one and does not let up for awhile, the heroine is more entertaining than I ever imagined and the hero who is a bit conflicted (something else I generally hate) comes across as a real person who is interesting.

The plot is more complex than you will get from reading the synopsis (way more), the world building is good so you understand why things are being done pretty well and the romance becomes an intrinsic part of the plot and the ending.

Gregori and Adelita were perfect characters to play off of each other and the apocalyptic plot since they kept the story from getting too dark.  Make no mistake, this novel will pull at you emotionally in places.

If I have any real complaints it would be that while the main plot was resolved well, there were some threads of things left hanging without being addressed or answered, I assume these will be answered in a future sequel but there is no real story left and this can be considered a stand alone with no trouble for most readers.

Bottom Line: Get this book, I tend to enjoy PNR/UF mostly but this was an amazing diversion and one of the better books of any genre I have read in months. 4.5 Stars rounded to 5.

3 thoughts on “Review – The Angeli

Leave a Reply

