Arcana Chronicles Makeover…

I must be behind the times, because I was surprised when Amber sent over some news about Kresley Cole‘s Arcana Chronicles series. First off, it looks like book #3, Dead of Winter, won’t be released until next January 6th. It is a little later than I had heard originally, but not too major a pushback. Also, it looks like the first two books in the series are getting a bit of a facelift. Poison Princess will be re-released in paperback format on August 19th, and Endless Knight will make its paperback debut on September 2nd.

How do you feel about changes in cover design in the middle of a series? I can’t even count how many have gone this route lately – especially in YA trilogies. The hardcover version of the first book will have one design, and then the paperback re-release and books two and three will be totally different. I am not a fan for the mid-stream switch, even when the design changes for the better. My shelves, dammit! Must. Look. Matchy!

Here’s a side by side comparison…

poison princesspoison princess

endless knightendless knight

What do you think of the new design? I wasn’t a huge fan of the Photoshop jobs in the originals, but I didn’t hate them, either. Will you be picking up the new versions, or sticking with what you have? I would imagine that book three will follow the new design, just to toy with my emotions, so no more awkward Photoshopping to point and laugh at.

14 thoughts on “Arcana Chronicles Makeover…

  1. nightowlinil says:

    I much prefer the original covers with the couples! (On book one, the background color of bk two would have looked nice.) Although I’m not sure I’ll be reading this series since it’s YA (and it may end up being a very long series). I think if they keep going with the same type of cover for the paperbacks, it’s going to get very blah and boring to look at {and hard to tell the books apart} – not a good thing when this is a YA series – it’s not going to catch the eye of younger readers. (Perhaps they’re going to keep up with having two different covers – the one with the couples on hardbacks and e-books, and the blah one for paperbacks, thinking that most younger readers will read the e-book?)

    • kaleigha says:

      I think the new version is pretty, such as it is, but you are right…it doesn’t stand out at all. I think what I should say is that I like the colors, but there isn’t much else going on besides color. It isn’t something that would make me run out and grab it, that is for sure.

  2. Rika Ashton says:

    I prefer the original covers…and I’m not just saying that because I bought the books and want the next ones in the series to match the ones on my shelf. I hope they go with having two different covers and keep the ones with the couples for the hardcover version.

    • kaleigha says:

      Same here…the mid-stream cover switch is a little less painful if the design gets better, but to go to something more generic (although pretty enough) doesn’t make sense.

  3. Lidy says:

    “My shelves, dammit! Must. Look. Matchy!”
    OCD much? LOL I agree. Things must match or else.

    I dislike it when the covers don’t match in style, but the second cover for EK is so better that good tastes says “OH YEAH!”.

  4. Mary @ BookSwarm says:

    They’ve got a Divergent feel, with the symbol floating in the sky. I kind of like them, though I did like the originals (bad Photoshopping aside). Definitely going to mess up my shelf, though!!

  5. Janhavi says:

    Meh. The original are far more eye catching. I quite enjoyed these books- picked them up because I like the IAD series.

    • kaleigha says:

      I really like covers with a stylized symbol on them, too, like the Dark-Hunter books – but only if they are really well done.

  6. Crystal says:

    I wonder… When Endless Knight was released, a small batch of it showed up in mass market paperback locally. I’ve never found out the story behind that (mostly because I never looked), but perhaps it’s the publisher’s way of rendering those escapees if not legitimate, at least not acceptable or… SOMEthing.

      • Crystal says:

        Very. I wouldn’t have thought anything of it except that when I went to check on it at Amazon, all that showed up was the HC and the ebook. Now that I think about it, the paperbacks weren’t there the next time I was in the store so maybe they were pulled. Not quite quickly enough though as some escaped (heh). In any case, that store didn’t have any of the hard cover.

Leave a Reply

