New Series Alert…

Today was a great day. I actually got to go to a real, live bookstore. The closest one to where I live is almost 2 hours away, but today I broke down and took the drive. Even though I can get everything way cheaper online, there is nothing like just browsing the isles. Of course, it would be rude to not buy anything while I was there…

Back to business. It looks like there is just one new series coming our way this week, and it is from author Bree Despain. The Shadow Prince is the first book of the YA Into the Dark series.

the shadow princeSynopsis…

Haden Lord, the disgraced prince of the Underrealm, has been sent to the mortal world to entice a girl into returning with him to the land of the dead. Posing as a student at Olympus Hills High—a haven for children of the rich and famous—Haden must single out the one girl rumored to be able to restore immortality to his race.

Daphne Raines has dreams much bigger than her tiny southern Utah town, so when her rock star dad suddenly reappears, offering her full tuition to Olympus Hills High’s prestigious music program, she sees an opportunity to catch the break she needs to make it as a singer. But upon moving into her estranged father’s mansion in California, and attending her glamorous new school, Daphne soon realizes she isn’t the only student in Olympus who doesn’t quite belong.

Haden and Daphne—destined for each other—know nothing of the true stakes their fated courtship entails. As war between the gods brews, the teenagers’ lives collide. But Daphne won’t be wooed easily and when it seems their prophesied link could happen, Haden realizes something he never intended—he’s fallen in love. Now to save themselves, Haden and Daphne must rewrite their destinies. But as their destinies change, so do the fates of both their worlds.

Do you do your book buying online, or are you a brick-and-mortar shopper?

15 thoughts on “New Series Alert…

  1. nightowlinil says:

    I prefer to browse for books (finding the new ones out in a series that I’m reading, or finding new authors to read) in physical bookstores. However in the area that I live there is only now an independent bookstore (our B&N was closed) and there is no large bookstore closer than about a 2-hour drive away. So, I do find books online too, and sometimes I order them from the independent bookstore. Once in a while I’ll order paperback books online too, but usually only the ones that I know I’ll like.

  2. Rika Ashton says:

    I got an ARC of this novel and it was amazing! Of course, the whole Greco-Roman mythology thing was right up my alley, so I was already half in love by the time I started reading the blurb and first chapter. I was actually working on my review when this post came up in my reader – it was like fate telling me to get back to work, lol! 😀

  3. Rika Ashton says:

    And as for the answer to your question, I’m a bit of both. I love browsing in-store and can easily spend hours, but I also occasionally find great deals online and order books. But I almost always want a hard copy rather than e-book if I can get it.

  4. Emily says:

    This looks really interesting. I read some YA, but it’s not my usual go-to genre at all. I think I’m going to have to read this, though.

    I love bookstores, but, like you, I don’t have one closer than an hour- two hours away. I usually read books first on my iPad kindle app. It’s just faster and conserves space. But, I always go back and get books in my favorite series in hardcover or paperback, just to have on my bookshelf as backup. 🙂

    • kaleigha says:

      I was a YA snob for a long time (also anti UF, for some reason), but I have been finding myself reading a ton of it lately. Probably more YA than adult for the last few months, for some reason.

      • Emily says:

        It was Harry Potter and Twilight Saga that got me reading YA. I know, go ahead and roll your eyes over Twilight. lol. It’s got such a bad rep because of those lame a** movies! But man, the books were sooooo good. I don’t know if I could read a YA the wasn’t PNR or UF, though. That might be too big of a stretch for me.

  5. Emily says:

    And btw, what does it say about this new ebook era that everyone seems to be a couple of hours away from an actual bookstore? I used to have closer ones, but they have all closed within the past couple of years. I wonder when books will be as obsolete as VHS tapes. lol.

      • Emily says:

        If it weren’t for the fact that I can buy them from the comfort of my couch, and then read them immediately without waiting for shipment, I would probably hate ebooks, too. But, being the combo of lazy AND impatient, ebooks are a God-send for me. I still vastly prefer the look and feel of an actual book though, and still buy my favorites. If I’m re-reading a book that I have on my bookshelf, I always choose the actual book. But for the first go-’round, nothing beats reading within minutes of the release. I sit up until midnight waiting for the download on books that I like well enough to pre-order.

      • peeeeaches says:

        I mean I understand the value of a book and I do love have collections of them. But being a person that can read 1-2 full books a day the ebooks are amazing, I reread all my series multiple times every year. So I can finish the Anita Blake series in a week as opposed to weeks because I can conviently go from book to book no matter where I am. I also work 3 jobs so I love the fact that have a multitude of books always available to me at my disposle, whenever I get a free reading moment. So I love both forms of books but since I’m rarely home I la-la-love my eBook.

  6. Emily says:

    Yep, the mobility of the ebook is convenient, as well as having a ton of books on hand at once. No way could I carry 500+ books around with me otherwise.

  7. kaleigha says:

    I think that I could handle the e-books with a proper e-reader (or maybe my i-pad), but I loath reading off of the computer for some reason. I think if I was like Emily and bought the physical copies, too, I would find it much more convenient.

    • Emily says:

      My iPad is what I use and the kindle app is free. It’s a real space saver, for sure. The only books taking up space in my house are ones that I know I’m going to re-read often. Some kindle books are loanable, and you can get free sample chapters on all books before buying them, so it’s a money saver, too. Not to mention all the not-so-legal free copies of ebooks floating around out there. lol. You can send mobi and PDF files to your kindle as well. It was a little weird at first to read off a screen, but I quickly got used to it, and some of its benefits; like when my husband turns out the lights at night, I don’t need a lamp or book light to keep reading. You should give it a try for a couple of weeks, or a few books, and see how you like it. You might find out that you don’t hate ebooks after all. 🙂

      • kaleigha says:

        I really should…I have done the novellas off of my desktop, and that was just plain wrong feeling. I haven’t set up my i-pad to do much more than web browse, and that might get me off my butt to do something.

        • Emily Rose says:

          Yeah, I wouldn’t want to sit at a desk reading off the computer either, or even a laptop for that matter. But the iPad is comfortable. I’m not done setting mine up either. I’ve got most of my favorite apps, but I’ve been meaning to jailbreak it since I got it and keep procrastinating. I had an Android tablet before this, and there’s a couple of apps that I loved that Apple doesn’t support. They are the devil, you know. lol. I swore I would never get an iPad or iPhone, but ended up with this stinking thing when my daughter broke her tablet, and my husband had an extra iPad. Apparently, she isn’t old enough to have the almighty iPad, but me giving her my cheap little Android tablet that I loved was okay. I’m not bitter at all, though. NOT! lol. At least I still have an Android phone…

Leave a Reply

