Reader Reaction…Murder of Crows and Night Broken

There were a few big titles that came out in the last couple of days, including Anne Bishop‘s book of the month, Murder of Crows, and the new Mercy Thompson book from Patricia Briggs, Night Broken.

I am starting Night Broken next, but I did manage to devour Murder of Crows in a couple of days. I was very, very happy that it managed to live up to the high expectations I had after reading last year’s Written in Red. I think I enjoyed the second book even more because I went into it after pulling a recent re-read of the first book, so all of the details were fresh.

The world-building for this series is both unique and complex. I like the different take on the Others – there’s not a tortured but misunderstood shifter or vampire to be found. I like the dark, violent, unpredictable edge that these characters have…and I also very much enjoyed seeing these predators become just a little bit more human through interactions with their growing “human pack”. Simon’s confusion over his changing relationship with Meg provided some unexpected lighter moments in what could be a dark story.Murder of Crows was an excellent read, and I can’t wait to see where the next book will take us.

What was your take on Murder of Crows or Night broken? Did they prove to be all you hoped for? Where do you see the stories going next?

10 thoughts on “Reader Reaction…Murder of Crows and Night Broken

    • kaleigha says:

      It really does have its own take on things, and it isn’t always easy to find something different, that’s for sure.

  1. Jean says:

    I loved Night Broken. I’m never disappointed with the Mercy Thompson series. I know I really loved a book if I finish a new release and am tempted to re-read previous books by the author, which is what happened with Night Broken. That series is one of my faves.

    I also read murder of crows and enjoyed it.

    • kaleigha says:

      I do want to do a re-read one day on the Mercy series, too. You get so much more out of them the second (or third) time around.

  2. Cassandra B. says:

    I just started the Mercy Thompson series last year after following this blog. It just isn’t my cup of tea, I like it but don’t love it. I have a copy reserved at the library, so I will be reading this book in a few weeks.

    I read Murder of Crows in one night and it is all a bit of a blur. I know I loved it because when I was reading I was really upset to realize I was at the 70% mark because I wanted more. I need to reread the book to get a better feel, but I already know that while I really love this Others series, it isn’t going to be a straightforward love. I generally avoid books/series that give me conflicted feelings, but I know that is occasionally a good thing to mix it up a bit. I can only hope that I can roll with the punches. I am going to give my mind time to settle than I am going to reread the book and then I will be better able to clearly talk about my impressions.

    • kaleigha says:

      There are a couple of series I am like that about, too…everyone seems on the bandwagon, and while I like them I don’t LOVE them (Midnight Breed is one, for example). I have a re-read planned for Murder of Crows, too, and I wonder how much I missed the first time around.

  3. S Cook says:

    I loved both of these new releases. Anne Bishop’s series has become one of my top favs. She definitely penned another winner!

    And Briggs’ shifter books are awesome. This latest one is no different. I have to admit I was worried when I read the description–about Adam’s ex coming back. I didn’t think I wanted to read about that. While that was part of the story, it wasn’t the main focus. And I like how Adam and Mercy got through everything together!

  4. peeeeaches says:

    So glad I came across Anne Bishop’s Other’s series……it’s been a long time since I found a cant-put-down-to-save-my-life series. Lately I’ve just been rereadig what I own. Do you know if her other series are any good? Thanks again for that post she is now one of my top favorite authors!!!!

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey peeeeaches…I am with you in my enjoyment of the Others, that’s for sure. I haven’t tried her other series, either, but I have heard that the first few books are really good.

Leave a Reply

