Bite Me Review…

review iconWe don’t have long to wait now for Shelly Laurenston‘s next Pride book, Bite Me (it is due out this Tuesday), but Doug Meeks got his hands on an early copy and has already done up his review. I very much enjoy this series, since I find that its zany humor is a great break between the darker, heavier stuff I usually read. It isn’t a series I could marathon and read several in a row, but I look forward to every new release and read them as soon as I get my hands on one.

What Doug said…

Livy Kowalski has no time for idiots. When you shapeshift into a honey badger, getting through life’s irritants is a finely honed skill. Until she gets stuck housing her nutso cousin and dealing with her dad’s untimely and unexplained demise.

That’s where Vic Barinov comes in–or his house does. Vic can’t step outside without coming back to find Livy devouring his honey stash and getting the TV remote sticky. It gets his animal instincts all riled up. But he’ll have to woo her at high speed: all hell is breaking loose, and Livy is leading the charge…

Livy and Vic are the most unlikely couple I have read about in quite some time, couple that with a plot that had to be hatched in some asylum someplace, a world where mental health is a weakness and you have Shelly Laurenston’s latest novel, Bite Me.

I had forgotten how much I liked these novels since it has been a long time since the last one for me, it had me laughing regularly from start to finish but then you have to really love her humor to truly enjoy these novels.

These books are actually supposed to be a paranormal romance of sorts but underneath all that is a story of murder, mayhem, insane relatives, equally insane friends who love you and revenge (I love revenge).

One of the things I do enjoy about this series is that hardly anyone ever goes away, they almost all show up in each book and play a part, some larger than others but all the favorites from past books are usually around (including the Smiths) and this is no exception.

This book was so much fun you hardly notice that there are some serious things going on at times (aside from the romance that takes a back seat many times in this book). Great writing, insane humor that appeals to a lot of people (like me) and a great ending are all trademarks of Shelly Laurenston’s books and this one stays true to form. 4.5 Stars and if you ever enjoyed any of her books you WILL enjoy this one.

I know that there are a lot of fans of the Pride series (and the Dragon Kin books, written under the name G.A. Aiken, too). Does anyone else feel that this is one series that shows no signs of slowing down, but keeps getting better with each book?

5 thoughts on “Bite Me Review…

  1. Diane says:

    This series is absolutely wonderful; it’s got humor, great characters and the so important HEA; I hope she never stops writing this series!!!

  2. cheryl says:

    I have to say I got hooked on these when the only thing I could get was trade paperback, now I get the kindle and my arms and bookshelf are happier. I love the insanity of the characters and the humor… sometimes I would like to whack my own family members on the head. ( of course, not in reality because they don’t need more brain damage).
    Shelley Laurenston is an auto buy for me.

  3. Jean says:

    Can’t wait for my copy of Bite Me to arrive. Shelly Laurenston/GA Aiken can do no wrong, in my humble opinion. When an author can get me to laugh out loud while reading a book, that’s huge!

Leave a Reply

