Show Heart of Obsidian Some Love…

voteThe yearly dabwaha event is down to the elite eight, and one of the finalists is one of last year’s best books, ย Nalini Singh‘s Heart of Obsidian. It is up against a book I haven’t actually heard of before, Captive Prince by CS Pacat. Captive Prince has a slight lead, but it is still anyone’s game at this point.

Voting wraps up soon, so if you haven’t made your choices yet, maybe stop by and show Nalini some love.

*Edit…well, looks like by the time I finally got around to posting this, the poll was closing. That will teach me to hit “publish” before work, not after.

21 thoughts on “Show Heart of Obsidian Some Love…

    • dougmeeks says:

      Ignore that, I stupidly used common sense since I assumed nobody would run a poll that could only be voted on between midnight and noon on a Sunday because that would be stupid …. right? Unless you were shooting for a certain outcome.

  1. Tavia says:

    Rigging the polls, what a surprise. Nalini is awesome, the Prince of whatever by whoever, a book that nobody seems to have read, won nothing. I don’t know about the rest of you, I won’t be going out to buy the “winning” book. Tavia

  2. Janhavi says:

    i dont think it was rigged- all the dabwaha polls run for 12 hours, 1/2 of all polls are in the midnight to 12am slot. But yeah, i think there was not quite enough word out among nalini fans.

    Next year maybe we can make an organized push ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Pallavi says:

    Ooooh, I did not know about this controversy at all… I was SUPER DISAPPOINTED at the result. And yes, I do agree with Doug and Tavia think this was a bullsh*t result.

    Until it came up against HoO, I had NEVER even heard of CP. And it beats Kaleb’s book. I don’t think so.

    For such a wonderful talented writer with 2 successful long-running series – I don’t know how she keeps losing at this tournament…

    • kaleigha says:

      I thought it was just me who hadn’t heard of it, and that I was out of the loop. It seemed to come out of nowhere, that is for sure.

    • Janhavi says:

      Thats the really strange thing– each year, she is predicted to win but somewhow has not yet. In part Nalini doesn’t campaign too much, so I think a lot of her fans are not aware of it. I think with some planning, we can make it happen next time ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Angie says:

    Both books have been in both time slots equally. You know, just like every other book that has made it this far. Nobody has read it? Huh? https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9305362-captive-prince?ac=1 and that’s just Goodreads, not the world.

    All my respect for Ms. Singh, but I guess fans will be fans. Hopefully I won’t be such a sore loser when Denstiny’s Embrace kicks our butts in the next round, which has a high probability. Dabwaha is great to meet new books and authors and it should be fun.

    • kaleigha says:

      Nobody is trying to be a sore loser, actually. It is a surprise that the voting wrapped up so quickly, as I say I usually don’t notice until the end and I thought that it would be at least 24 hours, rather than 12. My fault. I don’t believe it was rigged, I believe it was so short a voting period that I missed it.

      As someone who reads quite a bit, and makes it a point to try and keep track of what’s what in books (both personally and for this blog), I was surprised that I had never heard of the book or the author that managed to knock out my favorite book from last year, by my favorite author, from my favorite series. I recognized the other six books from the elite eight, but Captive Prince was new to me. That is all. I wondered if I was perhaps out of the loop, which is why I wondered if anyone else had heard of it. I try to be as interactive as possible here, and if it is something that fits the books I cover here I would make a point of adding the info to the new release sections and series reading lists. Sorry if you feel offended, not my intention.

      • Angie says:

        I’m truly sorry for the sore loser comment, I just have seen so much bad blood and unwarranted accusations because of it. Rigging, cheating, bad time slot, whatnot. I’m not generally much for paranormal, but I’m actually interested in this series and discovered and bought other books through this competition. Whether they beat my favourite book or not ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s been mostly fun for me to follow, and the author have been classy and nice with each other. I just wish we fans could do the same ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. kaleigha says:

    No problem…I get it. The problem with the electronic age is that you can’t get the tone of what someone is saying. I got a bit annoyed with myself because of missing the whole voting thing until the last round. I try to keep up to date on these things, but I can never get my act together when it comes to catching this on time. I know the fans do tend to get more rabid than the authors, that is for sure.

    Someone a while back actually suggested trying something like the dwa…ha..you know, here. That scares me a bit…a lot of work, and a lot of drama. More fun to just try and pull for the favorites, I think.

  6. Angie says:

    Yes, not getting info in time must have played a part. CP fans did a lot of work getting the word out and informing each other of this event in several online groups. I personally don’t frequent author blogs a lot, but did spread the word when I got wind of it. Just like other fandoms, we obviously are passionate, but we also know that she’s not yet an established name like most of the competition (that doesn’t mean she doesn’t have a strong following). I think we did a good job so far, but I don’t know how far that will take us in the next round. It’s scary ๐Ÿ™‚ We’ll see…

    I hear you, I would never try to host/organize something like this, my heart wouldn’t take it. I stay with the fun part: root, vote and read ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

