Pick of the Week…

Laini Taylor‘s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series wraps up this week with the release of the third book, Dreams of Gods and Monsters. I very much enjoyed the first book when it came out…it had a different vibe to it, and very lyrical writing. Book two I found dragged on a bit, and I found myself drifting away from it to pick up other books along the way. But book three is still going to be my pick of the week, and I am hoping for a great ending to this very different series.

dreams of gods and monstersSynopsis…

Dreams starts where Days left off, with Karou and Akiva discovering each other alive — although Karou is still not ready to forgive Akiva for killing the only family she’s ever known. And now, through an act of staggering deception, Karou has taken control of the chimaera rebellion and is intent on steering its course away from dead-end vengeance.

When Jael’s brutal angel army trespasses into the human world, Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat. It is a twisted version of their long-ago dream, and they begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves – maybe even toward love. But there are bigger threats than Jael in the offing. From the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond, humans, chimaera, and seraphim will fight, strive, love, and die in an epic theater that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy.

–Daughter of Smoke and Bone reading list HERE

What was your take on the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series? Did you find yourself less involved with the second book than the first book, like I did? How do you think the whole thing wraps up in this one?

2 thoughts on “Pick of the Week…

  1. Lisa says:

    Great choice, I’m waiting for the library to text me that it’s ready for pick up. This series is one of my all time favorites. I tell everyone who will listen about these books. I love the authors writing style, I think it’s beautiful. I didn’t find the second one slow at all but one of my friends that I recommended this series to also told me she found the second book a little drawn out but loved it regardless. I think this series is very unique, I have not found anything like it, plus the covers are pretties!!! I hope it ends well but I’m not sure there will be a HEA, I find these somewhat dark and you can never tell how the dark ones will end!!

    • kaleigha says:

      I think it was the pretty covers that drew me in the first place, and you are absolutely right that there isn’t anything else like it out there. The writing style is so unique and lyrical without being too over the top.

Leave a Reply

