Spotlight on…Dead of Winter

It never, ever fails. About an hour after I get the author pages updated, a new cover or blurb will become available for one of their upcoming books. This time around, it is both the cover art and official blurb for the third book in Kresley Cole‘s Arcana Chronicles, Dead of Winter. This one was originally supposed to be released this fall, but was pushed back to next January 6th.

dead of winter

Can Evie convince her rival loves to work together? Their survival depends on it in this third book of #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole’s Arcana Chronicles, a nonstop action tale of rescue, redemption, and a revenge most wicked.

Heartbreaking decisions
Evie was almost seduced by the life of comfort that Death offered her—until Jack was threatened by two of the most horrific Arcana, The Lovers. She will do anything to save him, even escape Death’s uncanny prison, full of beautiful objects, material comforts…and stolen glances from a former love.

Uncertain victory
Despite leaving a part of her heart behind with Death, Evie sets out into a frozen and perilous post-apocalyptic wasteland to meet up with her allies and launch an attack on The Lovers and the vast army they command. Such formidable enemies require a battle plan, and the only way to kill them once and for all may mean Evie, Jack, and Death allying. Evie doesn’t know what will prove more impossible: surviving slavers, plague, Bagmen and other Arcana—or convincing Jack and Death to work together.

Two heroes returned
There’s a thin line between love and hate, and Evie just doesn’t know where she stands with either Jack or Death. Will this unlikely trio be able to defeat The Lovers without killing one another first?

The first two books in the series are being re-released in paperback with this new cover design, stepping away from the badly Photoshopped characters on the front. What do you think of this new design style? What is your take on the Arcana Chronicles? Did your Immortals After Dark love follow you into this series, or did you find her young adult books didn’t pack the same punch?

4 thoughts on “Spotlight on…Dead of Winter

  1. Amber Hughes says:

    I didn’t read the blurb because I haven’t read the second book yet! I’m one of the odd ones who didn’t fall in love with the first book, but I did buy the second one because I still wanted to continue the story. However, it’s still sitting on my bookshelf. *sigh*

    • kaleigha says:

      Good idea…I have been caught so, so many times just taking a quick peek at a blurb when I am not caught up yet, and it will say something like “Now that Bob is dead and Bill turned evil…” What? No!

  2. Amy says:

    To be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of the second book. I thought the smexy scenes were way too graphic for what’s supposed to be a YA novel, and I HATED the love triangle. I mean, it was so bad at the end that I really, really wanted to throw the book across the room. I will probably go ahead and read the third book simply because I want to know how things turn out, but it will most likely only be a library read for me.

    • kaleigha says:

      I didn’t mind the second book, but I am not really a fan of the triangle when I like them both. I wasn’t expecting the triangle, and not sure where it is going.

Leave a Reply

