Updating, Amazon and Hachette…

It has been about two months since I have updated the new release dates for 2014 and 2015, but I have hit a bit of a roadblock. Title after title keeps coming up as “not available” – no preorder button in sight. I found that strange, and was actually on the verge of just deleting some of them. Turns out that they might be a victim of the escalating Amazon/Hachette debacle.

Basically, Amazon and Hachette Publishing are at odds over e-book prices. For a while, Amazon had been making its displeasure known by slowing down delivery times for Hachette authors, saying that delivery times would run between 3-5 weeks…and then providing links for similar titles from non-Hachette authors. Hachette has said that it is “sparing no effort and exploring all options.” The customers are losing out, but so are the authors. Some of the imprints affected are Grand Central Publishing, Little, Brown and Company, and Orbit.

So, between the Amazon/Hachette tribulations, and Entangled Publishing playing its usual push-back tactics, the new release dates are sketchy, at best. Here’s hoping that things get back to normal soon.

2 thoughts on “Updating, Amazon and Hachette…

  1. Rika Ashton says:

    This sounds fun…not. I read about this before, and though I’ve never bought anything from Amazon before, this still sounds frustrating. From the other article I read, by Jay Kristoff, it sounds like Amazon was being a douche.

    • kaleigha says:

      It really does. I sound like I am always picking on Amazon, but for years I was a weekly buyer without fail. I just find that issues now are driving me to look elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

