Soo, I’ve Been Thinking…

question markFirst of all, just a quick note to say that all of the author pages have been updated, along with the new release listings for both 2014 and 2015. A few of the links for e-books are not working because Amazon is doing its think with Hachette, but I figure when that gets straightened out things should go back to normal.

Now, the thinking part. With my recent disillusionment with Amazon (and the wonky linkage for some of their titles), I was wondering if I should switch all of the links on Wicked Scribes over to Goodreads. Every book links to its Amazon page, since I have always just thought that most people would get the most use out of them that way. But a good portion of Wicked Scribes followers are not American, so it doesn’t work at all for them (I use Amazon.ca or Chapters, personally, so I never did use them for one-stop buying).

What do you think? Stick with running all of the links here to Amazon.com, or does switching to Goodreads make more sense? Goodreads seems more universal, for the non-American readers, I think. Or, for that matter, is there another site that you would find more convenient to link to make your book purchasing easier?

31 thoughts on “Soo, I’ve Been Thinking…

    • kaleigha says:

      There is enough blame to go around, isn’t there? The only ones who suffer are the authors…and the readers.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have seen where a lot of people have moved on from Goodreads, to places like Booklikes. I checked it out quickly, but not really sure how that one works.

  1. Amber Hughes says:

    I’m good either way. I did want to ask though if there was a way for the “links” to open up in a new tab, so it doesn’t go away from your site when you click on the book links. Is that possible? If not, it’s all good!

    • kaleigha says:

      I took a look, and it looks like there is an option you can check when you post a link to open in a new window. I never thought of it before, but it should work on any links added from now on (might not on the ones already done, though, unless I switch everything to Goodreads). Thanks for the idea.

  2. Rika Ashton says:

    I buy all my books through Chapters. Though I o ccassionally look up book info/reviews through Goodreads. I rarely, if ever, use Amazon for info on new releases. They aren’t as good with their updates as some of the UK sites I use.

    • kaleigha says:

      I have done all of my recent shopping through Chapters, too. Finding it much better…and kind of fun to keep an eye open for sales, too (love hunting for things like that). If you don’t mind me asking, which UK sites do you check out?

      • Rika Ashton says:

        I usually use Fantastic Fiction to find info on upcoming books for authors I like. They usually upload blurbs a few months ahead of other sites. Most of the time they’re just teasers but when I’m hunting for updates every bit counts, lol!

    • kaleigha says:

      I had forgotten about that. I was waiting for the big changes to come to Goodreads, and when things stayed the same it slipped my mind. Looks like they might’ve left that alone. For now.

  3. Judy V says:

    Personally, I prefer getting my book info from Goodreads. It is usually up to date and I like to see which of my friends have read a book. Their reviews are much more important to my decision than those on Amazon.

    • kaleigha says:

      I don’t usually check too many Amazon reviews, because I tend to get angry. The ones who give one star because a book cost too much or didn’t come out in the format that they wanted makes me insane. Rating something other than the book itself is just wrong.

  4. nightowlinil says:

    Amazon does now own Goodreads, but we can’t “buy” books from the Goodreads site, but it does provide links to click on that takes you to lots of different sites to buy the book from. Whether the link is to Amazon or Goodreads doesn’t matter to me.

    @Amber Hughes – In regards to the link thing: No matter what website you’re on, you can open up any embedded link in a different window by pushing on the middle button of your mouse (that you use to scroll with). If you have a laptop and only use the flat scroll-pad, I don’t know what you use for that because I strongly dislike those and disabled mine.

    • Amber Hughes says:

      Thanks nightowlinil! I’ve done that with other links before on sites (right clicked on mouse for a new tab) and I don’t know why I didn’t think of that for the book links too. Lol! πŸ™‚

    • kaleigha says:

      That was what I was thinking about Goodreads, there is a list of links to sites other than Amazon to buy from for those who don’t swing the Amazon.com way.

  5. linda says:

    Goodreads would be good, there are several pluses: it seems like links go up there much earlier and I like that if I mark a book To Read ahead of the release date, I get an email reminding me when it’s actually out.

    • Amber Hughes says:

      Thanks nightowlinil! I’ve done that with other links before on sites (right clicked on mouse for a new tab) and I don’t know why I didn’t think of that for the book links too. Lol! πŸ™‚

  6. Sarah says:

    Personally I’d either link to Goodreads, or better, Barnes & Nobel. But keep in mind the Amazon OWNS Goodreads too, and if the publishing war (for lack of a better term) gets worse, Amazon could pull more dirty tricks and mess up Goodreads dates as well.

  7. Stephanie says:

    I would love to see the links to Goodreads. After viewing your recs, I’ll swing over to GoodReads and mark TBR. I never use Amazon as my go to book pile.

  8. Coley says:

    I like goodreads links because I save my to-read list there and I can add (almost) straight from your site without having to open another window and search for the book I just saw on your site. πŸ™‚

  9. Rosa says:

    Hi!! I am from Honduras, for me amazon is not a good source, I think Goodreads is the best choice, I can put the books in my to-read list πŸ™‚

  10. PhoenixFyre says:

    I also prefer Amazon to Goodreads. At least most of the due dates are correct and Goodreads isn’t as much. I also use Barnes and Noble as I have a Nook HD and have always had a Nook since they came out.

Leave a Reply

