Cover Lover – The Shadows

I was actually surprised to find this one this early, since J.R. Ward‘s The Shadows isn’t due out until next April 7th. I have to say, I like the purple…it will stand out well on the shelf.

the shadowsPurchase at Amazon.com

The Black Dagger Brotherhood is one of the most polarizing series I have come across. It has some of the most rabid fans…and some of the biggest detractors. Many found the first few books among the best they have read, but lost interest as the tone of the series changed. Where do you fall? Are you looking forward to Trez and iAm’s stories, or taking a pass on this one?

 

9 thoughts on “Cover Lover – The Shadows

  1. Emily says:

    I absolutely love the series. The only thing that I noticed that changed after the first few books is that there was more focus on people and events outside of the hero/heroine typical storyline. Some of the complaints I saw was that it was more urban fantasy than romance after the first few books. I don’t see that at all. I like that she continues to write about couples from previous books; that their stories don’t end just because their book did. How can adding more romance (with revisiting older couples alongside new ones) make people complain about it not being a romance anymore? Those comments have always confused me. And having a war as a backdrop added some excitement. And of course, there were plenty of fans who got offended by the Qhinn/Blay storyline. I’ve also seen comments hating the slang. It’s funny because ten books into the series, people are still complaining about things she’s done since the very first book. I actually like the slang, but then I’m cool (not). lol. It does make it more memorable, though. I am currently reading about 15 different PR series, and about 10 of those blur together. Ward’s originality is what makes her one of my favorite authors. You’re right though, people seem to either really love, or really hate the series. I can’t think of anyone I know who is just kind of neutral about it. And you wouldn’t believe some of the online fighting I’ve seen over it, with comments on reviews. They defend Ward like she’s their mother, or trash talk like she’s their worst enemy. It’s crazy!

  2. Cassandra B. says:

    I like the series in the beginning and was reading then when they were first released. I think it started to go downhill for me after Phury’s or Butch’s book. I didn’t like either. With the books being so long and sometimes so little focus on the actual main characters for a particular book, I lost all interest. I wasn’t bothered by the slang or M/M, J.R. Ward’s writing style just isn’t for me. I am not interested in a 400 page book where I want to skip half the book.

    In regards to the complaint about UF versus romance, I don’t personally have an issue with that, but I think it likely stems from the couples’ continuing story often being about major problems in their relationship. I am thinking particularly of Vishous and Doc Jane here. I read part of book #9, Lover Unleashed, and while it is billed about being about Payne, it mostly seemed to be about Vishous and his issues. For a romance reader that can be a problem. Romance demands a happy ending, that is the one defining characteristic of the genre. The continuing storylines seem to mess with that. Obviously, if you are a fan of the series, you are along for the ride, but I can understand how it could bother some readers. At that point, I was already mostly done with the series, but still checked back with books that featured characters I liked or was curious about from earlier. Now I don’t check about at all, but I completely understand how BDB can be someone’s book crack.

    Just as an aside, I really respected J.R. Ward for featuring a M/M couple in her series. She could have let the relationship evolve during the other books without its own book and likely avoided some flak.

  3. Janhavi says:

    I only read it last year, afte the Quinn Blay books was released, and read them all at once. I am very conflicted about it- I am not really a fan, but they are somehwat addictive so I read The King when it released and will probably stick to the series. yet they all rate around 2, 3 stars for me (except John and Xhex which got a 4 star, and Phury’s got 1).

    • Cassandra B. says:

      I really like John and Xhex’s book, too. I actually brought it after I had already left the series. I have never read it cover to cover, I really do not enjoy the Lesser bits, but after the first book (which is much more traditional romance), it is my favorite.

  4. PhoexnixFyre says:

    Here is the Summary for “The Shadows.” JR Posted it today on FB for a special 4th of July gift:

    Two brothers bound by more than blood fight to change a brutal destiny in the heart-wrenching new novel of the Black Dagger Brotherhood by #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward.
    Trez “Latimer” doesn’t really exist. And not just because the identity was created so that a Shadow could function in the underbelly of the human world. Sold by his parents to the Queen of the S’Hsibe as a child, Trez escaped the Territory and has been a pimp and an enforcer in Caldwell, NY for years- all the while on the run from a destiny of sexual servitude. He’s never had anyone he could totally rely on… except for his brother, iAm.
    iAm’s sole goal has always been to keep his brother from self-destructing- and he knows he’s failed. It’s not until the Chosen Serena enters Trez’s life that the male begins to turn things around… but by then it’s too late. The pledge to mate the Queen’s daughter comes due and there is nowhere to run, nowhere to hide, and no negotiating.
    Trapped between his heart and a fate he never volunteered for, Trez must decide whether to endanger himself and others- or forever leave behind the female he’s in love with. But then an unimaginable tragedy strikes and changes everything. Staring out over an emotional abyss, Trez must find a reason to go on or risk losing himself and his soul forever. And iAm, in the name of brotherly love, is faced with making the ultimate sacrifice…

    PhoenixFyre

    • Emily says:

      Thank you! Independence Day isn’t really a gift giving holiday, but I’m glad Ward thinks it is. lol. I agree about the multiple story lines; this way none of their stories are ever really over. It may not be considered “romance” for couples to continue to struggle, but it’s real. I actually think it’s MORE romantic that we continually see a couple overcome whatever issues arrive. It shows how strong their relationship is. I loved Lover Unleashed as well. Vishous is one of my favorite brothers so I will never complain when Ward revisits him. Its unique from everything else I read. It’s hard to be original with paranormal romance, especially with vampires. Ward really stands out, though, in a sea of vampire novels.

  5. PhoexnixFyre says:

    I love this series. And Jan, her books rate at 4 1/2 stars on all reviews. Phury’s book wasn’t that great even though I love him and expected more from it. I do love the ‘multiple story line’ now. It totally keeps me going. And I did love “Lover Unleashed” when Vishous finally broke down. I loved that he did. I can’t get enough of the Brothers…. And JR always makes the New York Times best seller list.

  6. Janhavi says:

    Im not a fan of the first book. I am too irritated by the initial -meet-and-hook-up scene (though I forget the details of why I got annoyed by it)

  7. Charleen says:

    I love the BDB series, there have been a few books that I didn’t like as well as others but I think the series needs to change and grow in order to keep readers. I look forward to Trez and iAm’s story. They have been interesting characters.

Leave a Reply

