Doug’s Review…Poison Promise

review iconDoug Meeks is getting back into the swing of things, and he sent over a second review to tide us over for this week. This time around, he tackles Poison Promise, the 11th book of Jennifer Estep‘s very popular Elemental Assassin series. Doug got his hands on this one a bit early, but the rest of us have to wait until July 22nd. On a truly shallow note, I do love the covers on this series – they have stayed consistently great from the first book right on through, and not a lot of series can make that claim.

poison promiseWhat Doug said…

Poison Promise

Jennifer Estep

Well this is the 11th book in the Elemental Assassin series and they show no signs of getting stale.  This installment is more of a warm-up for the next one I fear though since we actually get to meet MM Monroe for a few pages but that is not the villain for this novel but it does give you an idea of what Gin is going to be up against.

Let us get back to what THIS book is about, Gin through a series of somewhat seemingly random events runs afoul of a local drug lord named Benson and while he is a vampire and commands a large criminal army it is a special power of his that make him a dangerous foe for Gin.

This book we see a bit of family strife between Bria and Gin, a new friend and what looks to be a new permanent addition to Gin’s entourage.  I can’t say too much more than that without being spoilerish and I stay away from spoilers.

There is a new drug on the streets called Burn and it is making Benson a lot of money, Gin and Bria are both looking to put an end to him and his business.  The job is easier said than done, trust me, it is not going to be neither easy nor painless.

This may be the first novel in awhile that her love life seem to be actually approaching something normal and steady which I think is long overdue since her love life has been in shambles in most of the novels in this series.

Bottom Line:  It is the Elemental Assassin, bad guy shows up, threatens somebody she cares for; little blood on both sides and bad guy has a really, really bad day.  This novel is saved from reading like a formula from other books by some interesting side interests and the addition of a couple of interesting new characters.  The manner of the culminating conflict is a bit new also, I liked it; hope to see more of it.  I have to give it 4.5 Stars and almost want to lower it to 4 because I suspect the next one is going to be really great and I am running out of stars but that would not really be fair to this book.

Purchase at Amazon.com

What is your take on the Elemental Assassin series? STill holding strong, or are you ready to see things wrap up for Gin and company?

8 thoughts on “Doug’s Review…Poison Promise

  1. PhoexnixFyre says:

    I know this is a strange question but who is Doug Meeks? Is he a fan or a Reviewer for a publishing company? I am just curious.

    • kaleigha says:

      Hey Phoenix…Doug does reviews and posts them at a few places like Amazon and Goodreads, and he started sending some over for me a while back. He used to have his own blog, so he knows that sometimes it is handy to have a review to post on a day when it seems you just can’t find the time to make up a new post. As far as I know, he does it just for enjoyment, and he is getting up the list on the “Amazon reviewers” too.

      • PhoenixFyre says:

        Thank you Doug. I like your insight into the ratings. I like reviews but it is hard to find one who can be honest about a book. A few always loves everything they read. Even my two favorite all-time authors had some books that weren’t great. But when you do a huge series of 12 or more books, you are bound to find some that aren’t as good. That is why it is important for authors to read the reviews also. I also saw your photo on the website you told me to check out. You look like a hippie like me and my husband, lol. Yeah, we are all about the same age. Ever since Pink Floyd came out I never liked normal anything. Books especially. even in college I wrote ‘Fantasy’ papers. I have a knack for that. That is why I like PRN/UF/Sci-Fi. I live this life everyday and I like escaping in a good book in a different world. Thank you for your great and honest reviews. I look forward to seeing more.

      • dougmeeks says:

        And Pink Floyd is coming out with a new CD this fall after many many years 🙂 1 every couple of decades and Queen is not coming closer than 1000 miles of me

  2. cheryl says:

    Ooooh, this sounds so good. Thanks for the great heads up Doug. I usually get her books no matter what but now I am going to be impatient for this one.
    Doug is a fellow book lover and has more energy than I, to do reviews, thank goodness someone does it. You can usually catch a bunch of us , at Amazon, chatting at the kindle discussion board Read, Reading, Planning to Read (and)…. a great place along with this one to find new books to read.

  3. dougmeeks says:

    I should mention that it is starting to read like she is winding the series up, I have not done the research yet but I think her contract runs out the book after this one, but I could be wrong but the series has got a feel to it last couple of books that it may be ending.

Leave a Reply

