So, The 50 Shades Thingy Has a Trailer Now…

Yeah. Huh. I have watched this a couple of times, and I still don’t quite know what to think. Check it out…

 

What in the holy hell is she wearing?

 

I admit, I did skim through the books, but I found myself rolling my eyes and snickering quite a bit. It left me with a hazy recollection of the story, enough to know that dude is all Mr. Controlling, and that Anastasia (I think that was her name?) is supposed to be innocent and submissive. So, to show how sweet and innocent she is they dress her in clothes her grandmother wouldn’t be caught dead in? Good lord. The trailer made me laugh more than the book did.

18 thoughts on “So, The 50 Shades Thingy Has a Trailer Now…

  1. Amy says:

    I’m just curious how many times she’s going to bite her lip in the movie considering she did it about 50,000 times in the book. :-}

  2. cheryl says:

    I can’t believe how many people were chatting about this that it made the nightly news. Really? I remember I was at wallyworld checking out the new paperback releases and a fifty plus year old was standing next to me … it was during the fifty shades book craze and she says it was recommended to her by her niece. Long story short, try to explain BDSM to someone who is clueless about it. Talk about embarrassing… decided I would never try to explain that series of books again. Funny now but uncomfortable then…she decided it wasn’t her cup of tea.
    Have no desire to watch the movie.

    • kaleigha says:

      I work in a restaurant, and I literally can’t count how many women were talking about it at the time it was super hot. One lady told me her grandson bought it for her for her birthday. Crap, I gawked at her a bit after that one.

  3. Cassandra B. says:

    I really don’t know what to think, but I am not a huge fan of the male lead (he looks to boyish). I, too, tried samples of FSoG and I just couldn’t. The writing…so, so bad. I was actually excited when Charlie Hunnam was cast. I probably would have seen the movie in theaters for him, but without him I am not that interested. But I am super curious how the sexual relationship is handled on screen, I have heard nothing about a NC-17 rating. Obviously, there is a line to walk and I am curious how the movie does it. I did love the music 🙂

    I wonder if the movie will be too angsty for me, if I will be uncomfortable with the sexual parts (I don’t have any problem with BDSM lifestyle but I do have a problem that the character does it only because he is “damaged”), or if the movie will be so ridiculous I just cringe. While I will probably pass on paying theater prices, my curiosity ensures I will likely see it eventually.

    • kaleigha says:

      I can stand Jamie Dornan (I think), but Dakota Johnson? Not so much. I won’t be heading into the theaters for this puppy, either, but I will cave and watch it on Blu-ray. Alone. And admit it to no one.

    • alexandra says:

      That was my first thought, too: how will the writers adapt the screenplay for maximum audience exposure without an NC-17 rating? I don’t really care to see it, but I’m still curious about how it will be pulled off.

  4. Nicole says:

    I’m so glad i’m not alone on this one !! UGH….One of the worst book series I’ve ever read. I finished it because i’m a glutton, I would’ve burned the last one had it not been the libraries book. I wasn’t turned on I find the weak innocent heroine (HA!) to be ridiculous nowadays…The best part of the whole mess was the Beyonce song, now that I would buy…The second an inner goddess, oh my & “down there” is mention I’d punch myself in the theatre for being stupid enough to buy a ticket…That money could’ve been spent on a well written book ! GIANT PASS on this helicopter wreck (pun intended) !

      • Cassandra B. says:

        Oh my goodness, are there actual groupies who dress up as the characters? I can’t tell if you are just being sarcastic 🙂

    • alexandra says:

      I wish I had your perseverance. I tried reading FSoG and got to chapter 4ish? I stopped after Ana said her face was as red as the Communist Manifesto or something. I couldn’t go on after that. Even peeking ahead at the smutty scenes wasn’t enough to hold my interest.

      • Nicole says:

        Yeah Alexandra that was pretty wretched…I was determined to know what the fuss was about…At some point every woman I saw reading it I felt yelling ” whats wrong with you?!” They think its a good love story and I just cant believe it ! And I don’t know about anyone else but if they put the tampon scene in the movie I think i’d lose it laughing…100% !

  5. PhoenixFyre says:

    I haven’t read the books even though I have them. I have too many books to read ahead of these. But I did see the trailer and I wasn’t impressed by the actor playing Christian. Charlie Hunnam was suppose t play Christian but “Sons of Anarchy” wouldn’t let him do it since they have to finish up their final season. But at least Charlie is HOT. This other guy to me isn’t that good looking. I just don’t get it. Why not get someone like Tatum Channing then? He like Charlie are built to make a woman melt and both are good-looking at least. Ugh! JMO

    • kaleigha says:

      I think Charlie ran away from this one, too, or at least I hope so. I don’t usually go all judgmental on the actors cast for movies, but in this case neither seems like a good fit.

  6. Haylo says:

    I think the saddest thing about this series is the completely wrong picture it gives on the BDSM lifestyle. It’s such badly written drivel. It also infuriates me when fans of the series and author attack other authors who have been writing in the genre for YEARS for “copying” the concept. I mean really? If you want to read some erotic BDSM I can recommend many series but FSoG is not even on my list.

    • Monika says:

      So, what would you then recommend for some erotic BDSM? I like a bit of kink ;-). So far I have only found Anne Rice’s Sleeping Beauty trilogy that sounds like I might give it a try…

      • Haylo says:

        Maya Banks’ Sweet series is excellent. Also her Breathless Trilogy. Shayla Black’s Wicked Lovers. Just about anything is better than FSoG lol. Megan Hart has some good BDSM titles. Sylvia Day has a series that is similar to FSoG (tortured hero/heroine) but written about 1000x better.

  7. Monika says:

    I just read the series over the weekend because I got curious with the film craze now and because there was nothing unread left on my Kindle. I’m still gobsmacked by the many rave reviews on Amazon, because it is so badly written, so repetetive, the characters are so inconsistent and it is just plain bad. What I wonder is how they fabricated a story for the film (since there is none in the book), especially if they have to go light on the sex…. or are there going to be two versions of the film? I think every actor who steered clear of this movie is to be congratulated!

Leave a Reply

